Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero @ the WSU Libraries

COVID-19 Updates

COVID-19 Updates

Pullman Libraries buildings remain closed to in-person visits. Please check our Remote Services during COVID-19 for available services.

Updates...

A nice overview from the folks at Zotero, making their case for  Why Zotero?

What's with this guide?

Zotero's own website will tell you most of what you need to know to install and use Zotero. I created this library guide to supplement what it provides (you can also find some excellent tutorials and other how-to resources from other libraries on the Using Zotero... tab).

Updates:

12/22/17: Most of this guide has been revised for Zotero's major 5.x update except, I think, the Setting up Zotero and Zotero toolbar stuff (look in the DIY tab for a screencast on how to do this now).

1/25/19 - I keep forgetting to add that Zotero now works with Google Docs (beyond the old drag-and-drop) See Using Zotero with Google Docs. As of July 2019, you can also move citations between Word and Docs.

1/25/19 - Also, Zotero is now integrated with Unpaywall (a free service that harvests open access articles from publishers and repositories - it has a nice browser plugin that I recommend installing), so that if your article is behind a paywall you don't have access to, it will search for an OA version.

6/17/19 - Zotero is now also integrated with the amazing Retraction Watch and will now automatically check your database and documents for works that have been retracted.

Zotero Class Schedule

1/15/2021 Update - I will shortly be scheduling Zotero classes via Zoom. I may break them up into two one-hour sessions - I'm still pondering this. I will post the times on this page (and in this box), or you can email me at oenglish AT wsu.edu to get the times. I guess I'll have to ask you if you can email me at oenglish AT wsu.edu once the schedule is posted so I can send out the proper Zoom links. 

 

If you would like to schedule a Zotero class for a specialized group (i.e. grad students in a specific department), please contact me directly. Note the info on EndNote classes in the box below this one.

All Zotero workshops listed here are drop-in (no registration required, although some classes are cross-listed with WSU HRS);  all are welcome!

Note: I schedule classes usually well in advance, and sometimes I have to cancel them. I'll always try to note it here, and have a sign up on the classroom door the day of the canceled class. Classes start at the time listed; if no one attends, I leave after 10 minutes.

Upcoming Zotero Workshops

Intro to Zotero (hands-on if you want; bring your own laptop if you want)

Intermediate Zotero (please bring your laptop with Zotero already installed

  • (you can come to just the second half of the class if you want, but please inform me in advance):
    • First half hour:  Using Zotero with MS Word, Supercharging Zotero with ZotFile, Zotero Groups, other Zotero tools,  Q&A. 
    • Second half hour:  Zotero and mobile devices, more ZotFile, Q&A

About Zotero

So, what's Zotero?

Zotero is a free/mium, open source reference management tool/application. Zotero allows you to easily save articles found in library subscription databases such as Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, JSTOR, and PubMed, as well as bibliographic details, PDFs or other files, comments/notes, and indexing terms/tags. Most saved PDFs are searchable. Zotero also captures bibliographic information and live screenshots for Web content such as webpages, blog posts, newspaper articles, YouTube videos, Amazon books, and images on sites such as Flickr. When you are ready to write, you can use Zotero to integrate your references into your work in many citation styles using MS Word or Google Docs. References can be backed up and shared between computers and even with other people over the Web. Zotero works with the Firefox, Chrome, and Safari browsers; if you are using another browser (i.e. IE, your iPad, or an Android tablet browser) items can be added to your online library via a bookmarklet. Third-party apps are available to use Zotero on tablets and smartphones and provide added functionality..

Citation Style Editing:

Zotero users can edit citation styles themselves (this will make fixing citations and working with variant styles much easier). The process is being developed by Columbia University and Zotero frenemy Mendelay - find out more here and here, or test the beta version here (note: installing it will be different...)

  More interested in EndNote or Mendeley?

New @ The WSU Libraries

Check us out on Facebook Twitter, and Instagram!

New:

we have access to the PolicyMap database through 2/28/2021.

https://searchit.libraries.wsu.edu/permalink/f/1f9o8g7/CP71256899170001451

What is PolicyMap?

An online (no software installation needed) U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty.  Undergraduate and graduate schools use us in their curriculum and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others.    Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.  
 Look for Blog Posts, Customer Stories, and sample Maps, Tables, and Reports.

  • Our MapChats Blog features stories on Mapping Consumer Spending Habits, Internet Access Disparities, and the Social Drivers of Health and more!
  • Our Academic Web Page gives insight into how other universities and colleges use our data and mapping tool
  • Visit PolicyMap Support for tutorials, training videos, the training calendar.
  • A complete list of our data related to Demographics, Incomes and Spending, Housing, Lending, Quality of Life, Economy, Education and Health can be found here

 

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us