LibGuides: Criminal Justice 311 (Online): Home

Current Crim J 311 Students!!!! (2/2021)

This guide is an old, somewhat outdated one :-( If you are currently in Crim J 311 you will probably find the resources on the main Criminal Justice and Criminology Research Guide more up-to-date and expansive:

(However...this one is actually not bad for research process stuff, but I'd suggest using Sage Research Methods - linked at the Research Guide above)

-Lorena

Fall 2023 Update: New/Newish Helpful WSU Libraries Resources and Services

JSTOR - we have continuing access to ALL of JSTOR's journal content (including the Security Studies and Sustainability thematic collections)! This was originally set to end in June 2023, but has been extended as a permanent subscription.

HeinOnline / Hein Online
Database of legal and government resources, including laws, regulations, some trials and court reports, treaties, monographs, and a variety of other materials covering United States and foreign law. Coverage includes private and public international law, intellectual property and legal history. Includes full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract. New and updated material added frequently.
Statista
Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
PolicyMap
Now permanent!!! as of January 2022
An online (no software installation needed) U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. Undergraduate and graduate schools use us in their curriculum and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
Look for Blog Posts, Customer Stories, and sample Maps, Tables, and Reports.
SAGE Research Methods
Designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method, SAGE Research Methods includes more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Off-Campus Access: Open Athens and LibKey Nomad
Open Athens is the invisible way you can access library resources after logging in with your WSU NetID. The WSU Libraries' LibKey Nomad extension can be used to provide instant access to PDFs available through the WSU Libraries - it will follow you around (and NOT collect any data!) and will show a green logo in the lower left corner of your screen if you are on the landing page of an article WSU has access to. Click it and it will take you to Search It for access.
Citation Linker
Use this link when you have a citation and want to get to the book or article. It will link to the item you want. If it is not available at the WSU Libraries, it will generate an automatic Interlibrary Loan form so you can easily request it.
Note: you can also find this at the top of Search It - but you'll have to click on the ... menu.
The Dimensions Lab
Big Monitors. Cool software. Large (but not really large) scanner. 3D Photogrammetry. Macs. 3-D printer. And more. #DigitalMaking
The Libraries’ Dimensions Lab is equipped to provide computing resources and tools for computer-based projects in the fields of media, art, music, engineering, computer science, and physics. The lab is located on the first floor of the Holland Library on the WSU Pullman campus, right off the main elevators between Holland and Terrell.
Added in fall 2021: a small recording studio, the Audio Lab.
WSU Libraries Citation Style Quick Guides (includes APA 7th)
"These quick reference guides are designed to provide easy access to common formatting and stylistic requirements for each citation style."
APA Style (7th Ed.) Handouts and Guides (free)
"The following are instructional aids for the seventh edition Publication Manual, Concise Guide to APA Style, and Mastering APA Style Student Workbook. They can be used in homes, classrooms, libraries, or anywhere you are learning or teaching APA Style."
APA: The Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style (free)
Free tutorial
Just in case, APA Sixth Edition Resources
APA: Style and Grammar Guidelines (7th edition; free)
Just in case, APA Sixth Edition Resources

About this Guide...

This Course Guide is intended for students who are taking Crim J 311, Undergraduate Research Methods in Criminal Justice (or other online undergraduate research methods classes) through WSU's Global Campus - or in person!. It includes links (and soon, short/shortish lecture screencasts) that will help you learn about finding and using library resources for research at WSU, including finding scholarly books and articles that you can use in a research proposal literature review and elsewhere.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me - my contact information is at the bottom of this page. If you would like more/different information, or are not understanding what/how I write, please tell me so I can make it better! Further options for assistance are available on the Services for WSU Online Students tab.

--- Lorena O'English

I work with the criminal justice, political science, sociology, and sport studies departments. I also am the Government Information librarian, and I work with social science data (I'm the ICPSR Official Representative for WSU), and I *also* teach technology classes (the reference management application Zotero, personal information management tools, digital privacy, creating basic ebooks) - email me if you are interested in setting up an online workshop for a group!

Tab To-Do List:

Watch this space on each of the tabs of this CRM J 311 Course Guide and follow the instructions.

Related Subject Guides

A complete list of WSU Libraries subject guides is available (or look up above the title of this Course Guide!)

Census Information
by Lorena O'English Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 75 views this year
Government Documents
by Lorena O'English Last Updated May 12, 2023 206 views this year
State and Local Government: Washington State and Other States
by Lorena O'English Last Updated Nov 29, 2023 232 views this year
Sociology
by Lorena O'English Last Updated Mar 6, 2024 37 views this year
Criminal Justice and Criminology
by Lorena O'English Last Updated Mar 7, 2024 169 views this year
Political Science
by Lorena O'English Last Updated Apr 16, 2024 109 views this year
Social Sciences Book Reviews
by Lorena O'English Last Updated Oct 13, 2023 41 views this year
Psychology
by Christy Zlatos Last Updated Jan 5, 2024 152 views this year

Helpful Links

Library Services for WSU Online Campus Students
About course reserves (for students)
Ask A Librarian
(or just contact me...my contact information is in the column to the left - you can email me directly or set up a consultation via Zoom)
Ebooks: Reading and Downloading @ the WSU Libraries
Citation Help
Copyrightabilility of Tables, Charts and Graphs
University of Michigan
Bound By Law (IP & Copyright online comic)
A fun graphic novel that will teach you about intellectual property issues (like copyright)