Approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto.
The collection provides general background information on diseases and epidemics worldwide, and is organized around significant “episodes” of contagious disease. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, incunabula, and manuscripts.
The Corpus Medicorum Graecorum (CMG) presents the extant writings of all Greek physicians from the 5th century BC to the end of classical antiquity, including early Byzantine handbooks and commentaries on ancient authors, in historical-critical editions. Several of these texts include English translations (any in the list that say "in linguam Anglicam vertit").
NLM historical collections of material related to health and disease are among the richest in the world and originate in all time periods and cultures. The collections include rare books and manuscripts, historical prints and photographs, and historical films and videos.
Wellcome explores the connections between medicine, life and art in the past, present and future. Click on the 'History for Schools' tab to find images related to surgery, medicine, and public health through time.
Digital Text Collections and Primary Source Databases
A free, collective database of records of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century. Search titles in the WSU Search It catalog for holdings and borrowing information.