During the academic year WSU Librarians are online:
Except breaks and holidays. All other times, your chat will be answered by a librarian from another academic library.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
by
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic (local) and pandemic (widespread) diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures. Entries are focused on issues in the United States but include information on other countries, including Australia and the United Kingdom. Entries also include resources for further information, full-color illustrations and photographs, statistical tables, and Key Terms sidebars; the book will also provide contact information for organizations and government programs, a glossary, and cross references. Public Health is an excellent reference for high school and college students conducting research, as well as the general public
Teaching Public Health Writing
by
Clear, concise, engaging writing is critically important to public health practice. The Covid-19 pandemic has repeatedly thrown this fact into stark relief. No matter how hard we try, with the best intentions and evidence, public health professionals and researchers have struggled to communicate clear messages to the many audiences looking for information. The result has often been resistance, miscommunication, and deepening political division. Teaching Public Health Writing is a call to action for schools and programs of public health. Jennifer Beard, drawing on her interdisciplinary background in population health and the humanities, argues that writing practice and mentoring need to be central components of the graduate and undergraduate public health curriculum. Public health students are learning to translate complex technical content from a wide array of disciplines into engaging documents for vastly different audiences. This learning experience can be time-consuming and anxiety-inducing. Teaching Public Health Writing--the first book in the new Teaching Public Health instructor series--prompts educators at every level to rethink the place of writing in public health education. Using composition and public health theory, narrative examples, and detailed instructions from writing assignments used in public health classrooms across many disciplines and genres, Teaching Public Health Writing offers instructors a helpful guide to refresh or redesign in-course writing instruction and assignments. It ensures the next generation of public health professionals have the tools they need to communicate confidently and effectively.
For 24/7 remote access to library subscription electronic resources using your WSU Network ID and password try one of the following:
Epidemiology 101
by
Now in full color, this best-selling text will introduce you to the basics of infectious disease epidemiology, environmental epidemiology, molecular epidemiology, and psychosocial/behavioral epidemiology.Perfect for those with no prior familiarity with health-related fields or statistics, Epidemiology 101, Second Edition, uses a clear, cohesive writing style and follows the basic Epidemiology 101 curriculum framework as outlined in the AAC&U and APTR Recommendations for Undergraduate Public Health Education. End-of-chapter exercises provide access to a laboratory component for college science courses that require a laboratory.Key Features:* Full color pages with 25% more tables and charts throughout to capture the reader's interest and enhance learning* Current, tangible examples from the field that are relevant and familiar to young students such as big data, cyberbullying, and disease outbreaks including Ebola and Zika * New chapters that cover Epidemiology and Data Presentation (with practice questions for the MCAT® examination) and Epidemiology and Screening for Disease* Access to Navigate 2 online learning materials, including a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, learning analytics reporting tools, and more
Epidemiology for Public Health Practice
by
Epidemiology for Public Health Practice is a best-selling text offering comprehensive coverage of all the major topics in introductory epidemiology and alignment to the core competencies in epidemiology for graduate and undergraduate courses. With extensive treatment of the heart of epidemiology--from study designs to descriptive epidemiology to quantitative measures--this reader-friendly text is accessible and interesting to a wide range of beginning students in all health-related disciplines. A unique focus is given to real-world applications of epidemiology and the development of skills that students can apply in subsequent course work and in the field. Significantly updated, the new Sixth Edition offers:* New chapter on epidemiology and policy* Increased emphasis on health disparities, genetic epidemiology, and current epidemics (e.g., the opioid epidemic, cannabis misuse, and gun violence)* Coverage of data acquisition (big data), wearable technology for collecting health data, climate change, and more.* Unique chapters on psychosocial epidemiology, environmental and occupation health, molecular and genetic epidemiology, and career options * Refreshed examples, updated tables and figures throughout the text
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health
by
Written by renowned epidemiologists and public health experts, this unique text provides complete, concise coverage of epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health in clear, easy-to-understand terms. One convenient volume delivers must-know content in four complex areas-information that's sure to be covered in today's classrooms and on USMLE exams-presented with a clinical focus and real-life medical examples throughout. Depth of coverage, concise writing style, outstanding online review questions, a clinical emphasis ... these features and more make Jekel's your go-to resource for learning, study, and review. Focuses on clinical problem solving and decision making using epidemiologic concepts and examples Contains more clinical cases throughout, including global examples. Offers expanded coverage of the impact of big data and precision medicine, as well as an updated and reorganized biostatistics section Features quick-reference boxes that showcase key concepts and calculations, and dynamic illustrations that facilitate learning using a highly visual approach Provides almost 300 multiple-choice chapter review questions and answers in print with additional questions and more online at Student Consult Aligns content to board blueprints for the USMLE as well as the three specialties certified by the American Board of Preventive Medicine: Occupational Medicine, and Public Health & General Preventive Medicine-and is recommended by the ABPM as a top review source for its core specialty examination Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices Evolve Instructor site, with an image and table bank as well as chapter overviews as PowerPoints, is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at: https://evolve.elsevier.com
The New Public Health
by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 in Public Health** The New Public Health has established itself as a solid textbook throughout the world. Translated into seven languages, this work distinguishes itself from other public health textbooks, which are either highly locally oriented or, if international, lack the specificity of local issues relevant to students' understanding of applied public health in their own setting. Fully revised, the Fourth Edition of The New Public Health provides a unified approach to public health appropriate for graduate students and advance undergraduate students especially for courses in MPH, community health, preventive medicine, community health education programs, community health nursing programs. It is also a valuable resource for health professionals requiring an overview of public health. Provides a comprehensive overview of the field, illustrated with real-life specific examples Updated with new case studies and examples from current public health environment in North American and European regions Includes detailed Companion website (https://www.elsevier.com/books-and-journals/book-companion/9780128229576) featuring case studies, image bank, online chapters, and video as well as an Instructors' guide