Skip to main content

WSU Extension

Resource tips and links for WSU Extension

Open Access Scholarly Research Databases

Open access is the practice by which research is distributed without cost and free from other access barriers. There has been a ongoing trend of making research materials open access. Although most scholarly journals still exist behind a pay-wall, many have become open access. Below are some resources intended to assist you with finding open access scholarly materials for your research. 

 

Proquest Publicly Available Content Database - Provides a searchable database of peer reviewed, open access, materials (as well as other materials). Content includes journal articles, pre-prints, dissertations, conference papers, and reports.

Google Scholar - Journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and more from across many disciplines.

Directory of Open Access Journals - Provides a comprehensive list of open access, peer reviewed, journals. Journals can be sorted by discipline. 

Directory of Open Access Books - The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books under Open Access licenses. These publications are Open Access and meet academic standards for scholarly materials.

Important Open Access Scholarly Journals

 

Below is a list of some well cited open access, and peer reviewed journals, broken down by discipline:

Agriculture (General)

California agriculture - Open access from 1946.

Horticulture research - Open access from 2014.

Scientia agricola - Open access from 1992.

Sustainability - Open access from 2009.

Animal Sciences

Animals - Open access from 2011.

Genetics selection evolution - Open access from 1989.

Journal of animal science and biotechnology - Open access from 2012. 

Journal of applied animal research - Open access from 2016.

Crop & Soil Sciences 

Agricultural and forest meteorology - Open access from 2001

Crop breeding and applied biotechnology - Open access from 2001.

Industrial crops and products - Open access from 1991

Plant and soil - Open access from 1998

Plant production science - Open access from 2003

Theoretical and applied genetics - Open access from 1997.

Entomology

Florida entomologist - Open access since 1994.

Insects - Open access from 2011

Journal of insect science - Open access from 2001.

Journal of integrated pest management -  Open access from 2010.

Ecology & Forestry

Biogeosciences - Open access from 2004.

Conservation physiology - Open source from 2013.

Ecology and evolution - Open access from 2011.

Ecology and society - Open access from 2004.

Ecosphere - Open access from 2010.

Environmental research letters - Open access from 2006.

Fire ecology - Open access from 2005. 

Forest ecosystems - Open access from 2014.

Forests - Open access from 2010.

iForest-Biogeosciences and forestry - Open access from 2008.

Silva fennica - Open access from 1998.

Wildlife biology - Open access from 2014.

Food Sciences

Food and agricultural immunology - Open access from 2017.

Food and nutrition research - Open access from 2008.

Food science & nutrition - Open access from 2012. 

Foods - Open access from 2013.

International journal of food properties - Open access from 2018.

Journal of food quality - Open access from 2017. 

Toxins - Open access from 2009.

Oceanography & Water Resources

Aquaculture environment interactions - Open access from 2010.

Aquatic biology - Open access from  2014.

Aquatic invasions - Open access from 2006.

Fishery bulletin - Open access from 1881.

Frontiers in marine science - Open access from 2014.

Hydrology and Earth system sciences - Open access from 1997.

Marine and coastal fisheries - Open access from 2009.

Mediterranean marine science - Open access from 2000.

Water - Open access from 2009.

Plant Sciences

BMC plant biology - Open access from 2001.

Botanical studies - Open access from 2006.

Frontiers in plant science - Open access from 2010. 

Journal of ethnobiology and ethnomedicine - Open access from 2005.

Journal of plant interactions - Open access from 2015.

Plant botechnology journal - Open access from 2016.

Plant genome - Open access from 2008.

Plant methods - Open access from 2011. 

Plant pathology journal - Open access from 1999.

Wine & Viticulture 

International journal of wine research - Open access from 2011.

OENO one - Open access from 1968.

 

 

 

 

 

Peer Reviewed Open Access Journals

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us