Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English and American Literature, Older Version

Selected Online Publications

Stanford Literary Lab

The Stanford Literary Lab discusses, designs, and pursues literary research of a digital and quantitative nature. The Lab is open to all students and faculty at Stanford – and, on a more ad hoc basis, to students and faculty from other institutions.

Culturomics

Provides access to billions of words via the Google book data digitization project and software developed by scholars. For more information, see the entry for "Trending Terms, Digital Books & Historical Data Crunching" on the Audio Archives page of the English and American literature library guide.

Stanford's Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls Collection

Stanford's Dime Novel and Story Paper Collection consists of over 8,000 individual items, and includes long runs of the major dime novel series and story papers.

The Open Syllabus Project

The Open Syllabus Project (OSP) collects and analyzes millions of syllabi to support educational research and novel teaching and learning applications.  The OSP helps instructors develop classes, libraries manage collections, and presses develop books.

LC Children's Book Selections

Classic works still read by children today that were published in the United States and England before 1924, including examples from the work of American illustrators such as W.W. Denslow, Peter Newell, and Howard Pyle, as well as works by renowned English illustrators Randolph Caldecott, Walter Crane, and Kate Greenaway.  These books are no longer under copyright; you may read, share, and reuse them however you’d like.  (Adapted from Library of Congress description).

UNZ.org - Periodicals, Books, and Authors

The UNZ.org website is intended to provide convenient access to a large quantity of high-quality content material, mostly published over the last 150 years in America and England, including both articles and books, encompassing over one million readable items and titles of another million items not readable due to copyright.

Australian Common Reader Database

Publicly accessible database of circulation records from six mechanics' institute libraries for the period 1861 to 1928.  The database was established by Tim Dolin at Curtin University in 2008.  In 2013 the project moved to the Australian National University in Canberra.

Universal Short Title Catalogue

Hosted by the University of St. Andrews, the Universal Short Title Catalogue (USTC) is a collective database of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century.

Renaissance Cultural Crossroads Catalogue

Created by the University of Warwick, the Renaissance Cultural Crossroads Catalogue is a searchable, analytical and annotated list of all translations out of and into all languages printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland before 1641. It also includes all translations out of all languages into English printed abroad before 1641.

Google Scholar and Google Scholar Citations

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Google Scholar Citations provides a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us