Early English Books Online (EEBO) by Digitized directly from the UMI Early English Books microform, Early English Books Online (EEBO) presents over 125,000 literary and historical classics as they appeared in their original format. Users can see the first printed edition of the Canterbury Tales or view Galileo’s telescopic discoveries. Now in electronic format, this vast body of retrospective material can be searched quickly by a broad base of users, from undergraduates to scholars. Early English Books Online contains over 22 million digital images of virtually every work printed in the English language as well as works printed in Great Britain and its dependencies from 1473-1700 in any language. Works are drawn from these exhaustive bibliographies and collections of the period:
The Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475 - 1640)
The Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641 - 1700)
The Thomason Tracts, a compendium of broadsides on the English Civil War printed between 1640 and 1661
The Early English Books Tract Supplements
Included in EEBO are works by Shakespeare, Malory, Spenser, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell; novels by Aphra Behn; and prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and other primary resources. It opens new avenues for research in a variety of academic disciplines including Literature, History, Politics, Philosophy, Linguistics, Music, Fine Arts, Education, Mathematics, and the Sciences.
From the ProQuest product description
In addition, The WSU Libraries participates in the Text Creation Partnership, an ongoing project to provide full-text searching capabilities to 25,000 digitized texts in EEBO. In 2019, Early English Books Online migrated to the new ProQuest platform.
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 480,000 items mostly in English published between 1473 and 1800. Bibliographic numbers in these records can be used to search EEBO. This is an open resource.
Hosted by the University of St. Andrews, the Universal Short Title Catalogue (USTC) is a collective database of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century.
Created by the University of Warwick, the Renaissance Cultural Crossroads Catalogue is a searchable, analytical and annotated list of all translations out of and into all languages printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland before 1641. It also includes all translations out of all languages into English printed abroad before 1641.
