Formerly known as The Dictionary of Art and The Grove Dictionary of Art, Grove Art Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 international scholars. Grove Art Online also includes access to The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Grove Art Online features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations. Updated three times a year. Older print edition in reference collection.

Offers a multidimensional picture of primarily Western civilization, covering Ancient Egypt (2675-332 B.C.E.), Ancient Greece and Rome (1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E.), Medieval Europe (814-1450 C.E.), Renaissance Europe (1300-1600 C.E.), and The Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment (1600-1800 C.E.). Provides access to each historical period through the study of nine different arts and humanities topics: "Architecture and Design," "Dance," "Fashion," "Literature," "Music," "Philosophy," "Religion," "Theater," and "Visual Arts."

Consists of articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century, exploring art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history.

Provides in-depth coverage of Westrern art with entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms, combined with more modern methodologies, focused on patronage, taste, theory, and criticism, and the scientific examination of materials and techniques. Critical appreciation and factual information on over 1700 artists from classical times to the 20th century are included with 49 feature articles covering a broad spectrum of topics from art history and its methods to wall painting.

Lavishly illustrated, this scholarly book offers a gold mine of information on the Judeo-Christian tradition as it applied to Western art. Over 1,700 alphabetized entries cover every aspect of Christian art and architecture. 200+ illustrations. 20 color plates.

Contains over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures.

Provides in-depth coverage for over 215 of the most popular and studied graphic novels. These short essays look beyond the "pop culture" aspects of the medium to show the wide range of literary themes and artistic styles that are used to convey beliefs and conflicts that are as old as the stories told in ancient civilization. Entries arranged alphabetically, and begin with full ready reference top matter, including the title or subtitle, the primary author or authors, the illustrators who contributed to the work, the first serial and book publication, the publisher, the number of pages, the ISBN, and the genre and/or subgenre. Print copy in reference.

Provides information on U.S. and Canadian comic art, animation, caricature, and gag, political, illustrative, and magazine cartoons, with citations to books, chapters, articles, and "fugitive" materials gleaned from a variety of sources worldwide, including many periodicals and journals.

Shows the wide range of literary themes and artistic styles used to convey beliefs and conflicts, some harking back to ancient times. Essays demonstrate how the themes of ancient literary tradition are still alive in the literature of graphic novels. Print edition in reference.

An accessible and useful A-Z, covering a wide range of terms from the visual art world, including materials, techniques, and important styles and periods.

Contains around 2,000 clear and concise entries on all aspects of modern and contemporary art. Its impressive range of terms includes movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, dealers, schools, and galleries. There are biographical entries for artists worldwide from the beginning of the 20th century through to today's globalized art world, from conservatives and academics to the most controversial of the avant-garde, from household names to a host of lesser known figures.

Covers the topics, symbols, themes, and stories most frequently found in early Christian, western medieval, and Byzantine art.

A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. Includes aesthetics.

In over 6,200 entries, provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.

Contains 945 alphabetically-arranged entries offering an insightful and informative view of America's artistic heritage. This biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism provides readers with a wealth of factual detail and perceptive analysis of America's leading painters. Prominent sculptors and photographers are also covered as well as contemporary installation artists. The dictionary also provides entries on notable American institutions, organizations, schools, techniques, styles, and movements, while examining important individuals connected to the art scene

The unrivalled one-volume guide to the art of the Western world. It provides a careful balance of fact and critical appraisal, ranging across painting, sculpture, and the graphic arts from classical times to the present.

Covering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day, this best-selling and authoritative dictionary is more wide-ranging than any comparable reference work, containing over 2,500 clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. It also includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death.

This is an encyclopedic dictionary of close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages spanning the classical, medieval, early modern, modern, and contemporary periods, these are terms that influence thinking across the humanities. The entries, written by more than 150 distinguished scholars, describe the origins and meanings of each term, the history and context of its usage, its translations into other languages, and its use in notable texts.