Academic Motherhood tells the story of over one hundred women who are both professors and mothers and examines how they navigated their professional lives at different career stages. Kelly Ward and Lisa Wolf-Wendel base their findings on a longitudinal study that asks how women faculty on the tenure track manage work and family in their early careers (pre-tenure) when their children are young (under the age of five), and then again in mid-career (post-tenure) when their children are older.
Part of the Advances in Veterinary Surgery series copublished with the ACVS Foundation and Wiley-Blackwell, Advances in Equine Laparoscopy presents a state-of-the-art reference on laparoscopic skills and procedures in the horse. A companion website offers eight video clips demonstrating selected procedures at www.wiley.com/go/ragle. Advances in Equine Laparoscopy is an invaluable guide for equine surgical specialists and equine clinicians interested in laparoscopic techniques.
Call Number: Vancouver and Holland & Terrell BF531 .P36 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-17
What makes us happy? What makes us sad? How do we come to feel a sense of enthusiasm? What fills us with lust, anger, fear, or tenderness? Traditional behavioral and cognitive neuroscience have yet to provide satisfactory answers. The Archaeology of Mind presents an affective neuroscience approach--which takes into consideration basic mental processes, brain functions, and emotional behaviors that all mammals share--to locate the neural mechanisms of emotional expression. It reveals--for the first time--the deep neural sources of our values and basic emotional feelings.This book elaborates on the seven emotional systems that explain how we live and behave.
With contributed papers from the 2011 Materials Science and Technology symposia, this is a useful one-stop resource for understanding the most important issues involved in the processing, properties, and applications of biomaterials science. Logically organized and carefully selected, the articles cover the themes of the symposia: Next Generation Biomaterials: and Surface Properties of Biomaterials. An essential reference for government labs as well as academics in mechanical and chemical engineering, materials and or ceramics, and chemistry.
Call Number: available online and at Vancouver and Owen RG652 .S58 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
This work reflects the critical need to document early 21st-century U.S. mothers' own words on what they expected to happen in childbirth and later, how labor and delivery went and how it met their expectations. Among this book's most important contributions is its inclusion of extensive interview material drawn from 75 diverse women who spoke freely on their childbirth expectations and subsequent experiences.
Courts: A Text/Reader provides the best of both worlds-- authored text sections with carefully selected accompanying readings that illustrate the questions and controversies legal scholars and court researchers are investigating in the 21st century. The articles, from leading journals in criminology and criminal justice, reflect both classic studies of the criminal court system and state-of-the-art research, and often have a policy perspective that makes them more applied, less theoretical, and more interesting to both undergraduate and graduate students.
Now in its second edition, Criminal Evidence: An Introduction provides comprehensive and applied coverage of the rules of evidence, along with numerous case excerpts that clearly illustrate those rules. Using engaging, straightforward language, authors John L. Worrall, Craig Hemmens, and Lisa Nored offer an invaluable and innovative resource for both students and instructors. Concentrating on the Federal Rules of Evidence, this distinctive text presents in-depth yet concise coverage of evidentiary law in thirteen succinct chapters. To draw students into this complex subject, the authors explain criminal evidence through a unique blend of text and case excerpts; throughout, these excerpts illuminate the rules in useful, fascinating, and often unusual examples.
Dopants and Defects in Semiconductors covers the theory, experimentation, and identification of impurities, dopants, and intrinsic defects in semiconductors. The book fills a crucial gap between solid-state physics and more specialized course texts. By treating dopants and defects in semiconductors as a unified subject, this book helps define the field and prepares students for work in technologically important areas. It provides students with a solid foundation in both experimental methods and the theory of defects in semiconductors.
Call Number: ebook and Holland & Terrell E99.P9 E435 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-10
Ancestral Pueblo farmers encountered the deep, well watered, and productive soils of the central Mesa Verde region of Southwest Colorado around A.D. 600, and within two centuries built some of the largest villages known up to that time in the U.S. Southwest. But one hundred years later, those villages were empty, and most people had gone. This cycle repeated itself from the mid-A.D. 1000s until 1280, when Puebloan farmers permanently abandoned the entire northern Southwest. Taking an interdisciplinary approach, this book examines how climate change, population size, interpersonal conflict, resource depression, and changing social organization contribute to explaining these dramatic shifts.
Philosophical reflections on the environment began with early philosophers' invocation of a cosmology that mixed natural and supernatural phenomena. Today, the central philosophical problem posed by the environment involves not what it can teach us about ourselves and our place in the cosmic order but rather how we can understand its workings in order to make better decisions about our own conduct regarding it. The resulting inquiry spans different areas of contemporary philosophy, many of which are represented by the fifteen original essays in this volume.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell NA2543.I74 H475 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
The essays in this book represent an up to date research and investigation into the various aspects of heritage and sustainability in the Islamic Built environments with an analysis of the problems that these cities face, as they confront the forces of globalization and new development. The authors in the book aim to the need for knowledge and understanding of Islamic society which is crucial for comprehending their rich architectural heritage and urban form with their intended meanings and uses. The book embraces a wide array of principles, strategies and precedents that are instrumental to the design of cities and communities in Islamic regions in order to sustain their cultural and environmental vitality.
Call Number: ebook and Holland & Terrell E99.P9 L39 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-15
It is one of the great mysteries in the archaeology of the Americas: the depopulation of the northern Southwest in the late thirteenth-century AD. Considering the numbers of people affected, the distances moved, the permanence of the departures, the severity of the surrounding conditions, and the human suffering and culture change that accompanied them, the abrupt conclusion to the farming way of life in this region is one of the greatest disruptions in recorded history. Much new paleoenvironmental data, and a great deal of archaeological survey and excavation, permit the fifteen scientists represented here much greater precision in determining the timing of the depopulation, the number of people affected, and the ways in which northern Pueblo peoples coped-and failed to cope-with the rapidly changing environmental and demographic conditions they encountered throughout the 1200s.
Celebrate the year of the Mayan Apocalypse in style with 'Megacatastrophes!', as Dr. David Darling and Dr. Dirk Schulze-Makuch delve into the amazing science of the end of the world. Could it be the asteroid hurtling towards us from outer space, or a super-volcano covering the Earth under a cloud of ash; black holes gobbling up the solar system, or a tiny army of nanobots in a deranged feeding frenzy? Oh, and don't forget -- there's always the risk of alien invasion. Rating the likelihood of each potential disaster, David and Dirk provide the best guide to the worst that could happen, and explore what we could do to save our souls. So sit down, face the inevitable, and prepare to discover the nine weirdest ways we could all go to meet our maker.
The Organic Seed Grower is a comprehensive manual for the serious vegetable grower who is interested in growing high-quality seeds using organic farming practices. It is written for both serious home seed savers and diversified small-scale farmers who want to learn the necessary steps involved in successfully producing a commercial seed crop organically. Detailed profiles for each of the major vegetables provide users with practical, in-depth knowledge about growing, harvesting, and processing seed for a wide range of common and specialty vegetable crops, from Asian greens to zucchini.
Elsa Kirsten Peters, better known as the Rock Doc, regularly conveys her enthusiasm for all things science in her nationally syndicated column. Now the curious geologist has compiled her favorites, along with a few new contributions, into Planet Rock Doc. With her wry sense of humor, personal anecdotes, and knack for explaining the complex in simple terms, Peters stretches far beyond geology to explore a wide range of topics related to natural and applied sciences. In the process, she reflects on the remarkable observations and inventions cultivated by great minds of the past. She comments on current debates, and she lends promise to the future, illuminating cutting-edge research. For easy access, articles are arranged by subject matter--geology and paleontology, energy and engines, food and agriculture, climate change, human health, biology, physics, chemistry, astronomy, and education and history.
Queer Retrosexualities: The Politics of Reparative Return examines the retrospective logic that informs contemporary queer thinking; specifically the narrative return to the 1950s in post-1990s queer and LGBT culture in the United States. The term "Queer Retrosexuality" marks the intersection between retrospective thinking and queerness--to illustrate not only how to "queer" retrospection, but also how retrospection, in some senses can be thought of as always already queer. This book examines the historical possibilities that inform the narrative return to the 1950s in queer cultural and literary productions such as Samuel Delany's The Motion of Light in Water, Todd Haynes's Far from Heaven, Sarah Schulman's Shimmer, and Mark Merlis's American Studies--all texts that return to a traumatic past marked by shame, exile, and persecution.
These fifteen original essays address the core semantic concepts of reference and referring from both philosophical and linguistic perspectives. After an introductory essay that casts current trends in reference and referring in terms of an ongoing dialogue between Fregean and Russellian approaches, the book addresses specific topics, balancing breadth of coverage with thematic unity. The contributors, all leading or emerging scholars, address trenchant neo-Fregean challenges to the direct reference position; consider what positive claims can be made about the mechanism of reference; address the role of a theory of reference within broader theoretical context; and investigate other kinds of linguistic expressions used in referring activities that may themselves be referring expressions.
Call Number: Animal Health Reserve SF609 .B566 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-23
The new edition of Blood's classic Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary has been completely redesigned, revised and updated for today's veterinary team. Now with a wide range of superb full-colour illustrations, well over 60,000 main and subentries including large animals, small animals and exotics, and an all-new, user-friendly format, the fourth edition offers the most comprehensive dictionary reference in the field.
Call Number: Holland & Terrell Stacks LC311 .T435 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-15
Reverence is a forgotten virtue in teaching and learning. Indeed, it is a largely forgotten virtue in American society. This book argues that there is much more to teaching students than merely imparting knowledge. Good teaching involves forming character, molding destinies, creating an enduring passion for learning, appreciating beauty, caring for others, and much more. In some sense of the word, teaching is a spiritual, although not necessarily a religious, activity. When done well, it cultivates human intimacy and allows teachers to find creative self-expression in classroom community. The essays gathered here examine reverence as a way to understand some of the spiritual dimensions of classroom teaching.
The Vladivostok Album by Eleanor Lord Pray, edited by Birgitta Ingemanson
Call Number: 1 copy in processing
Publication Date: 2012
An album of photos of Dom Smith and Vladivostok taken during the late 19th and early 20th centuries, many taken by Eleanor Lord Pray herself. Editing and comments by Birgitta Ingemanson, with quotations from Eleanor Pray's letters. In Russian and English
Accessible and engagingly written, this book is essential reading for anyone looking to understand one of our most important contemporary debates. In the publicity surrounding global warming, climate scientists are usually the experts consulted by the media. We rarely hear from geologists, who for almost two hundred years have been studying the history of Earth's dramatic and repeated climate revolutions, as revealed in the evidence of rocks and landscapes. This book, written by a geologist, describes the important contributions that geology has made to our understanding of climate change. What emerges is a much more complex and nuanced picture than is usually presented.
Call Number: 1 copy on order for Holland & Terrell
Publication Date: 2012-09-11
World History: Journeys from Past to Present uses common themes to present an integrated and comprehensive survey of human history from its origins to the present day. By weaving together thematic and regional perspectives in coherent chronological narratives, Goucher and Walton transform the overwhelming sweep of the human past into a truly global story that is relevant to the contemporary issues of our time.
Call Number: ebook and Holland & Terrell Stacks PR888.M63 H44 2012
Publication Date: 2012-02-10
Early in the twentieth century, many novelists and geographers were attempting a similar undertaking: to connect everyday human experience to the large, unseen structures that formed the planet itself. World Views shows how both modernist and postcolonial writers borrowed metaphors and concepts from geography, advancing theories of space, culture, and community within the formal structures of literary narrative. In contrast to the pervasive sense of the globe as a "jigsaw-puzzle" of nations, writers as diverse as Joseph Conrad, E.M. Forster, James Joyce, Jean Rhys, Jamaica Kincaid, and Amitav Ghosh imagined alternative versions of the world that were made up of other spatial building blocks-continents, regions, islands, and boundaries, to name a few.