Skip to main content

ResearchHub

Access ResearchHub services and spaces to learn new research skills, connect with colleagues, and share your research.

EndNote

Zotero

Mendeley

RefWorks

EWU has an institutional site license to RefWorks.

Which Citation Manager Should I Use?

Criteria Zotero Mendeley EndNote EndNote Basic
Web-based Can sync with online account; connectors for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, and Opera are available Not primarily, but can sync with an online which is editable Yes, with EndNote Basic account    Yes
Must be online No No No Yes
Cost Free for basic account; some cost for more online storage space Free for  basic account; some cost for more online storage space Yes; student discount available Free
Compatibility with word processor MS Word, Open Office, Google Docs MS Word, Open Office, LaTex MS Office, Open Office, iWork Pages MS Word
Import from databases Yes Yes Direct export from specific databases Yes
Import citation information from web pages Yes; also archives the web page and allows for annotations to be added Yes, with a bookmark for a limited number of sites (mostly publishers and databases) Yes, with Web Capture tool and EndNote Basic account Yes, with Web Capture tool
Storage capacity Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 100 MB free Zotero file syncing (larger syncing plans available for purchase); or can use WebDav Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 1 GB personal and 100 MB shared online space (larger online storage plans available for purchase) Unlimited local storage Limited to 50,000 citations and 2 GB of attachment storage
Attach associated files (i.e. PDFs) Yes, with an option to attach automatically Yes, and includes highlighting and annotation tools for PDFs Yes, and includes highlighting and annotation tools for PDFs Yes
Search full-text of PDFs Yes Yes Yes No
Create group or shared libraries Yes Yes, free for up to three group members (larger group plans available for purchase) Yes, with EndNote Basic account Yes
Create bibliography with different styles Yes Yes Yes Yes
Automatic citation extraction from PDFs Yes Yes Yes No
Other features Sync library with multiple computers; use tags to organize and search citations Sync library with multiple computers; sync with Zotero library Insert figures and charts using word processor integration  

Adapted from STEM Graduate Student Research LibGuide from Penn State University Libraries

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us