LibGuides: Art: Research Databases

Arts Research Databases

ARTBibliographies Modern (Proquest)
Provides references and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Subjects cover all forms art Entries date back as far as the late 1960s
Art Index (EBSCO) (H.W. Wilson)
Offers abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Indexes several film journals, such as "Sight and Sound," the "American Cinematographer," "Film Comment," and "Film Quarterly." Works best with Internet Explorer
Art Index Retrospective : 1929-1984 (EBSCO)(H.W. Wilson)(XML)
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications. Features coverage of English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
International Bibliography of Art (Proquest)
International Bibliography of Art provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship in European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, architecture, material culture, and global art since 1945 in a variety of media and formats

Getty Research Library Catalog
"The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site at http://library.getty.edu/bha. The databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007." (From site) BHA coverage is 1975-2007. RILA coverage is 1975-1989.

More general databases that provide scholarly resources in art history and the humanities:

JSTOR
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR now contains ArtSTOR resources, which includes 2.5 million discoverable art history images, all rights cleared for education and research–bringing them together with critical text-based scholarship and complementary primary sources.
Project Muse
Provides full-text access to several hundred titles from 60 university and society presses in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Topical areas include literature, history, politics and policy studies, economics, education, film, religion, and women’s studies as well as book reviews.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.

History, Philosophy, and Sociology

America: History & Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books reviews and dissertations published from 1954-present.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Historical Abstracts contains citations and abstracts to publications covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Publications indexed were published from 1954 to the present.
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO)
The Philosopher's Index is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
Sociological Abstracts
A database containing abstracted citations to articles on all aspects of sociology, social work and other social sciences. Coverage from 1963-present.

Newspapers Full-Text

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
Includes full-text access to over 1,200 newspapers, 40 news magazines, and 130 newswires along with 1.7 million radio and television news transcripts. Also features cover-to-cover content from The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles
New York Times, 1851 - three years previous
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Via ProQuest.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
Provides full-text access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers published throughout the United States between 1800 and 1900, including territorial newspapers.
ProQuest Global Newsstream
Integrated resource offering recent global news content from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Archives date from the 1980s.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785 - 1985
The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the Falklands War. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image, and advertisement. Includes coverage of theater, literature, music, art, and other cultural topics and events. Also has obituaries.

Gale & Oxford Virtual Reference Libraries

Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries) are useful for gaining a broad understanding of a topic, gathering important dates, names of people, timelines, and more. This is a great place to start your research.

Gale eBooks: Virtual Reference Library
Gale ebooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but are now accessible online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if the database is accessed from different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office). Encyclopedias and specialized reference resources in: Arts, Biography, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science.
Oxford Reference Online
Access to more than 150 dictionaries and encyclopedias covering all subjects.
“Not all vendors are able to use OpenAthens Federated Access to authenticate users. If you need to access resources from this vendor, please do not use the OpenAthens institutional login on their website. Instead, start from the WSU Libraries Search It tool or Datbases AZ list. Once we move completely to OpenAthens, sign in will be possible directly through the vendor website."

ProQuest Dissertations & OpenDissertations

Dissertations and Theses are unpublished scholarly works that can provide extremely useful in-depth looks into specific topics in art history. They are also useful for starting your research, as they often contain comprehensive literature reviews and are useful for discovering resources on your topic.

Proquest Dissertations & Theses A & I - for schools other than WSU
Provides abstracts on over 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses, open-access dissertations from schools other than WSU.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses at WSU
Provides full text of WSU authored dissertations and theses. Some WSU resources may have an embargo period and not be available.

OpenDissertations
An open access database that incorporates EBSCO's previously released American Doctoral Dissertations along with additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. The database provides researchers with citations to graduate research from the early 20th century to the present. Formerly called American Doctoral Dissertations.