LibGuides: Keeping Up and Keeping Track: Personal Information Management and: Keeping Found Things Found

Bookmarking Versus Bookmarking...

Bookmarks accessible anywhere
Social - searchable, traceable, sharable, sendable - and increasingly, conversational...
Bookmarklets and browser/mobile apps allow easy saving
Archivable
Social bookmarking sites can also have one-click subscription badges/posting buttons:
Wikipedia: Social Bookmarking

Social Bookmarking in Plain English (short video focusing on the Delicious service; about 3.5 minutes).

Bookmarklets - easy links you can add to your browser to add items that you find in your day-to-day web searching/reading to social bookmarking sites (and other sites, like Facebook, Pinterest, etc.) Most sites will have a tool page with the bookmarklets for various browsers. We've seen examples with Instapaper and Pocket.

What about smartphones and tablets? Many have built-in sharing functionality, as well as expanded sharing apps you can download. (It's a little more complicated on IOS devices, but many are included in the IOS open-in/share function.)

A social bookmarking tool that enables much more, including annotation, sharing, collaboration, image capturing/annotation, and web highlighting. Freemium options, but the free version is pretty good. Find my Diigo site at http://www.diigo.com/user/loenglish. Find Diigo Tools at https://www.diigo.com/tools and Diigo Help at http://help.diigo.com/. Also Diigo plans.

Pinboard
PearlTrees (https://www.pearltrees.com/)
Pinterest
Facebook, Twitter, Google+, etc. (saving, starring, etc. Gets unwieldy fast as there is no organizing except chronological)
...and more.

The Internet Archive's Wayback Machine
https://webrecorder.io/ (new name is Conifer)
http://www.webcitation.org/ Webcite
Perma.CC
(Instapaper and Pocket and Diigo can also keep text+images copies of webpages, although in some cases premium plans are required)

The Internet Archive now will occasionally come up when you hit a 404 (file not found) page: example Wordle.net

Why are these different?

Library Databases and Journal/Publisher Accounts
This example is the ScienceDirect (Elsevier) publisher site (find a how-to link for SD here: link; it works similarly for most other databases/publishers), but many databases and journal publisher sites allow you to create accounts. These are excellent tools for discovery (keeping up) as well as archiving (keeping track). Functionality varies among providers (for example, some may send you journal tables of contents but not allow you to save articles in a collection or set up periodic what's new emails.)
See also: JournalTOCs and JournalTOCs Help/info
Reference Management Applications
More academic-research oriented than Diigo; works with many subscription databases provided through the WSU Libraries -- but can also be used for non-academic purposes. Note: I teach another HRS class on using Zotero, Alternatives include EndNote (WSU librarian Chelsea Leachman teaches EndNote classes) as well as Mendeley, Pages, and more. de EndNote (WSU librarian Chelsea Leachman teaches EndNote classes) as well as Mendeley, Pages, and more.
Durable Linking (aka Persistant links, Permalinks)
Many databases now include durable links in their results (i.e. Ebsco databases); also, all resources in the WSU Libraries catalog, Search It, have durable links.