Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Digital Collections
Thematic Digital Collections
Digital Library on American Slavery
The Digital Library on American Slavery is an expanding resource compiling various independent online collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South, made searchable through a single, simple interface.
Slave Movement During the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries
This site provides access to raw data and documentation which contains information on slave trade topics from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Slaves and the Courts: Library of Congress
The documents comprise an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, examinations of cases and decisions, proceedings, journals, a letter, and other works of historical importance. Most of the items date from the nineteenth century and include materials associated with the Dred Scott case and the abolitionist activities of John Brown, John Quincy Adams, and William Lloyd Garrison.
Transatlantic Slave Trade Database
he Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database is the culmination of several decades of independent and collaborative research by scholars drawing upon data in libraries and archives around the Atlantic world.
Caribbean Views: The British Library
Over 1,200 images, maps and texts from the 18th and 19th centuries reveal contrasting experiences of life in the former British colonies.
Digital Text Collections and Primary Source Databases
HathiTrust Digital Library
A partnership of major research institutions and libraries that works to secure their collections in digital form.
Making of the Modern World
Full text access to books from 1450-1914, and pre-1906 serials. Covers economics, history, political science, and sociology.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700
Gale Primary Sources
Gale Primary Sources is a unified search system for these Gale primary source databases: Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011, Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010, Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, and Times Digital Archive. Provides content discovery, term clustering, and term frequency tools