Project Title: The Omni-Channel Farmer and the Changing Role of a Sales Agronomist
Partnering Organizations: Valley Agronomics LLC and AgVend Inc

1) Identify input costs for the following crops to be used in Wallet Share Calculations

• Oregon Hazelnuts
• Oregon Grass Seed
• Washington Dryland Wheat
• Washington Alfalfa
• Idaho Potatoes
• Idaho Silage Corn

2) Describe how as a Valley Ag sales agronomist, you would use your understanding of wallet share,
along other digital tools made available to you, to grow your share of the customers spend on crop input.

Part of this project requires an understanding of the production and costs of various crops. Below are a few links to help you find that information. These links are meant to be starting points for your research and not conclusive searches. 

Resources for Identifying and Understanding Input Cost (and Other Relevant Data) for Various Crops:

General/Background Data & Resources:
USDA Northwest Regional Field Office. (2019). National Agricultural Statistics Service Washington Field Office (Part of the Northwest Regional Field Office). See various regional agricultural statistics via this link. 

• More USDA regional ag. data statistics can be located here.
• Washington crop statistics by county can be located here.
• Historic Washington commodities data can be located here.

USDA (2021). Idaho State agricultural review. Info about prices and production of crops in Idaho can be located via this link.

USDA (2021). Washington State agricultural review. Info about prices and production of crops in Washington can be located via this link.

USDA Northwest Regional Field Office. (Oct. 2022). 2022 Idaho annual statistical bulletin. This report provides lots of information about crop and livestock production and costs within Idaho. You can find the report via this link (PDF).

USDA. (2022). Quick stats. Get state-specific statistics on various crops via this link.

Oregon Hazelnuts:

USDA & The National Agricultural Statistics Service. (Sept. 12, 2022). 2022 Hazelnut production forecast down 12 percent. Press releas. See report at this link (PDF).

USDA & The Federal Register. (Aug. 18, 2017). Hazelnuts grown in Oregon and Washington; increased assessment rate (proposed rules). V. 82(159). Doc. No. AMS–SC–17–0036; SC17–982–1 PR. See report at this link (PDF).

Oregon State University Extension Service. (2014). The costs and returns of establishing and producing hazelnuts in the Willamette Valley. See report at this link (PDF).

USDA. (Oct. 2021). Value of Oregon agriculture crop production 2020. See PDF via this link.

Oregon Grass Seed:

USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service Oregon Field Office. (2022). Field crop reports. See Oregon grass seed forecasts 2015 - 2022 via this link. 

USDA. (2022) Field crop reports. See Oregon grass seed forecasts 2015 - 2022 via this link. 

Washington Dryland Wheat:

USDA, Vocke, G & Ali, M. (Aug. 2013). U.S. Wheat production practices, costs, and yields: Variations across regions. See report via this link (PDF).

Washington Alfalfa: 

USDA National Agriculture Statistics Service. (Oct. 12, 2021). Field crop area planted, harvested, yield, and production - Idaho, Oregon, Washington, and United States: 2020 and forecasted October 1, 2021. Report can be located via this link (PDF).

WSU Extension Services (nd.). Washington Alfalfa/Alfalfa Seed Facts. Information can be found via this link.

• More data created by the WSU Extension Services regarding Washington Alfalfa can be located at this link.
• WSU Extension Nutrient Management Guide for Dryland and Irrigated Alfalfa in the Inland Northwest.

Idaho Potatoes: 

USDA. (Sept. 2021). Potatoes: 2021 Summary (report). A substantial amount of information regarding potato production and prices can be found via this link.

USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service. (Dec. 16, 2021). Northwest region potato stocks on December 1, 2021 totaled 165 Million hundredweight. Report can be found via this link (PDF).

Idaho Silage Corn: 

USDA. Statistics on corn production in Idaho. View resource via this link

Learn More About Wallet Share:

Gronwald, K.D. (2017). Share of wallet. In Integrated Business Information Systems (pp. 193–197). Springer Berlin Heidelberg. Read a case study regarding wallet share at this link.

Li, Shemshadi, A., Olech, Ł. P., & Michalewicz, Z. (2019). Customer Wallet Share Estimation for Manufacturers Based on Transaction Data. In Data Mining (pp. 171–182). Read this chapter detailing wallet share at this link.

Among many different types of research resources, this project is going to require finding data pertaining to the input costs of multiple crops as well as understanding how digital tools, such as, Sales Hub, to improve customer experiences and outcomes.

To learn more about developing keywords and search strings check out this link.

Note: The following keywords and search strings are just some quick ideas, you may come up with better keywords and search strings yourselves.

If you have any question, please email me.

Developing Keywords for the Questions that Need to be Investigated (As per Project Description)

This project asks a lot of different question. Below are some keywords and search statements that may help you answer these questions.

To learn more about developing keywords and search strings check out this link.

Note: The following keywords and search strings are just some quick ideas, you may come up with better keywords and search strings yourselves.

Some Potential Keywords that May be Helpful: 

"market share*" OR "wallet share*" OR "share of wallet"

 "digital tool*" OR agvend OR "saleshub" OR "sales hub"

Oregon* OR Washington*

hazelnut*

grass seed*

"Dryland Wheat" OR "dry land wheat"

alfalfa

potato* OR tuber

silage corn

Some Examples of Keyword Searches:

"digital tool*" OR agvend OR saleshub OR "sales hub"

AND

agric* OR farm*

Here is a link to that search in the WSU Libraries' catalog 

Here is that search in Web of Science

"agri* market share*" OR "market share* in agri*" OR "farm* market share*" OR "market share* in farm*" OR "agri* wallet share*" OR "farm* wallet share*"

Here is a link to that search in the WSU Libraries' catalog 

Here is that search in Web of Science

Note: Try different keyword combinations yourself. Also, try changing the search parameters (for example, try a "Any Field" search in place of a "Title" search and vice versa).

You will probably also have to locate scholarly and peer-reviewed research. Below are a few scholarly databases that will be particularly helpful.

• Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)

  Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation indexes, Journal Citation Reports, BIOSIS Previews, BIOSIS Citation Index, Derwent Innovations patent searching, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. Updated weekly.

• Washington State University Library Catalog (Search It)

  Search It is the WSU library catalog. You can search among many different types of resources and order materials from other institutions if they are not immediately available through WSU. You will find the most resources in Search It but you will also find the most noise

• AGRICOLA (EBSCO)

  AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.

Newspaper and Trade Publications

• Newspaper Source - This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources.
• Nexis Uni - An excellent source for searching for information within state/regional/US newspapers (including the New York Times) as well as English-language foreign newspapers and foreign language newspapers. 

See also WSU News and Newspaper Research Guide. 

Find WSU Extension Resources

To locate WSU/WSC extension documents, you can search:

WSU Extension Publications (current publications) or the WSU Libraries catalog (historic and current publications ) by searching WSU Extensions as the author or the WSC Extensions as an author. 

There are many industry resources that you may utilize for your project. The resources below will hopefully serve as a "jumping-off" point for you.

Helpful Industry Resources

• Nexis Uni - Provides information on U.S. and international private and public companies. Info may include: Company description and history, competitors, subsidiaries, size, officers and directors, annual stock price averages, and more.
• Business Source Complete - Allows you to search company and industry information across popular press, trade journals, product reviews, and much more. Also provides information regarding company and industry profiles. This may be helpful when for searching for information regarding companies within the hop industry. 

For more in-depth information regarding corporate research, take a look at the Company Research Library Guide.