LibGuides: History of Medicine: Databases for Secondary Sources

Article Databases

Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
"... citations and abstracts to publications covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Publications indexed were published from 1954 to the present."
America: History & Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books reviews and dissertations published from 1954-present.
JSTOR
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html
Project Muse
Full text access to a variety of history journals including history of medicine.

Humanities International Index
This database covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities including history and renaissance studies.
Humanities & Social Science Index Retrospective 1907-1984
Search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907
Dissertations and Theses
Provides abstracts on over 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses, some open-access dissertations

History of Medicine Journals

Key History of Medicine journals at WSU Libraries. Search the journal title in the Search It catalog or search for articles within the journal by searching a database such as PubMed.

Social History of Medicine 1996- (online)

Journal for the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences 1996- (online); v. 1-31 (1946-76) Holland/Terrell Libraries Compact Storage

Early Science and Medicine 1996-2010 (online)

Health and History 1998-2015 (online)

Pharmacy in History 1959-2012 (online)

Bulletin of the History of Medicine (v. 8-76, 1940-2002) various locations, see catalog

Medical History 1957- (online)