Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Systematic Reviews

This guide will introduce you to the process of conducting a systematic review.

Databases for Searching the Literature and Grey Literature

PubMed (MEDLINE)

PubMed has 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central (PMC) or publisher websites.

Cochrane Library

Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

CINAHL

Provides authoritative coverage of the journal literature related to nursing and allied health. CINAHL also indexed healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and more.

Web of Science

Through its unique and powerful combination of citation indexing and Web technology, the ISI Citation Databases allow current and retrospective searching of quality, peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data, full-length author abstracts, and cited references.

PsycINFO

Covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Includes references and abstracts to journals, dissertations, book chapters, and books.

Google Scholar

Subset of Google that covers journal articles, theses, books, and abstracts. 

Searching Health Technologies Assessment Agencies

A custom Google search that searches International Health Technology websites as compiled by the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health.

Resources in Evidence-Based Healthcare

This webliography (from the Cochrane Collection) presents an overview of the most important print and online resources for evidence-based health care and medicine. Includes: books, articles, databases, journals, patient resources, and tutorials and tools.

Finding Studies for Systematic Reviews: A Resource List for Researchers

Comprehensive list of databases to search.

PubMed Searching Tips

PubMed Tutorials

A collection of tutorials created by NCBI to instruct users on how to search and navigate PubMed.

PubMed Quick Start Guide

A brief overview of searching PubMed.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us