Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AFS401

A Research Guide for Agricultural & Food Systems 401

Project Goals

Partnering Organization: WSU Food Systems Program, with collaboration from the WAFOOD research team (UW, TCC)

Project Goals:

  • To build knowledge, skill, and ability to understand and analyze data on food security in WA state prior to and during COVID-19;
  • To research best practices for collaborative efforts of Extension, local government and voluntary industry groups to impact food security;
  • To work collaboratively to develop and recommend possible intervention strategies that can be implemented by Extension programs and local governments to address food insecurity across the WA food system.

A Note About Finding Resources

Among many different types of research resources, this project is going to require finding data pertaining to food security within Washington, information regarding best practices and collaborative efforts from numerous types of organizations, and scholarly research. 

Listed below are resources that might assist you with this project. This list is by no means meant to be an exhaustive. Rather it is meant to get you thinking about what sort of resources you might need and where they may come from.

If you have any question, please email me.

Food Security Resources

Below are some resources regarding finding data regarding global food security

Understanding Food Security

Finding Data Regarding Food Security

Understanding Food Security Issues in Washington State

Issues regarding food security in Washington State are complex. Below are a few articles and resources to help you contextualize the issues.

Contextualizing Food Security in Washington

Find Corporate, Government, or Extension Information

For this project you will need to find resources from many different types of organizations. This will require examining different types of resources, whether they be Extension documents, corporate information, press releases and reports, primary sources, etc. Below are some resources to get you going.

Washington State University Extension Materials and WSU Resources

There are lots of resources available at WSU so take a look around...

Other Useful Resources and Organizations in Washington

  • WA SNAP-ED provides many resources regarding food security in Washington and how to combat problems of food insecurity. 

Helpful Industry Resources

  • Nexis Uni - Provides information on U.S. and international private and public companies. Info may include: Company description and history, competitors, subsidiaries, size, officers and directors, annual stock price averages, and more.
  • Business Source Complete - Allows you to search company and industry information across popular press, trade journals, product reviews, and much more. Also provides information regarding company and industry profiles. This may be helpful when for searching for information regarding companies within the hop industry. 

For more in-depth information regarding corporate research, take a look at the Company Research Library Guide. 

Newspaper and Trade Publications

  • Newspaper Source - This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources.
  • Nexis Uni - An excellent source for searching for information within state/regional/US newspapers (including the New York Times) as well as English-language foreign newspapers and foreign language newspapers. 

See also WSU News and Newspaper Research Guide

Find Scholarly Resources

Much of this project is going to involve finding scholarly research regarding a myriad of topics. Although you may find this research across many different resources, I'd start at the following databases:

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us