Skip to main content

Washington State University Libraries

Ask Us!

Film Studies: Home

Streaming Media: Documentaries, Feature Films, and Music Collections

The WSU Libraries currently offer streaming media through Kanopy Streaming Video and Filmakers Library. Music collections are also offered through Alexander Street Press Music. All content can be accessed from both on and off-campus by locating your database through the SearchIt Databases A-Z List.

Kanopy Streaming Video: The WSU Libraries currently have a 1-year pilot of the Kanopy platform. This streaming service provides access to over 26,000 feature and documentary titles from distributors such as Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others. You can easily share or embed any Kanopy content, either a clip or an entire film, using the sharing options below the film. For assistance with using Kanopy, please visit the Kanopy Help pages.

Filmakers Library: Provides over 1,800 documentary films covering a broad range of academic disciplines. Films clips can be shared and created or embedded into a course space.

Alexander Street Press Music: The WSU Libraries provide access to Contemporary World Music, American Song, and Classical Music Library through Alexander Street Press Music Online. Each of these databases allow the user to create and share clips, as well as to embed links to content which can be used in a presentation, email, or course space. You can also create a personal account where you can create, save, and share playlists.

 

Welcome!

This guide is a starting point for research in Film Studies.

More information on Film Studies at Washington State University is available through the College of Arts and Sciences. 

To access information on journals, reference books, and websites related to this topic, please click on the appropriate tab at the top of this page.

Use SearchIt, the WSU Libraries catalog for a general overview of available books, articles, and media materials on your topic. 

For research assistance related to Film Studies, please contact Gabriella Reznowski.

 

Search It

Search It is a catalog that lists not only WSU material, but also books that may be available through Summit, and Inter Library Loan.

In addition to books, you can search Search It for journal articles, internet resources, and media.When you log into your Search It account, you can save books, email citations to yourself, and create lists of resources that can be shared with others. Logging into Search It also streamlines the process of requesting books through Summit.

When searching Search It, you will be able to tell if a book is available from the WSU collection when you see a green dot and the following text is present: "Available at Holland/Terrell Libraries Stacks," such as in the example below!


When a book is not in our collection, you may see a yellow dot and the the text may read the following: 
Check Holdings

In this case, you may still be able to request the book through Summit by clicking on the tab that says "Availability and Request Options," and then on the link that reads "Request Summit Item (about 5 days)."

 

Summit refers to a group of libraries in Washington and Oregon that partner with WSU to share resources. Summit items take about 3-5 business days to arrive at WSU. After you click on the request link, you will be asked to select a pick-up location. You can pick Summit items up at any WSU campus library.

 


Are there scholarly articles on my film?

As you consider a film for your research paper, you may want to see if there has been any scholarly attention paid to the title before selecting a particular movie. One method for surveying the scholarly literature on a film is to do a Google Scholar search at scholar.google.com. For example, you could type in the title of your film using quotation marks, for example "Waltz with Bashir".

If your film is not as unique as this title and could be interpreted as a subject not-related to film studies, (for example, "Wild Grass" may bring up articles related to agriculture and not film studies!), in which case you may have to add terms like "film," "motion picture," the country of production, or the name of the director or of a main character to your search.

 

A word of caution however.....if you have been told to use scholarly articles, be aware that not all of the results in Google Scholar will relate to peer-reviewed sources. A Google Scholar search may point you to scholarly books and book chapters, as well as to working papers (articles that have not yet been published), theses, and dissertations. So, if you are looking for a peer-reviewed journal article through Google Scholar, follow the link and be sure to evaluate your source!

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us