Contains more than 1,000 annotated entries, which discuss an additional 1,555 books, articles, and electronic resources and cite 723 reviews.Includes electronic resources, particularly reliable sites sponsored by academic institutions and learned societies, to account for the proliferation of bibliographic databases, text archives, and other online resources. This edition also features a new section on cultural studies. Standard in the field. A GitHub digitized version is also available.

Cites and provides excerpts of reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults. An abstract of each book is also provided. Periodical coverage includes leading magazines from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain.

Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Works on literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and on human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto, computer-programming languages), are listed. Works on subjects such as aesthetics, human behavior, communication, and information processes are included only if they treat human language or literature.

Extensive reference bibliography to literature in English with 24 major sections featuring annotated listings to bibliographies, guides, reviews of research, encyclopedias, dictionaries, journals, and reference histories. Cross-indexed.

ABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920–1999. Issued annually, with a number of items published between 1892 and 1919 indexed retrospectively. Subject covered include drama, poetry, fiction, biography, literary theory, film, bibliography, traditional culture, onomastics, lexicography, and dialectology.

Biographical information on more than 130,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work. A softcover cumulative index is published twice per year. Also see electronic version above.

Contemporary Literary Criticism covers authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959. Each print volume in this long-standing series profiles approximately 6-8 novelists, poets, playwrights and other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Each of the approximately 200 essays per volume is prefaced by a full citation and annotation and most entries in the print series include an author portrait. Thousands of authors fully indexes by name, title and nationality.

Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. Has cumulative indexes. Also see electronic version above for access to complete full-text DLB backfiles. Searching DLB via Literary Index

Concentrates on the major figures of a particular literary period, movement or genre. Entries are generously illustrated with facsimiles of manuscripts and revised galley proofs, title pages, dust jackets and pictures from the authors' lives. This series merged into DLB.

International resource for complete critical coverage of the careers and works of the greatest writers and thinkers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and the Restoration eras. Detailed entries offer access to a variety of important interpretations of historical periods, literary trends and topics, and the achievements of noteworthy individuals. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Volumes include author, nationality, topic, and title indexes. A cumulative title index to the entire series is published separately.

Commentary on the careers and works of acclaimed poets, novelists, short story writers, dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899. Each volume presents overviews of four to eight authors with chronologically arranged criticism representing the entire range of response to each author. Entries typically include an author portrait, an introduction to the author, a primary bibliography, annotated criticism and an annotated list of further reading sources. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Every fourth volume is a Topics volume covering major literary movements, trends and other topics related to nineteenth-century literature. Volumes include author, nationality, and topic and title indexes. A cumulative title index to the entire series is published separately. Also see e-version above.

Poets selected from the literatures of all eras and all parts of the world. Entries provide an introductory biographical essay, a primary bibliography, a selection of full-text or excerpted criticisms reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals, and sources for additional research. A full citation and annotation precede each essay.

Profiles writers of short fiction from all time periods and all parts of the world. Entries provide an introductory biographical essay, a primary bibliography, a selection of full-text or excerpted critical essays reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals, and sources for additional research.

Profiles novelists, poets, playwrights, journalists, philosophers or other creative and nonfiction writers. Full-text or excerpted criticism reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. A full citation and annotation precede each essay.

Outlines the principles underlying the critical examination of evidence and describes in detail the chief branches of literary inquiry. Further chapters offer practical advice on bibliographical procedure and note-taking, particularly as these are made more efficient by electronic aids, and on the writing of scholarly papers.

Covers translations out of many languages, from Greek to Korean, Swahili to Russian, with entries on individual texts (such as the Thousand and One Nights), writers (Ibsen or Proust), genres (Chinese poetry), or national literature (for example, Hungarian) complemented by more substantial essays on theoretical questions, a pioneering outline of the history of translation into English, and discussions of the problems raised by specific types of text (for example, poetry or oral literature). See eBook version above.

Places English literature in its widest context, with extensive coverage of writers, works, literary theory, allusions, and characters, and sixteen featured entries on key topics including black British literature, fantasy fiction, and modernism

An indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. It includes almost 300 alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical

Covers everything from Old English to contemporary writing from all over the English-speaking world. Has entries on writers from Britain, Ireland, USA, Canada, India, Africa, South Africa, New Zealand, the South Pacific, and Australia. Genres include poems, novels, literary journals, and plays.

Comprehensive history of Irish literature in both its major languages. The twenty-eight chapters in this two-volume history provide an authoritative chronological survey of the Irish literary tradition, both in Irish and English. Spanning fifteen centuries of literary achievement, the two volumes range from the earliest medieval Latin texts to the late twentieth century.

Includes more than 8, 400 literary works by more than 5, 000 writers. Sections for each year are grouped in five chapters by period, from 1582 to 1999. Within each year, entries are grouped by genre, such as diaries and other personal writings, fiction, essays, literary criticism and scholarship, nonfiction, poetry, and drama. Within each genre, authors are listed alphabetically. Each chapter has an Introduction that gives an overview of the major events of the period.

An extensive, carefully selected checklist of significant and representative works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, and literary scholarship from 1475 to 2000 is represented. This unique 2-volume set contains a generous sampling of nearly 30,000 works from more than 4,000 authors.

Presents clear, succinct, and lively definitions of over 850 literary and critical terms.

A multi-volume reference work that documents phrases, words, and pronunciations across the United States from the colonial period to the early twenty-first century. Source materials include novels and histories, newspapers, interviews, diaries, letters, government documents, biographical works, and the Internet. Includes an atlas of 1002 language communities surveyed for DARE. Digital version also available.University of Wisconsin-Madison website on DARE

Previously known as Chamber's Slang Dictionary, this lexicon covers slang from the past five centuries right up to the present day, from all the different English-speaking countries and regions. Totaling 10.3 million words and over 53,000 entries, the collection provides the definitions of 100,000 words and over 413,000 citations. Every word and phrase is authenticated by genuine and fully-referenced citations of its use, giving the work a level of authority and scholarship unmatched by any other publication in this field.

The Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is unique - the largest thesaurus in the world and the first historical thesaurus to be created in any language. Based on the OED, it contains almost every word in English from Old English to the present. There are three major sections: I. The external world; II. The mental world; and III. The social world. Within these sections are 236,400 categories and subcategories containing some 797,600 meanings.

Authoritative historical and descriptive dictionary of the English language..

Series contains over two thousand primary sources on twentieth-century American history and culture, featuring seventy-five different types of sources, arranged chronologically in twelve categories, including the arts, education, government and politics, media, medicine and health, religion, and sports. Each volume has approximately 200 full or excerpted primary sources in 160-170 entries from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade. Also includes photos and illustrations.

The analysis of a wide range of classics in American literature, viewed as cultural and historical documents, cultivates critical skills in reading texts from various perspectives, including aesthetic, biographical, social, historical, racial and gendered.

The analysis of a wide range of classics in American literature, viewed as cultural and historical documents, cultivates critical skills in reading texts from various perspectives, including aesthetic, biographical, social, historical, racial and gendered.

Critical and biographical articles covers hundreds of notable authors from the 17th century to the present day. Signed essays, 12-15 pages in length by noted scholars, provide thought-provoking insights into the lives, careers and works of American writers.

Covers writers who have made significant contributions to British, Irish, and Commonwealth literature from the fourteenth century to the present day. Includes in-depth critical and biographical analysis.

Provides in-depth coverage for over 215 of the most popular and studied graphic novels. These short essays look beyond the "pop culture" aspects of the medium to show the wide range of literary themes and artistic styles that are used to convey beliefs and conflicts that are as old as the stories told in ancient civilization. Entries arranged alphabetically, and begin with full ready reference top matter, including the title or subtitle, the primary author or authors, the illustrators who contributed to the work, the first serial and book publication, the publisher, the number of pages, the ISBN, and the genre and/or subgenre. Also see eBook version above.

Covers 625 writers representing 44 countries and the history of short fiction from antiquity to the 21st century. Features 53 informative overviews with 24 overviews newly added to this edition, as well as all the literary movement essays from previous editions. Entries and indexing include bibliographies, dates and photos, awards, timelines, chronological and geographical indexes, a guide to online resources, and a subject index. Specific coverage consists of American Writers (4 vols.), British, Irish, and Commonwealth Writers (2 vols.), European Writers (1 vol.), World Writers (1 vol.), and Topical Essays (1 vol.). A Cumulative Indexes volume covers all five subsets. Electronic version above.

Has over 400 entries with coverage of canonical authors and their works from early 16th century to the mid 17th century. Also includes a variety of previously under-considered areas, including women writers, broadside ballads, commonplace books, and other popular literary forms. Volumes fully indexed and cross-referenced.

This is the first substantial reference work in English on the various forms that constitute "life writing." As this term suggests, the Encyclopedia explores not only autobiography and biography proper, but also letters, diaries, memoirs, family histories, case histories, and other ways in which individual lives have been recorded and structured. It includes entries on genres and subgenres, national and regional traditions from around the world, and important autobiographical writers, as well as articles on related areas such as oral history, anthropology, testimonies, and the representation of life stories in non-verbal art forms.

Includes 150 expert contributors and 600 entries on pervasive themes in science fiction and fantasy, with detailed attention to selected novels, films, and television series. Each volume opens with an "Alphabetical List of Themes," an "Alphabetical List of Classic Works," and a "Guide to Related Topics," which sorts thematic entries under broad topics and works under media type ("Books," "Films," "Television Series").

Five-volume set contains profiles of three hundred notable literary works written from ancient times through the end of the twentieth century, relating them to the historical context in which they were written and in which they are set; arranged alphabetically by title within five historical periods.

Provides plot synopses and critical evaluations of a comprehensive selection of English-language and world literature that has been translated into English. Essays are in alphabetical order by title, and each includes an annotated bibliography to aid readers in further study. The set features 2,220 essays, many new or newly edited from previous editions, ready reference data on the type of work, the author and the date of first publication and where applicable, first English translation. For all works of fiction, the opening section also provides information on the "Type of Plot," "Time of Plot," and "Locale." In addition, there is for most works of fiction a section titled "Principal Characters," which lists the work's main characters, along with brief descriptions. Set also features separate Chronological, Geographical, Title, Author, Genre, and Themes & Issues indexes. Also see eBook version above.

A comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Prepared by recognized authorities, its articles treat their topics in sufficient depth and with enough lucidity to satisfy the scholar and the general reader alike. Entries vary in length from relatively brief notices to substantial articles of about 20,000 words. See eBook above.

Covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts. 148 entries are organized primarily according to specific literary, visual, and musical artists, types of works, and periods. Includes bibliographies and suggested readings.

Draws on the databases of Australian English at the Australian National Dictionary Centre. Older print edition in reference.

Combines coverage of international English with information on English as it is particularly used in Canada. Definitions are presented so that the meaning most familiar to Canadians appears first and foremost. This new edition is completely up to date with 5,000 new words and senses. It features 2,200 uniquely Canadian words and senses, 350 usage notes, 7,000 idiomatic expressions, 5,500 biographical entries, and over 5,600 place names.

Contains coverage of over 150,000 words and phrases, and 250,000 translations, with hundreds of new words in each language. New additions includeblogger,flash mob,ratetart, andweb spider. This new edition also includes a comprehensive correspondence guide with sample letters, emails, and CVs, a spread on text messaging in German, notes on life and culture in the German-speaking world, and in-text boxed notes on language usage and construction. The design has been transformed by the use of colour and a new presentation of the dictionary information, making this dictionary more accessible and easier than ever to use, and an essential tool for those who need an authoritative and concise guide to German and English.

Authoritative dictionary of the Spanish language. Online version of DRAE

A multi-volume reference work that documents phrases, words, and pronunciations across the United States from the colonial period to the early twenty-first century. Source materials include novels and histories, newspapers, interviews, diaries, letters, government documents, biographical works, and the Internet. Includes an atlas of 1002 language communities surveyed for DARE. Print copy in reference.

Includes all words accepted by the French Academy, covering scientific and technical terms, colloquialisms, and archaic words from classical French literature. Quotations from contemporary French writers demonstrate evolution in the use of words and draw on modern-day examples to clarify usage.

The standard dictionary of the Italian language compiled between 1961 and 2002 consisting of 22 volumes, including supplements and an index. Offers usage citations, including all possible meanings of a word listed in chronological order of their usage.

Previously known as Chamber's Slang Dictionary, this lexicon covers slang from the past five centuries right up to the present day, from all the different English-speaking countries and regions. Totaling 10.3 million words and over 53,000 entries, the collection provides the definitions of 100,000 words and over 413,000 citations. Every word and phrase is authenticated by genuine and fully-referenced citations of its use, giving the work a level of authority and scholarship unmatched by any other publication in this field.

The Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is unique - the largest thesaurus in the world and the first historical thesaurus to be created in any language. Based on the OED, it contains almost every word in English from Old English to the present. There are three major sections: I. The external world; II. The mental world; and III. The social world. Within these sections are 236,400 categories and subcategories containing some 797,600 meanings.

Offers an engaging volume that celebrates the human tendency to use mild, vague, or roundabout expressions rather than those which are blunt, precise, and true. Arranged in alphabetical order, this dictionary contains thousands of entertaining and informative entries ranging from such circumlocutions as a "fruit salad" (mixture of illegal narcotics), "arm candy" (a good-looking female companion), a "barrel-house" (a brothel), "birthday suit" (nakedness), and a "blue hair" (an old women). Completely updated, the dictionary provides definitions, examples, as well as historical explanations where appropriate.

This thesaurus is based on state-of-the-art research using a vast database of some 200 million words, conducted by Oxford's U.S. dictionary staff. It has more than 15,000 main entries keyed to over 350,000 synonyms, with accompanying example sentences and phrases. Key entries are also supplemented by antonym lists, which include cross references to other main entries. A special feature is the synonym studies, which delineate subtle nuances of meaning among a group of closely related synonyms. With clear, expert advice on grammar, usage, and pronunciation, this up-to-date thesaurus is the first place to look when you want just the right word.

Provides etymologies and examples of usage for English words. Especially useful for determining what possible meanings an author may have intended in a given work written at a given time. The online OED is updated on a quarterly basis. The OED is the premier historical dictionary of the English language.

This up-to-date, general purpose thesaurus offers over 300,000 alternative and opposite words. Synonyms are given in order of usefulness, showing the most relevant synonym first. Following market research, the third edition now includes even more, highly illustrative, real examples of usage to show synonyms in context and help you to identify the right sense. In addition, there is a brand-new centre section containing thematic and encyclopedic lists, for example of animals, games, and tools, designed to help you broaden your vocabulary, and improve your general knowledge. Provides useful information for all kinds of writing needs: study, letters, reports, creative writing, and for general reference.

Contains many enhancements including new supplementary material with a correspondence section, grammar help, and extra sections on the pronunciation of Russian and English. The text has also been updated with hundreds of new words - in both the English and Russian sides of the dictionary - especially important given changes in language and culture over the last few years. The dictionary is also more accessible for Russian speakers, with the addition of contextualizations on the Russian-English side to help users select the most appropriate translation. There is an extensive guide to English grammar, written in Russian, and the Russian native speaker who wishes to use or understand American English is well catered for.