The Adderall Empire by Andrew K. Smith, Alumni '14
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Is there life after Adderall?Andrew K. Smith s hooligan pranks and social impulsiveness paints a picture of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) before medication, and it would seem that the little orange pills could cure his mischief. But readers will furrow their brows as they enter The Adderall Empire, traveling with the author through the chemically conflicting mind states. Is working-memory training a feasible alternative? Readers will beg for the answer, hoping Andrew stops getting into trouble before his parents disown him or he winds up in jail. Again.Everyone is curious about Adderall. Young people abuse it, adults are addicted to it, teachers wish their students would take it, and parents consider prescriptions for their children. The Adderall Empire gives honest evidence of how working-memory training can change the life of a person with ADHD and provides readers with information about an alternative to ADHD prescriptions.Find out what it s like to exit the Empire "
American Indian Health and Nursing by Margaret P. Moss, Alumni '81
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
The average life expectancy of a male born on the Pine Ridge reservation in South Dakota today is 40 years oldothe lowest life expectancy of all peoples not only in the U.S. but also in the entire Western Hemisphere. Written by and for nurses, this is the first text to focus exclusively on American Indian health and nursing. It addresses the profound disparities in policy, health care law, and health outcomes that affect American Indians, and describes how these disparities, bound into the cultural, environmental, historical, and geopolitical fabric of American Indian society, are responsible for the marked lack of wellbeing of American Indians. American Indian nurse authors, natives of nine unique American Indian cultures, address the four domains of healthophysical, mental, spiritual, and emotional--within each region to underscore the many stunning disparities of opportunity for health and wellbeing within the American Indian culture as opposed to those of "Anglo" culture. In an era of cultural competency, these expert nurse authors bring awareness about what is perhaps the least understood minority population in the U.S. The text covers the history of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. Included are relevant journal articles, historical reports, interviews with tribal health officials, and case studies. The book addresses issues surrounding American Indian nursing and nursing education, and health care within nine unique American Indian cultural populations. Also discussed are the health care needs of American Indians living in urban areas. Additionally, the book examines the future of American Indian Nursing in regard to the Affordable Care Act. Key Features: Focuses exclusively on American Indian health and nursingothe first book to do so Written by predominately American Indian nurses Covers four domains of health: physical, mental, spiritual and emotional Highlights nine specific cultural areas of Indian country, each with its own unique history and context Includes chapter objectives, end-of-chapter review questions, and case studies
Annual Perspectives in Mathematics Education 2014: Using Research to Improve Instruction by Amy Roth McDuffie
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2015-04-30
Research has long been recognized as a key component to building effective mathematics education for all grades. This 2014 issue of Annual Perspectives in Mathematics Education (APME) focuses on the core of NCTM's mission since its inception: supporting teachers to improve instruction through research-based approaches. The 24 chapters, written by leading mathematics educators and researchers, are grouped into five topic areas: Change; Problem Solving; Reasoning, Explaining, and Discourse; Seeing Structure and Generalizing; and Assessment for Teaching and Learning.
Anthony and Cleopatra by William Shakespeare; Michael Delahoyde, WSU Pullman English
Publication Date: 2015-09-13
Washington State University professor of English and Humanities Dr. Michael Delahoyde offers a compelling new edition of Shakespeare's romantic political tragedy Anthony and Cleopatra, which not only properly adds the "h" back to Anthony - Shakespeare's clear intention - but also restores the play to the context in which it was written: the Elizabethan court milieu. A must for lovers of Shakespeare and anyone who cannot resist an intriguing literary whodunnit.
Tourism, travel and leisure (TTL) are highly diverse and fragmented industries. Alliances and partnerships can be used as a framework providing small and medium-sized tourism enterprises (which do not possess adequate resources or organizational capabilities) with opportunities to operate in a competitive business environment. This book will: (i) present the theoretical and analytical frameworks underlying business co-operation and alliances; (ii) analyse the main issues and aspects related to business partnerships; (iii) investigate the contribution of these alliances in the field of management and marketing of TTL businesses; (iv) examine and highlight the factors associated with their success and/or influencing the successful operations of such alliances at business and destination levels; (v) explore their adoption, application and management in various contexts of TTL businesses; and (vi) present and discuss case studies illustrating the various issues and aspects. The volume will conclude by providing management and marketing implications and recommendations for tourism business, destination managers and local planners to enable them to successfully operate such alliances.
Within most libraries in the United States today there is an information professional who has become the 'go-to' person for grasping and grappling with copyright questions. While not an attorney, this librarian has developed an awareness and understanding of copyright law, legislation and practice as they relate to a wide variety of library activities. This practical handbook provides a broad overview of copyright librarianship. It is written for information professionals whose area of expertise, specialization or job it is to inform and educate others about the ethical use and best practices surrounding copyrighted materials It is written about the person with solid analytical skills and the ability to adapt and adjust in a rapidly changing environment; someone who can serve as an intermediary between information producers and consumers; someone who is knowledgeable about the law and providing access to information; someone who is well positioned within an organization to answer questions about copyright and provide reliable, accurate, and relevant answers, information, assistance, and guidance when needed. In short: a copyright librarian. Thorough and up-to-date look at an emerging field of specialization within libraries Provides an overview of job opportunities available and how to prepare for these jobs Presents a range of useful current awareness and professional development resources and tools for the new, prospective, and working professional Addresses common misperceptions about copyright librarians
Corrections: The Essentials, is a comprehensive, yet compact version of corrections by two esteemed authors who are experts in the field. The text addresses the most important topics in corrections in a shorter and more cost-effective format. The Second Edition continues to cover the history, development, and future of corrections as well as provides new coverage of Ethics and the Death Penalty. The book's brevity makes it an excellent core textbook that can easily be supplemented with additional reading materials.
This course-tested textbook describes the design and implementation of operating systems, and applies it to the MTX operating system, a Unix-like system designed for Intel x86 based PCs. Written in an evolutional style, theoretical and practical aspects of operating systems are presented as the design and implementation of a complete operating system is demonstrated. Throughout the text, complete source code and working sample systems are used to exhibit the techniques discussed. The book contains many new materials on the design and use of parallel algorithms in SMP. Complete coverage on booting an operating system is included, as well as, extending the process model to implement threads support in the MTX kernel, an init program for system startup and a sh program for executing user commands. Intended for technically oriented operating systems courses that emphasize both theory and practice, the book is also suitable for self-study.
A Floating Woman by Leonard Orr, WSU Vancouver English
Publication Date: 2015-11-01
Leonard Orr's A Floating Woman is about the arc of connection and separation, the light of intimacy and the dark of absence, a journey that cannot be described but only felt.
A Formative Decade by Jason Knirck, Alumni ’96 MA, ’00 PhD
Publication Date: 2015-03-15
This pioneering collection focuses on the politics and economics of the island of Ireland in the aftermath of the struggle for Independence Overturns traditional thinking on the formation of the Irish state, the birth of democracy and national identity in modern Ireland Fascinating studies of the Shannon hydro-electric scheme, Free State election posters and the birth of the Senate In the aftermath of the Great War, Europe's empires crumbled and a patchwork of new nation states emerged across the continent. As the map of Europe was being redrawn after 1918, Ireland too stood on the threshold of great change. The 1920s were a formative decade for Ireland, both north and south of the border, but is all too often dismissed as one of stagnation. In contract, the contributors to this timely collection provide a refreshingly alternative view of such events as the Shannon hydro-electric scheme, the workings of the Church of Ireland and of the Senate - all serving to reignite the debate about how modern Ireland was defined and how statehood collided with national identities and allegiances. The relationship between policy and the emerging state is also explored in chapters focusing on Free State election posters, loyalty and treason, the 1923 Land Act, the Irish Farmers' Party and parliamentary democracy. Other dynamic contributions look at how economic policy shaped the lives of ordinary Irish citizens and continue to have an impact today, long after Ireland won her struggle for independence.
Gender Expertise in Public Policy by Season Hoard, WSU Pullman School of Politics, Philosophy and Public Affairs and Division of Governmental Studies and Services
Publication Date: 2015-04-28
Through a selection of in-depth interviews, a survey of experts working with the European Union and United Nations, and Qualitative Comparative Analysis of policy debates, this text rethinks our understanding of gender expertise and the circumstances that lead to expert success in public policy.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks G155.7 .G87 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-20
As the field of tourism and hospitality experiences maturity and scientific sophistication, researchers need to fully understand the breadth and depth of existing scales that help explain, understand, monitor, and predict not only behaviour but also consequences of such behaviour as a function of demand and supply interactions in the field. By introducing the importance of measurement and scales and providing groupings of existing scales The Handbook of Scales in Tourism and Hospitality Research serves as the state of the art reference book in the field of tourism, hospitality and allied fields such leisure, recreation, and services management.
Discover ancient rituals and plant lore that formed the foundations for medicine, botany, and modern agriculture. For centuries, peasants leaped over bonfires with accompaniment of song, ale and courtship, in spring, mid-summer and fall, all to combat smut, rust, darnel, and rinderpest. During these times, rituals for protection of crops and livestock were the primary basis of social life and cohesion, and these rituals contributed to a vigorous plant lore that later transmuted into the foundations of medicine, botany, and modern agriculture.
History of the Americas, 1880-1981 by Yvonne Berliner, WSU Pullman History
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Drive critical, engaged, high level learning and skills. Developed with the IB, this Course Book equips learners to analyze and articulate complex historical concepts and contexts, strengthening performance and potential. Enabling advanced understanding, the student-centred approach actively builds, refines and perfects higher level skills. - Cover the new syllabus in the right level of depth, with rich, thorough subject content from across the Americas for topics 10-17 for Paper 3 - Developed directly the with IB for the new syllabus first examined 2017 - Truly engage learners with topical, relevant material that convincingly connects learning with the modern, global world - Streamline your planning, with a clear and thorough structure helping you logically progress through the syllabus - Build the advanced-level skills learners need for Paper 3, with the student-led approach driving active skills development and strengthening exam performance - Integrate Approaches to learning with ATLs like thinking, communication, research and social skills built directly into learning - Help learners think critically about improving performance with extensive examiner insight and samples based on the latest exam format - Build an advanced level, thematic understanding with fully integrated Global Contexts, Key Concepts and TOK - Also available as an Online Course Book
A Horse Named Sugar by Jillian Connolly, Alumni '08
Publication Date: 2015-05-05
Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be truly great at something? To touch the hearts of everyone you meet and to overcome all odds to be successful? This is an enchanting and true story about a very beautiful and special horse named Sugar, who tackles each challenge that comes along the way to become a professional barrel racing horse. Never give up on your dreams, because they just might come true!
How Plants Work brings the stranger-than-fiction science of the plant world to vivid life! It explains how plants tell time, how they move to follow the sun and capture food, and why they change color. Linda Chalker-Scott, of the popular blog The Garden Professors, uncovers these and other fascinating mysteries in this engaging and accessible introduction to plant physiology. By revealing the science behind what plants do every day, this book arms you with information that will change the way you garden. You'll learn how to fertilize and prune more effectively, how to weed less than you ever have, and how to determine which garden products are worth your time and money.
Humor in the Classroom provides practical, research-based answers to questions that educational researchers and language teachers might have about the social and cognitive benefits that humor and language play afford in classroom discourse and additional language learning. The book considers the ways in which humor, language play, and creativity can construct new possibilities for classroom identity, critique prevailing norms, and reconfigure particular relations of power. Humor in the Classroom encourages educational researchers and language teachers to take a fresh look at the workings of humor in today's linguistically diverse classrooms and makes the argument for its role in building a stronger foundation for studies of classroom discourse, theories of additional language development, and approaches to language pedagogy.
Many students at Pullman's newly opened Agricultural College, Experimental Station and School of Science of the State of Washington were simply grateful for the opportunity to earn a college degree, but they received another benefit. Despite an international trend toward sequestering professors, the country¿s small institutions provided personal attention. From 1893 to 1916, third president Enoch A. Bryan held to that philosophy, believing the best education came through experiences. He deliberately hired ¿active learning¿ advocates who were willing to be accessible, and campus spirit and involvement--whether in music, sports, politics, or debate--became an essential part of learning. As they participated in mascot antics, the Greek system, upheavals in student body politics, and the 1936 strike, the young scholars also deeply influenced faculty and administrators. "Instilling Spirit" traces Washington State University¿s early decades, offering a unique perspective on the state college experience.
Intellectual Property Law and Interactive Media by Edward Lee Lamoureux, Alumni Speech Communication '80
Publication Date: 2015-11-01
Now in its second edition, this book offers a comprehensive treatment of intellectual property law and interactive media. Having been thoroughly updated, this edition captures emerging trends and issues in a shifting landscape (including international contexts and games/virtual worlds), legislative and judicial history, and the efforts to balance public and private interests. It explains the details relating to procedural issues in connection with each of the varied and unique forms of intellectual property management (copyright, patent, open source/open publishing, trademark, trade secrets, personal torts -right of publicity, privacy, defamation - and digital rights management) and registration. Each chapter now includes a section that clearly introduces the fundamentals of the IP law aspect highlighted in the chapter. Each chapter also includes a new section dedicated to emerging Issues. Case coverage is revised in two important ways: the bulk of the case analyses have been moved to a second volume, Case Analyses for Intellectual Property Law and New Media (Baron, Lamoureux, and Stewart); and references to cases in the primary text direct readers to pertinent sections in the new book. The coverage allows this second edition to serve as an excellent resource for undergraduates studying interactive media, as well as being a primer for first year IP law students, a handbook for entrepreneurs, a guidebook for general lawyers to assist in referrals, and an interesting read for those simply curious about the field. The books are supplemented by freeforafee.com, a blog providing textual updates, online links to bibliographic materials, and extensive resource aggregation. Learning objectives for each chapter and a glossary of key terms is provided within the texts.
Introduction to Political Psychology by Martha L. Cottam, WSU Pullman School of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs
Publication Date: 2015-08-26
This comprehensive, user-friendly introductory textbook to political psychology explores the psychological origins of political behavior. The authors introduce readers to a broad range of theories, concepts, and case studies of political activity to illustrate that behavior. The book examines many patterns of political behaviors, including leadership, group behavior, voting, media effects, race, ethnicity, nationalism, social movements, terrorism, war, and genocide. It explores some of the most horrific things people do to each other, as well as how to prevent and resolve conflict - and how to recover from it. The book contains numerous features to enhance understanding, including text boxes highlighting current and historical events to help students see the connection between the world around them and the concepts they are learning. Different research methodologies used in the discipline are employed, such as experimentation and content analysis. The third edition of the book has two new chapters, one on the media, and one on social movements. This accessible and engaging introductory textbook is suitable as a primary text on a range of upper-level courses in political psychology, political behavior, and related fields, including policymaking.
Living Buddhism by Julia Cassaniti
Publication Date: 2015-10-27
In Living Buddhism, Julia Cassaniti explores Buddhist ideas of impermanence, nonattachment, and intention as they are translated into everyday practice in contemporary Thailand. Although most lay people find these philosophical concepts difficult to grasp, Cassaniti shows that people do in fact make an effort to comprehend them and integrate them as guides for their everyday lives. In doing so, she makes a convincing case that complex philosophical concepts are not the sole property of religious specialists and that ordinary lay Buddhists find in them a means for dealing with life's difficulties. More broadly, the book speaks to the ways that culturally informed ideas are part of the psychological processes that we all use to make sense of the world around us. In an approachable first-person narrative style that combines interview and participant-observation material gathered over the course of two years in the community, Cassaniti shows how Buddhist ideas are understood, interrelated, and reinforced through secular and religious practices in everyday life. She compares the emotional experiences of Buddhist villagers with religious and cultural practices in a nearby Christian village. Living Buddhism highlights the importance of change, calmness (as captured in the Thai phrase jai yen, or a cool heart), and karma; Cassaniti's narrative untangles the Thai villagers feelings and problems and the solutions they seek."
The Long Place by Luis Montano, Alumni '76 MFA
Publication Date: 2015-06-15
A book of poetry, written by a native of New Mexico who was raised near Santa Rosa.
Meaning to Go to the Origin in Some Way by Linda Russo
Publication Date: 2015-03-27
Poetry. Environmental Studies. The poems in MEANING TO GO TO THE ORIGIN IN SOME WAY arise amidst those remnants, historical and everyday, that redefine what we know to be underfoot in the places we live. From the Rose Creek Preserve to Koppel Farm Community Garden to a backyard on Pioneer Hill—and in many spaces in between—these poems suggest that, as ecologically- attuned 21st century inhabitants, we need to not only understand the complex of relationships—as scientists help us do—but also to listen deeply for meanings at every level with a various awareness of what lives and thrives.
My Years in the Information Technology Trenches, from Data Processing to Information Technology by Bruce Johnson, Alumni ’59, ’62 MS
Publication Date: 2015-10-09
Showing intimate involvement in the world of computers since 1956, this work sets down experiences, observations, and adventures of one participant from these almost 60 years of information technology development. It shows the importance of a knack for and insight into computer operation including technical distance and computer system flexibility. Because the value of understanding technology is all too often not made clear to today's students and managers at all levels they tend to lack the ambition and interest in technical subjects to become qualified to make decisions regarding technology. One of the goals of My Years is to help overcome this phenomena by showing the importance of technology and related subjects and to show that they can be fun, exciting, interesting, while occasionally being terrifying. Subjects include: Ingenuity/insight into computer software and hardware operation, being a curmudgeon as well as a CRUDmudgeon (showing the importance of the data cycle: Create, Read, Update, and Delete), the process of obtaining a PhD in order to be able to teach technology, as well as technical distance, and (in)flexible systems.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks PQ1476.G4 A3 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Oton de Granson, who was slain in a duel in 1397, was first acknowledged for his poetry by Geoffrey Chaucer, who called him the flour of hem that make in Fraunce the flower of those that write poetry in France]. Granson was a knight, diplomat, and poet, who lived an active, almost storybook life at or near the center of many of the most important events in the last half of the fourteenth century. He was well known to the major poets of his time in France and England, and was almost certainly a personal friend to both Chaucer and Eustache Deschamps. Granson was among the first and most successful of the poets who were also courtiers. Born to the highest nobility in his native Savoy, he was well known in the courts of both France and England, and he spent the better part of his career in the service of the English king. As one who moved in both a French-speaking and an English-speaking world, he occupies a unique place in the literary culture of his time. And yet Granson's reputation and importance were restored only in modern times, primarily through the efforts of Arthur Piaget and Joan Grenier-Winther. Both of their editions, however, are destined for readers of French. This new translation makes Granson's poetry available again to English readers.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks D767 .M94 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-04
About the Allies' victory in the Pacific in WWII, it goes almost without question that Japan's defeat was inevitable in the face of overwhelming American military might and economic power. But the outcome, Michael W. Myers contends, was actually anything but inevitable. This book is Myers's thorough and deeply informed explanation of how contingent the "foregone conclusion" of the war in the Pacific really was. However disproportionate their respective resources, both Japan and the Allied forces confronted significant obstacles to ultimate victory. One the two sides shared, Myers shows, was the lack of a single individual with the knowledge, vision, and authority to formulate and implement effective strategy. Both exercised leadership by committee, and Myers cogently explains how this contributed to the contingent nature of the conflict. A remarkable exercise in logical methods of strategic thinking, his book analyzes decisive campaigns in the Pacific War, examining the economic and strategic challenges that both sides faced and had to overcome to achieve victory. Japan, for instance, had two goals going into the war: to expand the boundaries of what they termed the "Greater East Asia Co-Prosperity Sphere" and to end their long and frustrating war in China. These goals, as Myers shows us, had unforeseen and devastating logistical and strategic consequences. But the United States faced similar problems—as well as other hurdles specific to a nation not yet on full war footing. Overturning conventional historiography, The Pacific War and Contingent Victory clarifies the proper relationship between freedom and determinism in historical thinking. A compelling retelling of the Pacific war that might easily have been, the book offers historical lessons in thinking about contemporary American foreign policy and American exceptionalism—most saliently about the dangers of the presumption of American ascendancy.
Physics by Matthew McCluskey, WSU Pullman Department of Physics and Astronomy
Publication Date: 2015-05-15
Physics: A Problem Solving Approach clears the confusion experienced by students, especially when trying to solve problems. With crystal clarity, this concise text uses simple, easy-to-follow explanations to teach essential physics concepts. It is a valuable resource for a first semester, algebra-based college physics course.Topics include: Motion and forces; Work and energy; Momentum; Rotation; Oscillations and waves; Fluids; Thermodynamics.
Quantity Discounts: An Overview and Practical Guide for Buyers and Sellers by Charles Munson
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
Sellers commonly provide price discounts for large orders; in fact, quantity discounts have existed as ubiquitous tools of commerce for hundreds of years. In some industries today, quantity discounts are more common than not in business-to-business transactions. For example, large discount retailers demand price breaks from their suppliers, and they typically then pass on a portion of the savings to final consumers. Practitioners face the issue from two sides. For sellers, what form of quantity discounts makes the most sense, and how should the discounts be priced? What role should quantity discounts play in the larger contract negotiation scheme? For buyers, how many units should be ordered when faced with a quantity discount schedule? And under what conditions should a buyer take the lead and attempt to negotiate a discount schedule from its supplier?
In this monograph, the authors critically review the existing quantity discount literature — particularly emphasizing the differences between historical academic focus and practical applications, as well as identifying areas that are still under-developed. They provide, in one location, the equations and major solution algorithms for the most popular and relevant quantity discount scenarios from both the buyer's and seller's perspectives.
Quinoa is an ancient grain that has grown in popularity in recent years. It has been known as a good source of both protein and fiber. As the demand for quinoa increases a comprehensive and up-to-date reference on the biology and production of the crop is essential. Quinoa: Improvement and Sustainable Production brings together authors from around the world to provide a complete assessment of the current state of global quinoa research and production. Topics covered include quinoa history and culture, genomics and breeding, agronomy, nutrition, marketing, and end-uses. The book focuses in particular on the emerging role of quinoa in providing increased food security to smallholder farmers and communities throughout the world. Quinoa will interest quinoa researchers, producers, crop scientists, agronomists, and plant geneticists, as well as advanced students working with this important grain.
Raising Kids with Love, Honor, and Respect by Edie Jones, Alumni '60
Publication Date: 2015-02-12
Raising Kids With Love, Honor, and Respect: Recipes for Success is the manual kids don't come with. Like the time honored Betty Crocker Cookbook, it is full of down to earth, basic ideas to fall back on over and over. Using essential ingredients to find solutions to everyday challenges will lead to savoring your time with any child. Instead of "walking on egg shells" in fear of making a mistake, you will learn to adjust the temperature of the situation to result in calm, relaxed interactions. When relationships are seasoned with unconditional love and peppered with lots of honor and respect, the results will amaze and delight, creating the piéce de résistance of parenting experiences.
The Science of Grapevines: Anatomy and Physiology is an introduction to the physical structure of the grapevine, its various organs, their functions and their interactions with the environment. Beginning with a brief overview of the botanical classification (including an introduction to the concepts of species, cultivars, clones, and rootstocks), plant morphology and anatomy, and growth cycles of grapevines, The Science of Grapevines covers the basic concepts in growth and development, water relations, photosynthesis and respiration, mineral uptake and utilization, and carbon partitioning. These concepts are put to use to understand plant-environment interactions including canopy dynamics, yield formation, and fruit composition, and concludes with an introduction to stress physiology, including water stress (drought and flooding), nutrient deficiency and excess, extreme temperatures (heat and cold), and the impact and response to of other organisms. Based on the author's years of teaching grapevine anatomy as well as his research experience with grapevines and practical experience growing grapes, this book provides an important guide to understanding the entire plant. Chapter 7 broken into two chapters, now "Environmental Constraints and Stress Physiology and Chapter 8 "Living with Other Organisms" to better reflect specific concepts Integration of new research results including: Latest research on implementing drip irrigation to maximize sugar accumulation within grapes Effect of drought stress on grapevine's hydraulic system and options for optimum plant maintenance in drought conditions The recently discovered plant hormone - strigolactones - and their contribution of apical dominance that has suddenly outdated dogma on apical dominance control Chapter summaries added Key literature references missed in the first edition as well as references to research completed since the 1e publication will be added
Sex Radical Cinema by Carol Siegel, WSU Vancouver English, CCGRS, Arts & Sciences
Publication Date: 2015-11-18
In this provocative study of cinematic and televisual representations of "sex radicalism," Carol Siegel explores how representations of sexually explicit content on film have shaped American cultural visions of sex and sexual politics in the 21st century. Siegel distinguishes between a liberal approach to visual representations, which has over-emphasized normative equal opportunity while undervaluing our distinctive erotic selves, and a radical approach to visual representation, which portrays forbidden sexualities and desires. She illustrates how visual media participates in and even drives political policies related to pedophilia, prostitution, interracial relationships, and war. By examining such popular film and television shows as Mystic River, The Wire, Fifty Shades of Grey, Batman Returns, and the HBO hits, Sex and the City and Girls, Siegel takes the discussion of radical sex in the movies out of the margins of political discussions and puts it in the center, where, she argues, it has belonged all along.
Shaping the Public Good by Sue Armitage, Emeriti Faculty History
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2015-10-15
In this lively survey of women as history-makers, Sue Armitage explores the story of women's lives from the earliest inhabitants to yesterday's newest migrants, told within the larger framework of the changing Pacific Northwest -- Washington, Oregon, Idaho, western Montana, and British Columbia. Showcasing both the variety and commonality of women's activities and values, Armitage provides an ongoing context for women's lives and shows how their activism on behalf of families and communities has made our regional history. Shaping the Public Good's narrative encompasses women of all races and ethnicities -- the famous, the forgotten, and the women in between -- and provides an accessible introduction for general readers and scholars alike.
Soil Physics with Python by Gaylon S. Campbell, WSU Crop and Soil Sciences Retiree
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
This innovative study presents concepts and problems in soil physics, and provides solutions using original computer programs. It provides a close examination of physical environments of soil, including an analysis of the movement of heat, water and gases. The authors employ the programminglanguage Python, which is now widely used for numerical problem solving in the sciences. In contrast to the majority of the literature on soil physics, this text focuses on solving, not deriving, differential equations for transport. Using numerical procedures to solve differential equations allowsthe solution of quite difficult problems with fairly simple mathematical tools. Numerical methods convert differential into algebraic equations, which can be solved using conventional methods of linear algebra. Each chapter introduces a soil physics concept, and proceeds to develop computer programsto solve the equations and illustrate the points made in the discussion.Problems at the end of each chapter help the reader practise using the concepts introduced. The text is suitable for advanced undergraduates, graduates and researchers of soil physics. It employs an open source philosophy where computer code is presented, explained and discussed, and provides thereader with a full understanding of the solutions. Once mastered, the code can be adapted and expanded for the user's own models, fostering further developments. The Python tools provide a simple syntax, Object Oriented Programming techniques, powerful mathematical and numerical tools, and a userfriendly environment.
Still Time by Jean Hegland, Alumni '79
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
From the author of Into the Forest, a moving novel about memory, Shakespeare's green worlds, and the power of reconciliation. Until John Wilson met the warm, wise woman who became his fourth wife, the object of his most intense devotion had always been the work of William Shakespeare. From his feat of memorizing Romeo and Juliet and half a dozen other plays as a student to his evangelical zeal as a professor, John's faith in the Bard has shaped his life. But now his mental powers have been diminished by dementia, and his wife has reluctantly moved him to a residential care facility. Even there, as he struggles to understand what's going on around him, John's knowledge of the plays helps him make sense of his fractured world. Yet, when his only child, Miranda--with whom he has not spoken since a devastating misunderstanding a decade ago--comes to visit, John begins to question some of his deepest convictions. In his devotion to Shakespeare, did he lose his way? Did he wrong the child who wronged him? The story of an imperfect father and a wounded daughter's efforts to achieve some authentic connection even now, Still Time celebrates redemption and the gift of second chances. It is that rare novel that ends on a resounding note of hope, reminding us that there is always time to live fully and love deeply, so long as we are alive.
Strategic Public Relations Management by Erica Weintraub Austin; Bruce E. Pinkleton
Publication Date: 2015-02-13
Strategic Public Relations Management features an applied approach to evidence-based, strategic public relations management. It emphasizes understanding audiences through research and demonstrates success through quantitative evaluation methods. The volume presents a scientific approach that helps future and current practitioners understand and communicate the value of public relations to others, using performance metrics to demonstrate return on investment. New to the third edition: New examples on the effective use of digital communication and online research tools; Updated guidance on researching using digital tools and social media; New examples that provide a more accessible pathway to real-world application. In addition to these new features, the book covers: Creating a framework for planning; Up-to-date research tools and how to develop a research plan; Gathering useful data for strategic guidance; Real-world examples that provide readers with realistic cases and situations; Applying theory to professional practice. The book's accessibility will be welcomed by instructors and students with definitions of terms, a how-to approach, and an accessible style of writing throughout.
Supervision Essentials for the Integrative Developmental Model by Brian McNeill; Cal D. Stoltenberg
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Some clinicians use a simple master-apprentice approach to supervision; others utilise tools from their preferred model of psychotherapy. Here, Brian McNeill and Cal Stoltenberg offer a different approach: their integrative developmental model of supervision. Empirically tested, it incorporates elements of cognitive models, schema and skill development, interpersonal influence and social intelligence alongside models of human development to create a truly eclectic and time-tested approach to clinical supervision. Tracking therapists' development across all skill levels and theoretical orientations, the model allows evaluation across domains of practice that include, among others, intervention skills competence, assessment techniques, individual differences, treatment plans and goals and professional ethics. A companion DVD documents the authors' supervisory sessions with real clinical trainees.
Taking Stock of German Studies in the United States by Rachel J. Halverson, WSU Pullman Foreign Languages and Cultures
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
In the last decade, cuts have been made to foreign-language programs in the United States across all levels of education, German programs among them. Despite this, enrollments in German programs have increased modestly. The importance of Germany and its language on the world stage is undeniable: it has demonstrated its strength as a major world economic power, and Germany continues to invest heavily throughout the world. Inspired by the leadership of Helene Zimmer-Loew, longtime Executive Director of the American Association of Teachers of German, the contributors to this volume examine the factors shaping German-language study in the new millennium. They highlight how innovative curricular design, creative applied research, inspirational leadership, inventive professional development, and entrepreneurial approaches have allowed German to weather many of its challenges. This volume will be of interest to scholars, teachers, and students of German who are committed to invigorating its study in the United States. Contributors: Teresa R. Bell, Regina Braker, Kurt Buhanan and Glenn S. Levine, Albrecht Classen, Kathleen Condray, Rachel J. Halverson, Martin Kagel and William Collins Donahue, Lynn Marie Kutch, Aleidine J. Moeller and Sheri Hurlbut, Traci S. O'Brien, Lynne Tatlock, Frank Trommler, Gregory H. Wolf. Rachel J. Halverson is Marianna Merritt and Donald S. Matteson Distinguished Professor in Foreign Languages and Cultures at Washington State University. Carol Anne Costabile-Heming is Professor of German in the Department of World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures at the University of North Texas.
Tales of the Peanut Butter Kid by Elaine Settles (Editor), Alumni '71
Publication Date: 2015-07-22
Set in the northeastern plains of Colorado, these are coming of age tales about a country boy's life on a hard-scrabble farm in Weldon Valley, Colorado in the 1950's and 1960's. These stories will make you laugh and make you cry, they will surprise and uplift you. Hear the strains of an old Gospel hymn being whistled in the dark, and learn how Larry got the nickname, "The Peanut Butter Kid." You will learn a little about farming and a lot about neighborliness. Most of all, you will read this book from cover to cover, and then read it again.
Teaching the Last Backpack Generation by Zachary M. Walker; Kara Rosenblatt; Donald (Don) McMahon
Publication Date: 2015-10-15
Let mobile devices transform teaching and learning Don't just know how to use mobile technology. Know how to use it to transform learning. This refreshingly easy-to-use workbook shows educators how to make mobile devices a natural part of their classrooms by optimizing technology, no matter what the content. Discover: practical mobile device management skills such as how to project and use devices as a whiteboard and tools to capture student responses. fun strategies students will love such as teaching vocabulary using text speak and slang or using a digital assistant (like Siri) instead of writing. helpful resources to enhance professional learning.
To Waltz on a Pin by Zarah Moeggenberg, WSU Pullman English
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Collection of poetry focusing on lost and found love, and the queer lifestyle. Originally a spoken-word poet, Moeggenberg takes to the printed word for something left to one's own interpenetration. Honest. Inspiring. Heart-wrenching.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks SH464.W4 B76 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-01
From beer labels to literary classics like A River Runs Through It, trout fishing is a beloved feature of the iconography of the American West. But as Jen Brown demonstrates in Trout Culture: How Fly Fishing Forever Changed the Rocky Mountain West, the popular conception of Rocky Mountain trout fishing as a quintessential experience of communion with nature belies the sport’s long history of environmental manipulation, engineering, and, ultimately, transformation. A fly-fishing enthusiast herself, Brown places the rise of recreational trout fishing in a local and global context. Globally, she shows how the European sport of fly-fishing came to be a defining, tourist-attracting feature of the expanding 19th-century American West. Locally, she traces the way that the burgeoning fly-fishing tourist industry shaped the environmental, economic, and social development of the Western United States: introducing and stocking favored fish species, eradicating the less favored native "trash fish," changing the courses of waterways, and leading to conflicts with Native Americans’ fishing and territorial rights. Through this analysis, Brown demonstrates that the majestic trout streams often considered a timeless feature of the American West are in fact the product of countless human interventions adding up to a profound manipulation of the Rocky Mountain environment.
We Are Not Amused by Nancy Bell, WSU Pullman English
Publication Date: 2015-03-13
Placing failed humor within the broader category of miscommunication and drawing on a range of conversational data, this text represents the first comprehensive study of failed humor. It provides a framework for classifying the types of failure that can occur, examines the strategies used by both speakers and hearers to avoid and manage failure, and highlights the crucial role humor plays in social identity and relationship management.
Zen and the Art of Dog Walking by G. Ray Sullivan, Alumni ’73
Publication Date: 2015-08-11
This collection of photographs and musings is a simple descriptive journey of how I discovered natural beauty and spiritual peace by walking our dog... of how Bo and I not only discover each other but also the world around us. Bo was an abandoned puppy and I had recently moved to the country with my wife and son. After Bo came to us, while my wife was at work and son at school, the two of us began to take walks through the woods and around the lake that was nearby. I needed the exercise and Bo, being a puppy, needed to burn off energy. As we both began to become aware of our surroundings, the whole process became more enlightening to me and opened a whole new sensory world to Bo. Early on I began to take a camera along mostly to capture Bo being his dog self. I began to become aware of my environment, expanding not only my consciousness but the subject matter for the photographs as well. We are now a few years down the road and have grown together in many ways due in large part to these dog walks that we take together. Bo has taught me many things; I have opened my mind to new thoughts; we have shared many experiences and I see the visual world in a whole new way. So...Bo and I invite you to join us on a simple tale of discovery in the absolute joy and enlightenment of a dog walk. As someone told me after reading the book, “It's what we're all looking for”.