Automation in agriculture is made possible by the integration of advanced agricultural technology and precision agriculture management. This book, uniquely, will focus on applications of automation to the important industry of tree fruit production. Written by experts in agricultural automation technology from around the world, chapters in this book cover topics such as automated tree fruit production systems, plant stress sensing and high-throughput phenotyping in precision horticulture, the economics of automation in tree fruit production, light interception sensing systems for canopy management, precision irrigation and water management, precision technologies for pest and disease management, opportunities for the application of robotics in tree fruit production, and the mechanical harvesting and handling of fruit crops. The book is a representative, concise overview of the variety of technologies currently being applied to tree fruit crops around the world and the challenges faced by engineers and farmers that these technologies raise. It is aimed at researchers and graduate students of agriculture systems, agricultural and biological engineering, crop and soil sciences, horticulture, precision agriculture, and other relevant disciplines. It will also be of use to agriculture consultants, engineers, and other professionals such as agricultural equipment manufacturers and management professionals who use precision agriculture technologies. Key Features: - Takes a systematic approach to how to apply precision and automation technologies to fruit production. - Combines the disciplines of economics, horticulture, and engineering. - Illustrated by case studies throughout describing actual applications of automation technology.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks HM651 .D58 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-18
How do we persuade people that we all have common experiences and hopes? That we are ever more dependent on each other in times of globalization via technology, commerce, climate change, and overpopulation? How do we move from an "Us and Them" mentality to simply "Us"? In this book, a follow-up to their first book Betweener Talk, the authors share autoethnographies about being and doing scholarship as betweeners searching for inclusivity. The authors have witnessed an escalation of division in their native Brazil and in the USA, as well as in South America more broadly and Europe ¿ places that had been making steady, albeit slow, progress toward greater inclusion. The book explores identity, interactions, existence, and possibilities in the spaces between "Us" and "Them" to help current and future generations imagine a more inclusive way of living ¿ as Us. It is about how two Third World scholars think the Postcolonial/Decolonizing discourse ¿ with a performance studies lens ¿ can further notions of inclusive social justice through scholarship borne out of lived oppression and the struggle for humanization. It is a union of two authors who, in their own words "have been close friends since our youth, both captivated by Paulo Freire¿s notion of education and social transformation through a praxis of conscientiza¿ (conscientization), but who experienced life growing up at opposite ends of the social class spectrum. Early through love and later through theory, we have come to viscerally inhabit and embrace our betweener identities in scholarship and daily lives, breaking the distance between us and the paradigms that attempt to separate political, personal, and professional life." The authors¿ hope is that their own and other betweener autoethnographies can contribute to the larger qualitative inquiry global movement and its central goal: marching together toward ever greater social justice.
A Case Study Approach to Educational Leadership by Sharon D. Kruse, WSU Vancouver College of Education
Publication Date: 2018-07-09
A Case Study Approach to Educational Leadership takes on six core areas of school leadership¿organizational vision; curriculum, instruction, and assessment; school and external community; school climate and culture; equity; and improvement, innovation, and reform. Using a case learning approach, this volume introduces salient theoretical and empirical literature in each core area and provides illustrative cases designed for individual and group analysis. Written for aspiring educational leaders, this book facilitates the discussion and reflection of individual and collective professional judgment and helps developing leaders make sense of the challenges school leaders face today. Special Features: Featured Cases direct readers toward the issues of practice embedded within the theoretical content area Linkage to relevant Professional Standards for Educational Leaders (PSEL) standards ground each chapter in the latest guidelines for the field Discussion Questions foster reflection of content and practical applications Leadership Activities and Web-Based Resources support leaders in making further connections to practice
Contemporary Irish Writing and Environmentalism by Donna L. Potts, WSU Pullman Department of English
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
This book examines how the Irish environmental movement, which began gaining momentum in the 1970s, has influenced and been addressed by contemporary Irish writers, artists, and musicians. It examines Irish environmental writing, music, and art within their cultural contexts, considers how postcolonial ecocriticism might usefully be applied to Ireland, and analyzes the rhetoric of Irish environmental protests. It places the Irish environmental movement within the broader contexts of Irish national and postcolonial discourses, focusing on the following protests: the M3 Motorway, the Burren campaign, the Carnsore Point anti-nuclear protest, Shell to Sea, the turf debate, and the animal rights movement.
Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by James R. Hupp, WSU Spokane Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine; Myron R. Tucker; Edward Ellis
Publication Date: 2018-11-29
One of the most respected dental surgery books in the world, Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, 7th Edition helps you develop skills in evaluation, diagnosis, and patient management. This comprehensive text on oral surgery procedures features full-color photographs and drawings that show how to perform basic surgical techniques, including an overview of more advanced surgical procedures and the latest developments in dental implants, instrumentation, and current technology. A detailed patient evaluation section includes guidelines on when to refer patients to specialists and how to provide supportive postoperative care. New to this edition is a chapter focusing on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions. Written by well-known OMS educators James R. Hupp, and Edward Ellis III, and Myron R. Tucker, this book is a valuable reference for dentistry and dental hygiene students alike! UPDATED! Chapter, Contemporary Implant Dentistry, includes new and updated implant surgical techniques and virtual planning. UPDATED! Chapter, Treatment of Complex Implant Cases, features new and updated cases requiring more complex treatment, including bone augmentation surgery in combination with implants. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Sinus Disease updated outline of the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient with sinus disease, including endoscopic therapy. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Medication-related Osteonecrosis of the Jaw outlines the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient. UPDATED! Facial Cosmetic Surgery chapter is organized by nonsurgical and surgical procedures, covering popular procedures such as dermal fillers, botox, facial resurfacing, browlift and forehead procedures, blepharoplasty, rhinoplasty, and rhytidectomy. UPDATED! Content on implants, new instruments, and the latest technology help you treat your patients more effectively. Basic techniques of evaluation, diagnosis, and medical management described in enough detail to facilitate immediate clinical application. Excellent instrumentation chapter covers a wide variety of instruments and tray set-ups that OMS surgeons use. Complex Exodontia chapter describes techniques for surgical tooth extraction, including the principles of flap design, development, management, and suturing, as well as open extraction of single- and multi-rooted teeth, multiple extractions, and concomitant alveoloplasty. Hundreds of detailed, close-up photographs of intraoperative sites clarify textual descriptions Coverage of complex OMS procedures give you a basic understanding of what you will face later in advanced OMS cases. NEW! Chapter, Anesthesia in Dentistry focuses on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions including local anesthesia and nitrous oxide sedation. NEW! Expert Consult TM eBook version included with purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Contemporary Technologies in Education by Olusola Adesope, WSU Pullman College of Education; A. G. Rud, WSU Pullman College of Education
Publication Date: 2018-11-16
This edited volume provides a critical discussion of theoretical, methodological, and practical developments of contemporary forms of educational technologies. Specifically, the book discusses the use of contemporary technologies such as the Flipped Classroom (FC), Massive Open Online Course (MOOC), Social Media, Serious Educational Games (SEG), Wikis, innovative learning software tools, and learning analytic approach for making sense of big data. While some of these contemporary educational technologies have been touted as panaceas, researchers and developers have been faced with enormous challenges in enhancing the use of these technologies to arouse student attention and improve persistent motivation, engagement, and learning. Hence, the book examines how contemporary technologies can engender student motivation and result in improved engagement and learning. Each chapter also discusses the road ahead and where appropriate, uses the current trend to predict future affordances of technologies.
Corrections by Mary K. Stohr; Anthony Walsh
Publication Date: 2018-02-06
Corrections: The Essentials, Third Editionis a comprehensive, yet compact version of the typical corrections text. Authors Mary K. Stohr and Anthony Walshaddress the most important topics in corrections in a briefer, full-color format, offered at a lower cost. It includes the usual topics typically found in corrections textbooks, but has a unique perspective with greater coverage on three key topics: the history and development of correctional institutions, ethics and diversity. The book also offers unique special feature boxes, allowing students and instructors the opportunity to focus on key perspectives to broaden the book′s coverage. The book's brevity makes it an excellent core textbook that can easily be supplemented with additional reading materials.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks P39.5 .C67 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-23
The Anthropocene is a term proposed for the present geological epoch (from the time of the Industrial Revolution onwards) to highlight the role of humanity in the transformation of earth's environment globally, has become the subject of scholarship not only in the sciences, but also in the arts and humanities as well. Ecopoetics, a multidisciplinary approach that includes thinking and writing on poetics, science, and theory as well as emphasizing innovative approaches common to conceptual poetry, rose out of the late 20th-century awareness of ecology and concerns of environmental disaster. Collected from contributors including Brenda Hillman, Eileen Tabios, and Christopher Cokinos, and together a monument to human responsiveness and invention, Counter-Desecration is a book of ecopoetics that compiles terms--borrowed, invented, recast--that help configure or elaborate human engagement with place. There are no analogous volumes in the field of ecocriticism and ecopoetics. The individual entries, each a sketch or a notion, through some ecopoetic lens--anti-colonialism, bioregionalism, ecological (im)balance, indigeneity, resource extraction, extinction, habitat loss, environmental justice, queerness, attentiveness, sustainability--focus and configure the emerging relations and effects of the Anthropocene. Each entry is a work of art concerned with contemporary poetics and environmental justice backed with sound observation and scholarship.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks HV8073 .D88 2019
Publication Date: 2018-02-21
A crime has occurred. Now what? From the crime scene to the courtroom, Criminal Investigation walks students through the entire investigative process and the roles involved, including police officers, investigators, forensic personnel, defense lawyers, and prosecutors. This integrated approach paints a realistic picture of how crimes are actually solved with fascinating real-world examples. Featuring a new, full-color interior design, the Fifth Edition incorporates modern investigative methods and procedures for multiple crime types, including homicide, assault, robbery, theft, burglary, arson, terrorism, cybercrime, and a new chapter dedicated to underwater investigations. New sections discussing digital evidence, including cell phones and GPS, tracking technology, and social media keep students on the cutting-edge of investigative techniques and forensic science developments. The cohesive and accessible approach combined with practical applications make Criminal Investigation, Fifth Edition the easy choice for students pursuing careers in law enforcement and the criminal justice system.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks PS3573.I456555 A6 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-18
In his fifth collection of poetry, Deer at Twilight, Paul J. Willis offers a vividly imagistic insight into the depths of nature within and around the state of Washington. Walking on Water, Pyramid Lake These particular bugs can do it, dimpling the surface with their feet, and no one has built a church in their name. Other bugs swim underwater with abandon, with no blue ribbons to show for it. That leaves the rest of us to perform our daily miracles without applause. This rock, for example,sheared flat by who knows what torturous force, left to host its lime-green share of crustose lichen, that concoction of algae and fungi which long ago, not even listening to Rodney King, decided we can get along if we just try.
Dopants and Defects in Semiconductors, Second Edition by Matthew D. McCluskey; Eugene E. Haller
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
Praise for the First Edition "The book goes beyond the usual textbook in that it provides more specific examples of real-world defect physics ... an easy reading, broad introductory overview of the field" ―Materials Today "... well written, with clear, lucid explanations ..." ―Chemistry World This revised edition provides the most complete, up-to-date coverage of the fundamental knowledge of semiconductors, including a new chapter that expands on the latest technology and applications of semiconductors. In addition to inclusion of additional chapter problems and worked examples, it provides more detail on solid-state lighting (LEDs and laser diodes). The authors have achieved a unified overview of dopants and defects, offering a solid foundation for experimental methods and the theory of defects in semiconductors. Matthew D. McCluskeyis a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy and Materials Science Program at Washington State University (WSU), Pullman, Washington. He received a Physics Ph.D. from the University of California (UC), Berkeley. Eugene E. Halleris a professor emeritus at the University of California, Berkeley, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He received a Ph.D. in Solid State and Applied Physics from the University of Basel, Switzerland.
Encyclopedia of Reproduction, Second Edition comprehensively reviews biology and abnormalities, also covering the most common diseases in humans, such as prostate and breast cancer, as well as normal developmental biology, including embryogenesis, gestation, birth and puberty. Each article provides a comprehensive overview of the selected topic to inform a broad spectrum of readers, from advanced undergraduate students, to research professionals. Chapters also explore the latest advances in cloning, stem cells, endocrinology, clinical reproductive medicine and genomics. As reproductive health is a fundamental component of an individual's overall health status and a central determinant of quality of life, this book provides the most extensive and authoritative reference within the field.
Finite Element Modeling and Simulation with Ansys Workbench Second Edition by Xiaolin Chen, VCEA
Publication Date: 2018-09-28
Finite Element Modeling and Simulation with ANSYS Workbench 18, Second Edition, combines finite element theory with real-world practice. Providing an introduction to finite element modeling and analysis for those with no prior experience, and written by authors with a combined experience of 30 years teaching the subject, this text presents FEM formulations integrated with relevant hands-on instructions for using ANSYS Workbench 18. Incorporating the basic theories of FEA, simulation case studies, and the use of ANSYS Workbench in the modeling of engineering problems, the book also establishes the finite element method as a powerful numerical tool in engineering design and analysis. Features Uses ANSYS Workbench¿ 18, which integrates the ANSYS SpaceClaim Direct Modeler¿ into common simulation workflows for ease of use and rapid geometry manipulation, as the FEA environment, with full-color screen shots and diagrams. Covers fundamental concepts and practical knowledge of finite element modeling and simulation, with full-color graphics throughout. Contains numerous simulation case studies, demonstrated in a step-by-step fashion. Includes web-based simulation files for ANSYS Workbench 18 examples. Provides analyses of trusses, beams, frames, plane stress and strain problems, plates and shells, 3-D design components, and assembly structures, as well as analyses of thermal and fluid problems.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks P91.3 .T3355 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-16
This book identifies and analyzes priorities, themes, projects and publications in the world's leading communication research institutes, centers and doctoral programs. It also presents an assessment of the state and future of communication research by prominent international scholars in communication. Using these data sources, the book provides a comprehensive review of communication and media research outside the United States, a critical gap in the literature. It is a useful reference for U.S. and international communication scholars, and can be a textbook for graduate and undergraduate courses in international communication, global communication and communication theories.
Call Number: Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections JK9216 .G65 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-01
In Washington State, political mavericks often rule. Split tickets are a source of pride and independent voters outnumber Democrats and Republicans. An open primary election system and voter registration process demonstrate the state has never drifted far from its populist roots.
Governing the Evergreen State provides an absorbing look at an ever-evolving state political and judicial system and presents intriguing case studies. This updated volume includes chapters on interest groups, the constitution, the environment, media coverage, the court system, the legislature, political parties, changing demographics, and more. Fresh discussions and analysis from legislators and academics across the state offer a springboard for further examination and discussion.
The Intersection: Where Evidence Based Nursing and Information Literacy Meet describes how the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Framework and Information literacy Competency Standards for Nursing mesh with nursing essentials, thus speaking to the information needs of nurses, nurse educators, and librarians who support worldwide nursing programs. In order to find the best evidence from studies, students and practicing nurses must be proficient in the entire range of information literacy skills. Though the references for this document are from U.S. organizations, they are applicable to nursing audiences across the globe.
Ireland, Irish America, and Work by Donna Potts, WSU Pullman Department of English
This volume offers perspectives on the history of labour in Ireland, as well as on Irish-American labor, particularly since the mass emigration prompted by the famine of the 1840s. It also examines the specific role that the Irish played in the Inland Northwest, as well as the intersections between the concerns of the Irish and Irish-Americans and those of the Spokane and Coeur dAlene Indians who inhabited the region when European immigrants first arrived. It relies for its theoretical foundations on labour, postcolonial and feminist theory.
The Killing of Chief Crazy Horse by Robert A. Clark, Editor in Chief of Washington State University Press
Publication Date: 2018-08-01
The Killing of Chief Crazy Horse is a story of envy, greed, and treachery. In the year after the Battle of the Little Big Horn, the great Oglala Sioux chief Crazy Horse and his half-starved followers finally surrendered to the U.S. Army near Camp Robinson, Nebraska. Chiefs who had already surrendered resented the favors he received in doing so. When the army asked for his help rounding up the the Nez Percés, Crazy Horse's reply was allegedly mistranslated by Frank Grouard, a scout for General George Crook. By August rumors had spread that Crazy Horse was planning another uprising. Tension continued to mount, and Crazy Horse was arrested at Fort Robinson on September 5. During a scuffle Crazy Horse was fatally wounded by a bayonet in front of several witnesses. Here the killing of Crazy Horse is viewed from three widely differing perspectives--that of Chief He Dog, the victim's friend and lifelong companion; that of William Garnett, the guide and interpreter for Lieutenant William P. Clark, on special assignment to General Crook; and that of Valentine McGillycuddy, the medical officer who attended Crazy Horse in his last hours. Their eyewitness accounts, edited and introduced by Robert A. Clark, combine to give The Killing of Chief Crazy Horse all the starkness and horror of classical tragedy.
Kinship and Gender by Linda S. Stone; Diane E. King
Publication Date: 2018-10-08
Does kinship still matter in today's globalized, increasingly mobile world? Do family structures continue to influence the varied roles that men and women play in different cultures? Answering with a resounding 'yes!', Linda Stone and Diane E. King offer a lively introduction to and working knowledge of kinship. They firmly link these concepts to cross-cultural gender studies, illuminating the malleable nature of gender roles around the world and over time. Written to engage students, each chapter in Kinship and Gender provides key terms and useful generalizations gleaned through research on the interplay of kinship and gender in both traditional societies and contemporary communities. Detailed case studies and cross-cultural examples help students understand how such generalizations are experienced in real life. The authors also consider the ramifications of current social problems and recent developments in reproductive technology as they demonstrate the relevance of kinship and gender to students' lives. The fully-revised sixth edition contains new case studies on foster parenting in the United States and on domestic violence. It provides new material on pets as family members and an expanded discussion of the concept of lineal masculinity. There is also a comparison of the adoption of new reproductive technologies in Israel with other countries, along with a discussion of the issue of transnational movements in the use of these technologies.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks QD117.R3 B76 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Chief Scientist Dr. Antone Brooks and his Low Dose Radiation Research Program team redefined the field, applying advances in instrumentation and molecular biology from the Human Genome Project and developing new technologies to examine cellular responses. Their findings were startling. At low doses, biological reactions are unique and often unrelated to those that occur at high doses. The influential linear-no-threshold model--which predicted that damage from acute exposures can be extrapolated linearly to low dose exposures--was flawed. Small doses of radiation can have an adaptive protective effect. "Hit theory," the idea that radiation only affected cells it directly traversed, yielded to "bystander theory," which hypothesizes that cells communicate with each other and a dose to one affects others surrounding it. Low Dose Radiation describes the program's development, the scientists who made it viable, and the fundamental results, highlighting lessons learned during its lifespan.
New Directions in Media and Politics by Travis N. Ridout, WSU Pullman Politics, Philosophy & Public Affairs
Publication Date: 2018-08-15
It would be difficult to find a more interesting topic than the relationship between the news media and politics, especially given that Americans are now living in the "Twitter presidency" of Donald Trump. Academic research in the area of media and politics is rapidly breaking new ground to keep pace with prolific media developments and societal changes. This innovative, up-to-date text moves beyond rudimentary concepts and definitions to consider exciting research as well as practical applications that address monumental changes in media systems in the US and the world. This carefully crafted volume explores key questions posed by academics and practitioners alike, exposing students to rigorous scholarship as well as everyday challenges confronted by politicians, journalists, and media consumers. Each chapter opens with a "big question" about the impact of the news media, provides an overview of the more general topic, and then answers that question by appealing to the best, most-up-to-date research in the field. The volume as a whole is held together by an exploration of the rapidly changing media environment and the influence these changes have on individual political behavior and governments as a whole. New Directions in Media and Politics makes an ideal anchor for courses as it digs deeper into the questions that standard textbooks only hint at¿and presents scholarly evidence to support the arguments made. New to the Second Edition Fully updated through the 2016 elections and the early Trump presidency with a special focus on the role of social media. Adds three new chapters: The Move to Mobile; Media and Public Policy; and Fake News. Adds Discussion Questions to the end of each chapter.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks F899.H36 N69 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Drawn from Hanford History Project personal narratives, Nowhere to Remember highlights life in Hanford, White Bluffs, and Richland--three small eastern Washington agricultural communities where Euro-American settlers transformed acres of sagebrush into fruit orchards and neighbors helped neighbors. But in 1943, families received evacuation orders, and Manhattan Project restrictions meant they could not return. Covering settlement and development, the arrival of irrigation, dependence on railroads, Great Depression struggles, and World War II-era experiences, the volume examines regional trade and transportation within the context of American West history. It also details the tight bonds between early residents and early twentieth century experiences of the region's women, utilizes oral histories to tell forced removal stories, and finally, conveys displaced occupants' reactions to their loss.
Develop a strong understanding of pathophysiology. Pathophysiology, 6th Edition explores the etiology, pathogenesis, clinical manifestations, and treatment of diseases and disorders. Each section focuses on the major alterations in the homeostasis of the body systems in order to provide you with a unifying framework. Current scientific findings and relevant global research are integrated throughout the book, with chapters organized by body system, beginning with an illustrated review of anatomy and normal physiology. Each chapter includes a discussion on the disease processes and abnormalities that may occur, with a focus on the pathophysiologic concepts involved. Written by leading educators, this text simplifies a rigorous subject with practical learning resources, an emphasis on critical thinking, and coverage of the latest scientific findings and relevant research. Plus, more than 1,000 updated, full color illustrations and photos throughout, give you a chance to visualize disease and disease processes and gain a clearer understanding of the material. Easy-to-read style is simplified by input from readability experts, and includes many tables, boxes, and figures to highlight key content. Student-friendly learning resources in the text include chapter outlines, bolded key terms, key questions, Key Points boxes, and chapter summaries. Pediatric and Geriatric Considerations boxes include brief analyses of age-related changes associated with specific body systems. A comprehensive glossary defines terms and includes audio pronunciations on the Evolve companion website. NEW! Global Health Care boxes inform you about global healthcare concerns such as HIV/AIDS, Ebola, Tropical Diseases and more. Includes prevalence, mechanism of disease and transmission. NEW! Over 1,000 illustrations help clarify complex pathophysiological concepts and make the book visually appealing NEW! Thorough chapter updates include the latest information on new treatment advances, 100 new figures for improved clarity, and much more throughout the text.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks KF8748 .S15 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-31
Like our divided nation, the Supreme Court is polarized. But does a split among Supreme Court justices--particularly when it occurs along ideological lines--hurt public perception and the Court's ability to muster popular support for its rulings? Michael Salamone's Perceptions of a Polarized Court offers the first comprehensive, empirical analysis of how divisiveness affects the legitimacy of the Court's decisions.Salamone looks specifically at the Roberts Court years--which are characterized by unprecedented ideological and partisan polarization among the justices--to evaluate the public consequences of divided Supreme Court rulings. He also analyzes both the media's treatment of Supreme Court decisions and public opinion toward the Court's rulings to show how public acceptance is (or is not) affected. Salmone contends that judicial polarization has had an impact on the manner in which journalists report on the Supreme Court. However, contrary to expectation, Court dissent may help secure public support by tapping into core democratic values.
A Person Worth Being - ME! by Jennifer Darner, WSU Extension
Publication Date: 2018-04-05
When addiction tears a family apart, it can be a struggle for any child to navigate feelings of loss, anger, fear, and sadness. Jennifer Darner s A Person Worth Being - ME! is a reminder to all children going through difficult times that there is still hope and that each of us is a person worth being.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks BF575.G8 L44 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Drawing on the work of Hannah Arendt and Theodor W. Adorno, this book illustrates the relevance and applicability of a political discussion of guilt and democracy. It appropriates psychoanalytic theory to analyse court documents of Austrian Nazi perpetrators as well as recent publiccontroversies surrounding Austria's involvement in the Nazi atrocities and ponders how the former agents of Hitlerite crimes and contemporary Austrians have dealt with their guilt.Exposing the defensive mechanisms that have been used to evade facing involvement in Nazi atrocities, Leeb considers the possibilities of breaking the cycle of negative consequences that result from the inability to deal with guilt. Leeb shows us that only by guilt can individuals and nations takeresponsibility for their past crimes, show solidarity with the victims of crimes, and prevent the emergence of new crimes.
This book is the fourth volume of the proceedings of the 4th GeoShanghai International Conference that was held on May 27 - 30, 2018. This volume, entitled "Transportation Geotechnics and Pavement Engineering", represents the recent advances and technologies in transportation geotechnics and pavement engineering. This book covers a wide range of topics, from transportation geotechnics, to geomechanics at various length scales, to pavement materials and structures. The book offers a unique mix of numerical modeling studies, experimental studies, and case studies from industry. It may be of interest to researchers and practitioners in the fields of transportation engineering and pavement engineering. Each of the papers included in this book received at least two positive peer reviews. The editors would like to express their sincerest appreciation to all of the anonymous reviewers all over the world, for their diligent work.
Profiles of Academic Library Reference Services Management by Christy Zlatos, WSU Pullman Libraries
Publication Date: 08/06/2018
The 55-page study profiles the development and management of reference services at seven American institutions of higher education: the University of Arizona, Bowling Green State University, California State University—Fresno, Florida Atlantic University, the University of Idaho, Kaplan University and Princeton University. The study looks at a broad range of issues including but not limited to: the development of special services for international students and distance learning students, the integration of reference services with info technology assistance, tutoring, and other student services, the presentation and orientation of the reference and circulation desks, the appropriate use of student labor and other staffing and labor use issues, the development of “personal librarian programs” and other customization strategies, the proper uses of reference statistics, the integration of virtual and on-site reference services and the marketing of reference services.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks BQ4960.T5 C37 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-15
What is mindfulness, and how does it vary as a concept across different cultures? How does mindfulness find expression in practice in the Buddhist cultures of Southeast Asia? What role does mindfulness play in everyday life? J. L. Cassaniti answers these fundamental questions and more through an engaged ethnographic investigation of what it means to "remember the present" in a region strongly influenced by Buddhist thought. Focusing on Thailand, Sri Lanka, and Myanmar, Remembering the Present examines the meanings, practices, and purposes of mindfulness. Using the experiences of people in Buddhist monasteries, hospitals, markets, and homes in the region, Cassaniti shows how an attention to memory informs how people live today and how mindfulness is intimately tied to local constructions of time, affect, power, emotion, and selfhood. By looking at how these people incorporate Theravada Buddhism into their daily lives, Cassaniti provides a signal contribution to the psychological anthropology of religious experience. Remembering the Present heeds the call made by researchers in the psychological sciences and the Buddhist side of mindfulness studies for better understandings of what mindfulness is and can be. Cassaniti addresses fundamental questions about selfhood, identity, and how a deeper appreciation of the many contexts and complexities intrinsic in sati (mindfulness in the Pali language) can help people lead richer, fuller, and healthier lives. Remembering the Present shows how mindfulness needs to be understood within the cultural and historical influences from which it has emerged.
The Routledge Handbook of Destination Marketing by Dogan Gursoy, WSU Pullman School of Hospitality Business Management; Christina G. Chi (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018-04-23
This book examines key contemporary marketing concepts, issues and challenges that affect destinations within a multidisciplinary global perspective. Uniquely combining both the theoretical and practical approaches, this handbook discusses cutting edge marketing questions such as innovation in destinations, sustainability, social media, peer-to-peer applications and web 3.0. Drawing from the knowledge and expertise of 70 prominent scholars from over 20 countries around the world, The Routledge Handbook of Destination Marketing aims to create an international platform for balanced academic research with practical applications, in order to foster synergetic interaction between academia and industry. For these reasons, it will be a valuable resource for both researchers and practitioners in the field of destination marketing.
Routledge Handbook of Hospitality Marketing by Dogan Gursoy, WSU Pullman School of Hospitality Business Management
Publication Date: 2017-10-03
This handbook analyzes the main issues in the field of hospitality marketing by focusing on past, present and future challenges and trends from a multidisciplinary global perspective. The book uniquely combines both theoretical and practical approaches in debating some of the most important marketing issues faced by the hospitality industry. Parts I and II define and examine the main hospitality marketing concepts and methodologies. Part III offers a comprehensive review of the development of hospitality marketing over the years. The remaining parts (IV¿IX) address key cutting-edge marketing issues such as innovation in hospitality, sustainability, social media, peer-to-peer applications, Web 3.0 etc. in a wide variety of hospitality settings. In addition, this book provides a platform for debate and critical evaluation that enables the reader to learn from the industry¿s past mistakes as well as future opportunities. The handbook is international in its constitution as it attempts to examine marketing issues, challenges and trends globally, drawing on the knowledge of experts from around the world. Because of the nature of hospitality, which often makes it inseparable from other industries such as tourism, events, sports and even retail, the book has a multidisciplinary approach that will appeal to these disciplines as well as others including management, human resources, technology, consumer behavior and anthropology.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks HQ27 .H87 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-19
Adolescents and emerging adults today spend an estimated seven hours daily attending to media. The media teens attend to commonly present relationships between men and women as a "game" or "competition" in which women seduce through their physical appearance and the masculinity of men is defined through sexual conquest. A growing body of research suggests that viewing this sexualized media may contribute to adolescents' and emerging adults' understanding of and behaviors around romantic and sexual relationships. Using social cognitive theory of gender development, scripting theory, and heterosexual script theory as a framework, Scripting Adolescent Romance presents methods and analyses of data from in-depth interviews with 16 high school and young college students, and focus groups with over 100 individuals in this age group. Findings provide a rarely seen view inside youths' private spaces--their bedrooms and their social media spaces. In often highly-personal conversations, youth provide in-depth information about how they understand and navigate virginity, romantic relationships, sexual situations, and interpersonal violence. Their discussions of "Netflix and chill," Facebook stalking, and the scorecard script illuminate aspects of romance and sex that may be uniquely characteristic of today's young people. This book is a must-read for parents of adolescents, and promises to be an enjoyable, insightful text for classes about media effects, adolescent development, gender roles, and sexual health.
Small Animal Imaging by John S. Mattoon
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
Key features: Offers a case-based approach to reviewing and interpreting small animal images Covers nearly 200 cases with supporting high-quality images for each case Provides detailed answers for each case, including radiographic findings and diagnosis Written by well-respected experts in the field Presented in an easy-to-ready format, Small Animal Imaging: Self-Assessment Color Review offers a case-based approach to reviewing and interpreting images and developing a differential diagnosis when necessary. Nearly 200 cases are presented, each beginning with the patient's age, gender, breed, and species. The reason the patient was brought to the clinic is discussed along with preliminary examination and diagnostic test findings. Supporting high-quality images are also presented with each case. A separate section presents detailed answers for each case including information on the radiographic findings. Also included are the radiographic diagnosis, comments, and notes on whether further imaging or evaluation is needed. Written by well-respected experts in the field, this book helps practitioners to develop a systematic approach to reviewing images. The easily-navigable text reminds practitioners of the basics in radiography and ultrasound interpretation and diagnosis, making it a quick and convenient reference.
South Seas Encounters by Richard Fulton WSU Alumni '75; Peter Hoffenberg (Editor); Stephen Hancock (Editor); Allison Paynter (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018-06-12
South Seas Encounters examines several key types of encounters between the many-faceted worlds of Oceania, Britain and the United States in the formative nineteenth century. The eleven essays collected in this volume focus not only on the effect of the two powerful, industrialized colonial powers on the cultures of the Pacific, but the effect of those cultures on the Western cultural perceptions of themselves and the wider world, including understanding encounters and exchanges in ways which do not underemphasize the agency and consequences for all participating parties. The essays also provide insights into the causes, unfolding, and consequences for both sides of a series of significant ethnographic, political, cultural, scientific, educational, and social encounters. This volume makes a significant contribution to increasing scholarly interest in Oceania¿s place in British and American nineteenth-century cultural experiences. South Seas Encounters investigates these significant interactions and how they changed the ways that Oceanic, British, and American cultures reflected on themselves and their place in the wider world.
The first and only comprehensive guide to best practices in winter road operations Winter maintenance operations are essential to ensure the safety, mobility, and productivity of transportation systems, especially in cold-weather climates, and responsible agencies are continually challenged to provide a high level of service in a fiscally and environmentally responsible manner. Sustainable Winter Road Operations bridges the knowledge gaps, providing the first up-to-date, authoritative, single-source overview and guide to best practices in winter road operations that considers the triple bottom line of sustainability. With contributions from experts in the field from around the world, this book takes a holistic approach to the subject. The authors address the many negative impacts on regional economies and the environment of poorly planned and inadequate winter road operations, and they make a strong case for the myriad benefits of environmentally sustainable concepts and practices. Best practice applications of materials, processes, equipment, and associated technologies and how they can improve the effectiveness and efficiency of winter operations, optimize materials usage, and minimize cost, corrosion, and environmental impacts are all covered in depth. Provides the first up-to-date, authoritative and comprehensive overview of best practices in sustainable winter road operations currently in use around the world Covers materials, processes, equipment, and associated technologies for sustainable winter road operations Brings together contributions by an international all-star team of experts with extensive experience in designing, implementing, and managing sustainable winter road operations Designed to bring professionals involved in transportation and highway maintenance and control up to speed with current best practice Sustainable Winter Road Operations is essential reading for maintenance professionals dealing with snow and ice control operations on highways, motorways and local roads. It is a valuable source of information and guidance for decision makers, researchers, and engineers in transportation engineering involved in transportation and highway maintenance. And it is an ideal textbook for advanced-level courses in transportation engineering.
Teaching Strategies by Donald C. Orlich, Science Mathematics Engineering Education Center; Robert Harder; Michael S. Trevisan; Abbie Brown; Darcy Miller
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
TEACHING STRATEGIES: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE INSTRUCTION, now in its eleventh edition, gives you practical, applied help with commonly used classroom teaching strategies and tactics. Ideal if you are studying education or involved in a site-based teacher education program, the book focuses on topics such as lesson planning, questioning, and small-group and cooperative-learning strategies. The new edition maintains the book's solid coverage, while incorporating new and expanded material on technology integration planning, English Language Learner instruction, and proactive classroom management, as well as an up-to-date discussion of teaching students with disabilities and differentiated instruction. The text is available with the digital learning solution MindTap, which features an integrated e-portfolio, videos of classroom teaching situations, quizzes, professional resources, scenario activities, and other tools to help you succeed in the course and beyond.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks CC72.4 .T44 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Is wealth inequality a universal feature of human societies, or did early peoples live an egalitarian existence? How did inequality develop before the modern era? Did inequalities in wealth increase as people settled into a way of life dominated by farming and herding? Why in general do such disparities increase, and how recent are the high levels of wealth inequality now experienced in many developed nations? How can archaeologists tell? Ten Thousand Years of Inequality addresses these and other questions by presenting the first set of consistent quantitative measurements of ancient wealth inequality. The authors are archaeologists who have adapted the Gini index, a statistical measure of wealth distribution often used by economists to measure contemporary inequality, and applied it to house-size distributions over time and around the world. Clear descriptions of methods and assumptions serve as a model for other archaeologists and historians who want to document past patterns of wealth disparity. The chapters cover a variety of ancient cases, including early hunter-gatherers, farmer villages, and agrarian states and empires. The final chapter synthesizes and compares the results. Among the new and notable outcomes, the authors report a systematic difference between higher levels of inequality in ancient Old World societies and lower inequality in their New World counterparts. For the first time, archaeology allows humanity's deep past to provide an account of the early manifestations of wealth inequality around the world. Contributors Nicholas Ames Alleen Betzenhauser Amy Bogaard Samuel Bowles Meredith S. Chesson Abhijit Dandekar Timothy J. Dennehy Robert D. Drennan Laura J. Ellyson Deniz Enverova Ronald K. Faulseit Gary M. Feinman Mattia Fochesato Thomas A. Foor Vishwas D. Gogte Timothy A. Kohler Ian Kuijt Chapurukha M. Kusimba Mary-Margaret Murphy Linda Nicholas Rahul C. Oka Matthew Pailes Christian E. Peterson Anna Marie Prentiss Michael E. Smith Elizabeth Stone Amy Styring Jade Whitlam
This book presents new studies dealing with the attempts made by the scientists and practitioners to address contemporary issues in pavement engineering such as aging and modification of asphalt binders, performance evaluation of warm mix asphalt, and mechanical-based pavement structure analysis, etc.. Asphalt binder and mixture have been widely used to construct flexible pavements. Mechanical and Chemical characterizations of asphalt materials and integration of these properties into pavement structures and distresses analysis are of great importance to design a sustainable flexible pavement. This book includes discusses and new results dealing with these issues. Papers were selected from the 5th GeoChina International Conference 2018 - Civil Infrastructures Confronting Severe Weathers and Climate Changes: From Failure to Sustainability, held on July 23 to 25, 2018 in HangZhou, China.
Time, Consciousness and Writing by Robert Eddy WSU Pullman Department of English; Theo Malekin
Publication Date: 2018-11-15
Time, Consciousness and Writing brings together a collection of critical reflections on Peter Malekin's "model of the mind," which he saw as a crucial yet often neglected aspect of critical theory in relation to theatre, literature and the arts. The volume begins with a selection of Peter Malekin's own writings that lay out his critique of western culture, its overstated claims to universal competence and validity, and lays out an alternative view of consciousness that draws partly on Asian traditions and partly on underground traditions from the west. The essays that follow, commissioned for this volume, critically examine Malekin's ideas, drawing out their implications in a variety of contexts including theatre, liturgical performance, poetry and literature. The book ends with an assessment of future prospects opened by this work.
Toddlers Parents and Culture by Maria A. Gartstein WSU Pullman Department of Psychology; Samuel P. Putnam
Publication Date: 2018-11-27
One doesn't have to travel extensively to realize that there are intriguing differences in the ways in which people from different cultures tend to behave. Gartstein and Putnam explore whether these differences are shaped during the early years of life, at the moment when children are just beginning to understand how, when, and why they should express some emotions, and not others. Based on the findings of the Joint Effort Toddler Temperament Consortium (JETTC), which asked parents from 14 different countries multiple questions regarding their main goals and techniques for raising children to be successful in their culture, Gartstein and Putnam analyze how children's characteristics (both normative and problematic) are shaped by different cultural environments. Drawing from insights in anthropology, sociology, and developmental psychology, the book explores the full spectrum of human experience, from broad sets of values and concerns that differentiate populations down to the intimate details of parent-child relationships. The results reveal a complex web of interrelations among societal ideals, parental attempts to fulfill them, and the ways their children manifest these efforts. In doing so, they provide a revealing look at how families raise their young children around the world. Toddlers, Parents, and Culture will be of great interest to students and scholars in temperament, cross-cultural psychology, parenting and socioemotional development in early childhood, as well as professionals in early education, child mental health, and behavioral pediatrics.