Adopting Kafka as a lens to examine modern concepts in architecture, this book pries open new interpretations in Kafka scholarship. Each of eight chapters takes up an architectural element with which to explore meanings central to both literature and architecture.Stairs function as vertical access but in Kafka's hands become an instrument of science, testing the merit of natural selection. Kafka's doors open and close less to allow passage than to reconcile one psychological interior with the next. Notions of plumbing and hygiene begin to acquire new meaning.The architecture of Mies van der Rohe begins to make more sense, especially his tabula rasa approach to design, signifying less a harsh disdain for site and more a response to a reality in which the ceremony of the stairs had died and was replaced by the pervasive flatness of the modern floor.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks E184.A1 K458 2014
Publication Date: 2014-06-28
Drawing on a range of new media sources, including websites, chat rooms, blogs and forums, this book explores the concerns expressed by advocates of white power, with regard to racial hierarchy and social order, the crisis of traditional American values, the perpetuation of liberal, feminist, elitist ideas, the degradation of the family and the fetishization of black men. What emerges is an understanding of the instruments of power in white supremacist discourses, in which a series of connections are drawn between popular culture, multiculturalism, sexual politics and state functions, all of which are seen to be working against white men.
On Grief, Hope, and Motorcycles: A Diary by Candiya Mann
Publication Date: December 30, 2014
Her boyfriend died the day after returning from the last deployment of his career. On August 22nd, 2012, Candiya’s boyfriend, Mike, set off on a motorcycle road trip with his friends. About an hour later, she got the call. He had been in an accident, and “he didn’t make it.” She was devastated. Starting from scratch, with everything she knew about the world and herself shattered, she began to build a new life. There was no guarantee that she would survive this journey. But she knew, instinctively, that there was no choice but to move forward. To remain still was certain death. And so, like a blind woman, she began to feel her way step-by-step through the darkness. About six months after the accident, she began to write. This writing was an act of desperation, an act of self-preservation, an act of defiance. She wrote essays about life after the accident and posted them to an anonymous blog. It was everything that she couldn’t say out loud, everything that our society wasn’t comfortable hearing. It was the truth of her experience. In her journey towards healing, she continued to ride her own motorcycle. She started out as a beginner and eventually began to take motorcycle road trips herself. Her first solo trip took her from Washington State to California, over 2,000 miles. She wrote up her motorcycle travels in “ride reports”, a type of travel blog posted on motorcycle forums.
This book, On Grief, Hope, and Motorcycles, is a collection of Candiya’s blog posts and ride reports – a diary of sorts – chronicling her journey from despair to peace, redemption, and ultimately, joy. It is an unflinching window into one woman’s path towards healing, including the ugly, painful, awkward, funny, and absurd stories along the way. It is a story of stepping up, again and again, and reaching for life.
Surrounded by the total devastation in Hiroshima in August1945, Lieutenant Nobuto Omoto asked his ragtag group of young boys and old infirm men if they had a home. “Hai, hai, hai” they all replied, so he told them to go. Then he was all alone. How did a happy-go-lucky kid born in Wahiawa, Hawaii in 1918 land in this predicament? This is the story of how Roderick Nobuto Omoto, the happy-go-lucky kid, was sent from Hawaii after high school graduation to attend the premier martial arts school in Japan, Budo Senmon Gakko, Busen. There he lived adjacent to the Dojo and the head kendo instructor’s home and learned kendo. What he learned at Busen served him well when he was drafted into the Japanese army in WWII. This book chronicles his growth in kendo from Busen to after the war, and to the twilight of his life, to where he considered the sword that makes life, Katsu Jin Ken.
Call Number: Animal Health Library SF951 .E557 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-28
Ideal for both practitioners and students, Equine Infectious Diseases, 2nd Edition covers the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of infectious disease in horses. Organized by infectious agent - viral, bacterial and rickettsial, protozoal, and fungal - it includes complete coverage of the individual diseases caused by each type of agent. A section on clinical problems offers effective treatment for conditions such as ocular infections, CNS infections, and skin infections. Preventing and controlling infectious disease outbreaks is addressed with information on epidemiology, biosecurity, antimicrobial therapy, and recognizing foreign equine diseases. Public health considerations presented in nearly every chapter discuss zoonotic disease potential and precautions, as well as other public health concerns. Appendix of infectious disease rule-outs for medical problems shows which symptoms may indicate specific infectious diseases with cross-references to the chapters in which they are discussed. Antimicrobial drug formulary appendix provides information on adjusting dosages on the basis of clinical and toxicologic data. Appendix for vaccination guidelines for horses in North America helps horse traders understand the necessary steps to avoid hefty fines and even license suspensions for non-compliance. The most up-to-date immunization recommendations for horses in North America, organized by foals/weanlings, yearlings, performance horses, pleasure horses, and broodmares. Easy access to references on PubMed links you to the original abstracts, with content updates to keep you aware of new infectious diseases and their impact on people and animals, as well as stunning downloadable images. Full-color photos and illustrations provide clear, accurate representations of clinical appearances of infectious diseases. NEW! The most up-to-date coverage of equine piroplasmosis reflects what experts have learned as more outbreaks of this tick-borne disease have occurred in the US. NEW! Content on EHV-1 keeps you current on the diagnosis and treatment of this potentially serious disease in horses. NEW! Information on how global climate changes are creating more diseases in horses keeps you alert to the possibilities of new and emerging diseases worldwide. NEW! Expanded coverage of biosecurity on farms and in veterinary practices helps you develop an effective biosecurity program and emphasizes how to isolate or eliminate the source of infectious agents. NEW! Additional clinical algorithms offer detailed prevention strategies in addition to diagnostic and therapeutic guidelines. NEW! New appendix of product and diagnostic test kit manufacturers on the companion website, gives you access to the most current products and advances available in equine medicine.
Call Number: Holland Terrell Stacks HM538 .D55 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
The classic survey design reference, updated for the digital age For over two decades, Dillman's classic text on survey design has aided both students and professionals in effectively planning and conducting mail, telephone, and, more recently, Internet surveys. The new edition is thoroughly updated and revised, and covers all aspects of survey research. It features expanded coverage of mobile phones, tablets, and the use of do-it-yourself surveys, and Dillman's unique Tailored Design Method is also thoroughly explained. This invaluable resource is crucial for any researcher seeking to increase response rates and obtain high-quality feedback from survey questions. Consistent with current emphasis on the visual and aural, the new edition is complemented by copious examples within the text and accompanying website. This heavily revised Fourth Edition includes: Strategies and tactics for determining the needs of a given survey, how to design it, and how to effectively administer it How and when to use mail, telephone, and Internet surveys to maximum advantage Proven techniques to increase response rates Guidance on how to obtain high-quality feedback from mail, electronic, and other self-administered surveys Direction on how to construct effective questionnaires, including considerations of layout The effects of sponsorship on the response rates of surveys Use of capabilities provided by newly mass-used media: interactivity, presentation of aural and visual stimuli. The Fourth Edition reintroduces the telephone-including coordinating land and mobile. Grounded in the best research, the book offers practical how-to guidelines and detailed examples for practitioners and students alike.
This combined survey of operant and classical conditioning provides professional and academic readers with an up-to-date, inclusive account of a core field of psychology research, with in-depth coverage of the basic theory, its applications, and current topics including behavioral economics. Provides comprehensive coverage of operant and classical conditioning, relevant fundamental theory, and applications including the latest techniques Features chapters by leading researchers, professionals, and academicians Reviews a range of core literature on conditioning Covers cutting-edge topics such as behavioral economics
Tourists started visiting the American West in sizable numbers after the Union Pacific and Central Pacific Railroads were completed in 1869. Contemporary travel brochures and guidebooks of the 1870s sold tourists on the spectacular scenery of the West, and depicted its cities as extensions of the natural landscape--as well as places where efficient business operations and architectural grandeur prevailed--all now easily accessible thanks to the relative comfort of transcontinental rail travel. Yet as people flocked to western cities, it was the everyday life that captured their interest--the new technologies, incessant clatter, and all the upheaval of modern metropolises. In Manifest Destinations, J. Philip Gruen examines the ways in which tourists experienced Chicago, Denver, Salt Lake City, and San Francisco between 1869 and 1893, a period of rapid urbanization and accelerated modernity. Gruen pays particular attention to the contrast between the way these cities were promoted and the way visitors actually experienced them. Guidebooks made Chicago, Denver, Salt Lake City, and San Francisco seem like picturesque environments sprinkled with civilized buildings and refined people. But Gruen's research in diaries, letters, and traveler narratives shows that tourists were interested--as tourists usually are--in the unexpected encounters that characterize city life. Visitors relished the cities' unfamiliar storefronts and advertising, public transit systems, ethnic diversity, and multiple dwellings in all their urban messiness. They thrust themselves into the noise, danger, and cacophony. Western cities did not always live up to the marketing strategies of guidebooks, but the western cities' fast pace and many novelties held extraordinary appeal to visitors from the East Coast and abroad. In recounting lively anecdotes, and by focusing on tourist perceptions of everyday life in western cities, Gruen shows how these cities developed the economy of tourism to eventually encompass both the urban and the natural West.
How to Publish High-Quality Research by Jeff Joireman; Paul A. M Van Lange
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
In compelling, user-friendly prose, the authors explain how young scholars can create high-quality research that attains a high impact. They describe how to generate strong, original ideas, how to design experiments, and how to organize findings into clear and compelling research articles. They then examine the work of widely-admired scholars who have developed innovative assessment tools and research methods, and researchers whose work has shifted paradigms, bridged disciplines, and challenged long-held assumptions. Throughout, the authors convey an infectious enthusiasm for colleagues whose work has inspired them in their own careers.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks DU627 .T45 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
In the late eighteenth century, Hawai'i's ruling elite employed sophisticated methods for resisting foreign intrusion. By the mid-nineteenth century, however, American missionaries had gained a foothold in the islands. Jennifer Thigpen explains this important shift by focusing on two groups of women: missionary wives and high-ranking Hawaiian women. Examining the enduring and personal exchange between these groups, Thigpen argues that women's relationships became vital to building and maintaining the diplomatic and political alliances that ultimately shaped the islands' political future. Male missionaries' early attempts to Christianize the Hawaiian people were based on racial and gender ideologies brought with them from the mainland, and they did not comprehend the authority of Hawaiian chiefly women in social, political, cultural, and religious matters. It was not until missionary wives and powerful Hawaiian women developed relationships shaped by Hawaiian values and traditions--which situated Americans as guests of their beneficent hosts--that missionaries successfully introduced Christian religious and cultural values. Incisively written and meticulously researched, Thigpen's book sheds new light on American and Hawaiian women's relationships, illustrating how they ultimately provided a foundation for American power in the Pacific and hastened the colonization of the Hawaiian nation.
Soft layers of moss and pine needles carpet the ground as dappled sunlight or misty rain filters through the forest canopy¿s branches. Western Washington woodlands can be enchanting. Fortunately these magical places are abundant, covering half the state¿s soil. Affording beauty and recreation as well as economic value, they endure as one of the area¿s most important natural assets.
In "Native Trees of Western Washington," Washington State University¿s Kevin Zobrist examines regional indigenous trees from a forestry specialist¿s unique perspective. He explains basic tree physiology and a key part of their ecology¿forest stand dynamics. He groups distinctive varieties into sections, describing common lowland conifers and broadleaved trees, high-elevation species found in the Olympic Mountains and western side of the Cascades, and finally, those with a very limited natural range and small, isolated populations. Numerous full-color photographs illustrate key traits.
In addition, Zobrist discusses notable features, offering information about where to find particular species. He includes brief lists of some common human uses, citing Native American medicines, food, and materials, as well as commercial utilization from the time of European settlement to the present day. The result is a delightful and enlightening exploration of western Washington timberlands.
Three Decades of Engendering History by Linda Heidenreich (Editor); Antonia I. Castaneda; Luz María Gordillo (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2014-12-05
Three Decades of Engendering History collects ten of Antonia I. Castañeda’s best articles, including the widely circulated article #147;Engendering the History of Alta California, 1769#150;1848,” in which Castañeda took a direct and honest look at sex and gender relations in colonial California, exposing stories of violence against women as well as stories of survival and resistance. Other articles included are the prize-winning #147;Women of Color and the Rewriting of Western History,” and two recent articles, #147;Lullabies y Canciones de Cuna” and #147;La Despedida.” The latter two represent Castañeda’s most recent work excavating, mapping, and bringing forth the long and strong post-WWII history of Tejanas. Finally, the volume includes three interviews with Antonia Castañeda that contribute the important narrative of her lived experience#151;the #147;theory in the flesh” and politics of necessity that fueled her commitment to transformative scholarship that highlights gender and Chicanas as a legitimate line of inquiry.
In Signposts of Self-Realization, Xinmin Liu offers an ontological study of education and development of the individual self through the prisms of ethical progress and social evolution in the context of modern Chinese literature and film.Did self-realization in the Chinese modern follow the law of Social Darwinism: the biggest ego always won out? Is individualism always self-regarding, never other-regarding? How did the Greater I evolve out of the Lesser I socially and ethically? Confronting these questions, the author navigates through the terrains of paraphrastic translation, Buddhist nonself, lyrical epiphany, redemptive memory and ethnic orality to map out an alternative path for the growth of a modern Chinese self.
The magic of early Renaissance architecture. The notion that numerical proportional systems contribute to the serene, orderly appearance of the basilica of San Lorenzo has long stood as a virtual axiom of architectural history. In this book, Cohen challenges this and many other long-standing preconceptions about proportional systems in the history of architecture. Using Brunelleschi's basilicas of San Lorenzo and Santo Spirito as case studies, the author presents a detailed analysis of his comprehensive measurements of these buildings, which he recorded from scaffolding, meticulous observations of the built fabric, and a variety of documentary sources. This book presents a rigorous new approach to an important but little studied area of architectural history and is essential reading for anyone interested in medieval and Renaissance architecture.
Fourth and Long by Michael Benedict
Publication Date: 2014
Don Thomas, the beloved, championship-winning quarterback of the fictional Oklahoma City Gladiators football team, is in trouble. In the eyes of the public, he's making sensational plays, winning games, and helping out in his community. But behind closed doors is another person entirely—a man who is struggling with depression, desperately lonely, and embroiled in a dark locker room scandal. As the season progresses, Don must face even bigger challenges than those he encounters on the field: how to keep his family together, and how to handle the unexpected obstacles of his final years in the league.
One of the key scientific challenges is the puzzle of human cooperation. Why do people cooperate? Why do people help strangers, even sometimes at a major cost to themselves? Why do people want to punish people who violate norms and undermine collective interests? This book is inspired by the fact that social dilemmas, defined in terms of conflicts between (often short-term) self-interest and (often longer-term) collective interest, are omnipresent. The book centers on two major themes. The first theme centers on the theoretical understanding of human cooperation: are people indeed other-regarding? The second theme is more practical, and perhaps normative: how can cooperation be promoted? This question is at the heart of the functioning of relationships, organizations, as well as the society as a whole.
Mario Vargas Llosa by Raymond Leslie Williams
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Awarded the Nobel Prize in 2010 at the age of seventy-four, Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa has held pivotal roles in the evolution and revolutions of modern Latin American literature. Perhaps surprisingly, no complete history of Vargas Llosa's works, placed in biographical and historical context, has been published—until now. A masterwork from one of America's most revered scholars of Latin American fiction, Mario Vargas Llosa: A Life of Writing provides a critical overview of Vargas Llosa's numerous novels while reinvigorating debates regarding conventional interpretations of the work.
Weaving analysis with discussions of the writer's political commentary, Raymond Leslie Williams traces the author's youthful identity as a leftist student of the 1960s to a repudiation of some of his earlier ideas beginning in the 1980s. Providing a unique perspective on the complexity, nuance, and scope of Vargas Llosa's lauded early novels and on his passionate support of indigenous populations in his homeland, Williams then turns his eye to the recent works, which serve as a bridge between the legacies of the Boom and the diverse array of contemporary Latin American fiction writers at work today. In addition, Williams provides a detailed description of Vargas Llosa's traumatic childhood and its impact on him—seen particularly in his lifelong disdain for authority figures—as well as of the authors who influenced his approach, from Faulkner to Flaubert. Culminating in reflections drawn from Williams's formal interviews and casual conversations with the author at key phases of both men's careers, this is a landmark publication that will spark new lines of inquiry into an intricate body of work.
Marie loves meat. And sex. And revenge.She hates vegetables, and her father. She needs cash for the hit man, a biker who fears only the water.Casey wants a bong hit. And to move out of his mom's condo. And to keep his head attached, which becomes less likely after Marie sets him up for murdering her lover.The Gas Hat takes a gleefully twisted look at fringe-dwellers in blissful Marin County: Wise barfliesand dumb criminals. A profane mother and evil cats.A pragmatic poet and a self-proclaimed artistof oral sex. The result is a stoner-noir tale of seduction, delusion - and the comic joys of self-medication.
Free Soil in the Atlantic World by Sue Peabody (Editor); Keila Grinberg (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-10-29
Free Soil in the Atlantic World examines the principle that slaves who crossed particular territorial frontiers- from European medieval cities to the Atlantic nation states of the nineteenth century- achieved their freedom. Based upon legislation and judicial cases, each essay considers the legal origins of Free Soil and the context in which it was invoked: medieval England, Toulouse and medieval France, early modern France and the Mediterranean, the Netherlands, eighteenth-century Portugal, nineteenth-century Angola, nineteenth-century Spain and Cuba, and the Brazilian-Paraguay borderlands. On the one hand, Free Soil policies were deployed by weaker polities to attract worker-settlers; however, by the eighteenth century, Free Soil was increasingly invoked by European imperial centres to distinguish colonial regimes based in slavery from the privileges and liberties associated with the metropole. This book was originally published as a special issue of Slavery and Abolition.
Ensure your students have access to the authoritative, in-depth and accessible content of this series for the IB History Diploma. Each title in the series provides depth of content, focussed on specific topics in the IB History guide, and examination guidance on different exam-style questions - helping students develop a good knowledge and understanding of the topic alongside the skills they need to do well.