Classical Studies, Ancient Greece and Rome
Library Resources
The Holland and Terrell Libraries contain a wide range of materials for students and faculty interested in the Greco-Roman world. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website or would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to Classical Literature, please contact Timothy Weng.
Library Catalog
Search It, the library catalog, includes holdings for all the WSU Library sites, in Pullman and across the state. Please note: Electronic journals and other 'virtual' publications are included in the catalog. Search It also provides access to Summit, a system that allows users to borrow books owned by all publicly supported colleges and universities in Washington State as well as colleges and universities in Oregon, including the extensive collections in Classics at the University of Washington.
Indexes and Databases
Reference Books
The Holland and Terrell Libraries' reference section is on the 1st floor of the Library behind the Information desk.
- The Oxford Classical Dictionary
WSU Hol Ref DE5 .O9 1996: The most accessible general work in English on the Ancient World.
- Who's who in the classical world
WSU Hol DE7 .W48 2000 : Includes biographies selected from the Oxford Classical Dictionary
- Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman world
WSU Hol Ref G1033 .B3 2000: A completely up-to-date and extensive atlas with a searchable CD-rom containing detailed indexes to all of the maps, available in Media Materials: G1033 .B3 2000 disk
- L'Année philologique; bibliographie critique et analytique de l'antiquité gréco-latine
the most comprehensive bibliography of all publications concerning Greco-Roman Antiquity: PA2 .A55x
Electronic Journals
- American Journal of Philology, full text available via Project Muse
- Arethusa, full text available via Project Muse
- Transactions of the American Philological Association (TAPA), full text available via Project Muse
Browsing the Book Shelves in Holland and Terrell Libraries
- For historical works on the Ancient world, many books may be found in the DF-DG call number range (ground floor Terrell Library).
- Ancient literature and literary criticism may be found in the PA section (second floor Old Holland Library).
- Many older, but still beloved texts, are shelved in the Dewey Section (basement Terrell Library): 870s for Latin authors and the 880s for Greek authors.
- Reference works are available in the Reference section (first floor Terrell Library) in the DG and PA call number ranges.
Internet Links
