2019 Guide to Medications for the Treatment of Diabetes Mellitus by John R. White, Department of Pharmacotherapy
Publication Date: 2019-08-06
Medications for the Treatment of Diabetes offers a bridge between drug handbooks and pharmacology texts. Focusing entirely on diabetes drugs, this reference is divided into two sections: 1) Drugs used to manage hyperglycemia and 2) Management of diabetic co-morbidities. The first section includes:-- Pharmacologic Therapy for Type 1 Diabetes -- Management of Hyperglycemia in Type 1 DM- info from practical use of insulin, pathophysiology, treatment strategy-- Insulins- RAIAs, Short-acting insulins, intermediate-acting insulins, LAIAs, Concentrated Insulins, Insulin pumps and patches, inhaled insulins, mixed and mixing insulin, use in Type 1, use in Type 2-- Pharmacologic Therapy for Type 2 Diabetes-- Management of Hyperglycemia in Type 2- brief overview, pathophysiology, treatment strategy, overview of medications-- Biguanides-- TZDs-- SUs-- Glinides-- SGLT-2 Inhibitors-- AGIs-- DPP-IV inhibitors-- GLP RAs-- Amylin mimetics-- BARs-- DA-2 agonistsEach chapter in Section 1 includes:1. Drug class overview and role in diabetes treatment 2. Pharmacology -- a. Mechanism of action, b. Pharmacokinetics3. Treatment Advantages/Disadvantages -- a. General for the class, b. When applicable, a discussion of evidence that supports the benefits of using a particular drug in a class over another in the same class (eg, Avandia vs Actos) 4. Therapeutic Considerations -- a. Significant Warnings/Precautions, b. Special Populations, c. Pharmacogenomics, d. Adverse effects and monitoring, e. Drug Interactions, f. Dosage and administration 5. Table with Doses and Dose Adjustments 6. List of important combination products7. References The second section includes:-- Cardiovascular Disease and Risk Management -- Microvascular Complications and Foot Care-- Medications for the Management of Hypertension-- Medications for the Management of Hyperlipidemia-- Antiplatelet Therapy-- Medications for Smoking Cessation-- Medications for the Management of Neuropathy (peripheral and autonomic)-- Medications for the Management of Nephropathy-- Medications for the Management of Retinopathy-- Medications for the Management of Depression-- Medications for the Management of Hypoglycemia-- Medications for the Management of Obesity-- Immunizations in Patients with DiabetesEach chapter in Section 2 includes:1. An overview of the condition or problem 2. Goals of treatment3. Overview of the medications and rationale for the medications used for the problem4. Overview of each class of medication 5. Overview of combination therapy -- a. first combination, b. second combination6. Doses and Dose Adjustments for the more salient medications7. List of important combination products8. References
The Art of Protest by T. V. Reed, Department of English
Publication Date: 2019-01-22
A second edition of the classic introduction to arts in social movements, fully updated and now including Black Lives Matter, Occupy Wall Street, and new digital and social media forms of cultural resistance The Art of Protest, first published in 2006, was hailed as an "essential" introduction to progressive social movements in the United States and praised for its "fluid writing style" and "well-informed and insightful" contribution (Choice Magazine). Now thoroughly revised and updated, this new edition of T. V. Reed's acclaimed work offers engaging accounts of ten key progressive movements in postwar America, from the African American struggle for civil rights beginning in the 1950s to Occupy Wall Street and Black Lives Matter in the twenty-first century. Reed focuses on the artistic activities of these movements as a lively way to frame progressive social change and its cultural legacies: civil rights freedom songs, the street drama of the Black Panthers, revolutionary murals of the Chicano movement, poetry in women's movements, the American Indian Movement's use of film and video, anti-apartheid rock music, ACT UP's visual art, digital arts in #Occupy, Black Lives Matter rap videos, and more. Through the kaleidoscopic lens of artistic expression, Reed reveals how activism profoundly shapes popular cultural forms. For students and scholars of social change and those seeking to counter reactionary efforts to turn back the clock on social equality and justice, the new edition of The Art of Protest will be both informative and inspiring.
Beyond Progress in the Prison Classroom by Anna Plemons, Department of English
Publication Date: 2019-11-07
"Explores how prison writing programs still make use of colonial ways of knowing and being that work against the decolonial intentions of the field, and suggests indigenous scholarship as a theoretical basis for pushing back against individualized, economic assessments of value and designing principles for research and pedagogy that are respectful, reciprocal, and relational"--
This book examines the ways in which contemporary works of black satire make black racial madness legible in ways that allow us to see the connections between suffering from racism and suffering from mental illness. Showing how an understanding of racism as a root cause of mental and emotional instability complicates the ways in which we think about racialized identity formation and the limits of socially accepted definitions of (in)sanity, it concentrates on the unique ability of the genre of black satire to make knowable not only general qualities of mental illness that are so often feared or ignored, but also how structures of racism contribute a specific dimension to how we understand the different ways in which people of color, especially black people, experience and integrate mental instability into their own understandings of subjecthood. Drawing on theories from ethnic studies, popular culture studies, cultural studies, psychoanalysis, and trauma theory to offer critical textual analyses of five different instances of new millennial black satire in television, film, and literature - the television show Chappelle's Show, the Spike Lee film Bamboozled, the novel The White Boy Shuffle by Paul Beatty, the novels Erasure and I Am Not Sidney Poitier by Percival Everett, and the television show Key & Peele - Crazy Funny presents an account of the ways in which contemporary black satire rejects the boundaries between sanity and insanity as a way to animate the varied dimensions of being a racialized subject in a racist society.
Criminal Courts by Craig T. Hemmens (Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology and Criminal Justice); David C. Brody; Cassia Spohn
Publication Date: 2019-03-11
Written by three nationally recognized experts in the field, Criminal Courts: A Contemporary Perspective explores all the fundamental topics (court structure, courtroom actors, and the trial and appeals process) as well as other ground-breaking topics, such as specialty courts and comparative court systems. This bestseller provides you with a foundation for understanding key concepts by reviewing the judicial function, the role and purpose of law, sources of law, the various types of law, and the American court system's structure and operations. You will build on this foundation by learning about participants in the system and the pretrial, trial, and post-trial processes. Packed with contemporary examples and new pedagogical tools, the Fourth Edition has been thoroughly revised with the most up-to-date content and resources to give you a more comprehensive understanding of the criminal courts system.
Cultural Anthropology by John H. Bodley, Regents Professor Emeritus
Publication Date: 2019-12-02
Cultural Anthropology: Tribes, States, and the Global System, Seventh Edition, provides balanced coverage of three dramatically different cultural worlds by focusing on problems of social inequality, human well-being, social justice, and sustainability. Author John Bodley challenges students to consider "big questions" about the nature of cultural systems: How are cultures structured to satisfy basic human needs? What is it like to be human under different cultural conditions? Are DNA, language, and environment determinants of culture? Are materialist explanations more useful than ideological ones? What are the major turning points in human history? Scale and power remains the primary theoretical framework, but cultural evolutionary perspectives have been expanded. NEW TO THIS EDITION Chapter Two now includes a new section discussing evolutionary cultural anthropology, a new box that updates the archaeological, biological anthropology, and genetic material on anatomically modern humans, and a discussion of the connection between evolutionary anthropology and the moral domains and values that support social cooperation. Chapter Six has new sections on soul beliefs and shamanism, wealth and well-being, and findings from the long-running Tsimane health project in the Bolivian Amazon. The section on the "mental abilities of tribal peoples" is revised to read "cognitive abilities" and a new discussion of working memory as a defining feature of fully modern humans is included. Chapter Seven includes a new box presenting some of the latest genetic, linguistic, and paleoclimate findings related to the colonization of the Pacific. Chapter Ten adds a new section on demographic-structural and cultural evolutionary theory on the rise and fall of politically centralized societies using the Seshat Global History Databank. Chapter Thirteen adds a new section "A Cascade of Unsustainability Warnings" on the very alarming back to back IPCC special report on the dangers of global warming exceeding 1.5oC, published in fall 2018, and the spring 2019 IPBES Global Assessment of Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services. Chapter Fourteen adds two new sections, the first questioning whether capitalism itself can be sustainable, the second considering the alternatives for adapting to climate change. Ancillary materials for both instructors and students are written by the author and include an instructor's manual, test bank, presentation slides, and an open-access companion website.
Defamiliarizing Japan's Asia-Pacific War by W. Puck Brecher, Department of History (Editor); Peter Mauch (Contribution by); Annika A. Culver (Contribution by); Michael W. Myers (Editor); A. Carly Buxton (Contribution by); Kazufumi Hamai (Contribution by); Yumi Murayama (Contribution by); Florentino Rodao García (Contribution by); Matthew Shores (Contribution by); Yoneyuki Sugita (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2019-10-31
This wide-ranging collection seeks to reassess conventional understanding of Japan's Asia-Pacific War by defamiliarizing and expanding the rhetorical narrative. Its nine chapters, diverse in theme and method, are united in their goal to recover a measured historicity about the conflict by either introducing new areas of knowledge or reinterpreting existing ones. Collectively, they cast doubt on the war as familiar and recognizable, compelling readers to view it with fresh eyes. Following an introduction that problematizes timeworn narratives about a "unified Japan" and its "illegal war" or "race war," early chapters on the destruction of Japan's diplomatic records and government interest in an egalitarian health care policy before, during, and after the war oblige us to question selective histories and moral judgments about wartime Japan. The discussion then turns to artistic/cultural production and self-determination, specifically to Osaka rakugo performers who used comedy to contend with state oppression and to the role of women in creating care packages for soldiers abroad. Other chapters cast doubt on well-trod stereotypes (Japan's lack of pragmatism in its diplomatic relations with neutral nations and its irrational and fatalistic military leadership) and examine resistance to the war by a prominent Japanese Christian intellectual. The volume concludes with two nuanced responses to race in wartime Japan, one maintaining the importance of racial categories while recognizing the "performance of Japaneseness," the other observing that communities often reflected official government policies through nationality rather than race. Contrasting findings like these underscore the need to ask new questions and fill old gaps in our understanding of a historical event that, after more than seventy years, remains as provocative and divisive as ever. Defamiliarizing Japan's Asia-Pacific War will find a ready audience among World War II historians as well as specialists in war and society, social history, and the growing fields of material culture and civic history.
In chapters examining a broad range of issues--including sexuality, politics, education, race, gender relations, the environment and social protest movements--Digitized Lives argues that making sense of digitized culture means looking past the glossy surface of techno gear to ask deeper questions about how we can utilize technology to create a more socially, politically and economically just world. This second edition includes important updates on mobile and social media, examining how new platforms and devices have altered how we interact with digital technologies in an allegedly 'post-truth' era. A companion website (www.culturalpolitics.net/digital_cultures) includes links to online articles and useful websites, as well as a bibliography of offline resources, and more.
Double Crossed by Matthew Avery Sutton, Department of History
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
The untold story of the Christian missionaries who played a crucial role in the allied victory in World War II What makes a good missionary makes a good spy. Or so thought "Wild" Bill Donovan when he secretly recruited a team of religious activists for the Office of Strategic Services. They entered into a world of lies, deception, and murder, confident that their nefarious deeds would eventually help them expand the kingdom of God. In Double Crossed, historian Matthew Avery Sutton tells the extraordinary story of the entwined roles of spy-craft and faith in a world at war. Missionaries, priests, and rabbis, acutely aware of how their actions seemingly conflicted with their spiritual calling, carried out covert operations, bombings, and assassinations within the centers of global religious power, including Mecca, the Vatican, and Palestine. Working for eternal rewards rather than temporal spoils, these loyal secret soldiers proved willing to sacrifice and even to die for Franklin Roosevelt's crusade for global freedom of religion. Chosen for their intelligence, powers of persuasion, and ability to seamlessly blend into different environments, Donovan's recruits included people like John Birch, who led guerilla attacks against the Japanese, William Eddy, who laid the groundwork for the Allied invasion of North Africa, and Stewart Herman, who dropped lone-wolf agents into Nazi Germany. After securing victory, those who survived helped establish the CIA, ensuring that religion continued to influence American foreign policy. Surprising and absorbing at every turn, Double Crossed is the untold story of World War II espionage and a profound account of the compromises and doubts that war forces on those who wage it.
Borders and boundaries are porous, especially in the context of political revolutions. Historian Julian F. Dodson has uncovered the story of postrevolutionary Mexico's attempts to protect its northern border from various plots hatched by groups exiled in the United States. Such plots sought to overthrow the regime of President Plutarco Elías Calles in the 1920s. These borderland battles were largely fought through espionage, pitting undercover agents of the government's Departamento Confidencial against various groups of political exiles--themselves experienced spies--who were now residing in American cities such as Los Angeles, Tucson, San Antonio, and Brownsville. Fanáticos, Exiles, and Spies shows that, in successive waves, the political and military exiles of the Mexican Revolution (1910-1920) sought refuge in and continued to operate from urban centers along the international boundary. The de la Huerta rebellion of 1923 and the Cristero War of 1926-1929 defined the bloody religious conflict that dominated the decade, even as smaller rebellions bubbled up along the border, often funded by politically connected exiles. Previous scholarship has tended to treat these various rebellions as isolated episodes, but Dodson argues that the violent popular and military uprisings were not isolated at all. They were nothing less than an extension of the violence and fratricidal warfare that so distinctly marked the preceding decade of the revolution. Fanáticos, Exiles, and Spies reveals the fluidity of a border between two nations before it hardened into the political boundary we know today.
Fighting to Preserve a Nation's Soul examines the relationship between religion, race, and the War on Poverty that President Lyndon Johnson initiated in 1964 and that continues into the present. It studies the efforts by churches, synagogues, and ecumenical religious organizations to join and fight the war on poverty as begun in 1964 by the Office of Economic Opportunity. The book also explores the evolving role of religion in relation to the power balance between church and state and how this dynamic resonates in today's political situation. Robert Bauman surveys all aspects of religion's role in this struggle and substantially discusses the Roman Catholic Church, mainline Protestant churches, Jewish groups, and ecumenical organizations such as the National Council of Churches. In addition, he pays particular attention to race, showing how activist priests and other religious leaders connected religion with the antipoverty efforts of the civil rights movement. For example, he shows how the Interreligious Foundation for Community Organization (IFCO) exemplifies the move toward ecumenism among American religious organizations and the significance of black power to the evolving War on Poverty. Indeed, the Black Manifesto, issued by civil rights and black power activist James Forman in 1969, challenged American churches and synagogues to donate resources to the IFCO as reparations for those institutions' participation in slavery and racial segregation. Bauman, then, explores the intricate and fundamental connection between religious organizations, social movements, and community antipoverty agencies and expands the argument for a long War on Poverty.
Now in its second edition, Foundations of Education Research defines, discusses, and offers applications for the central components of educational research, providing both novice and experienced researchers with a common ground from which to work. Fully updated throughout, the second edition adds a glossary of terms, additional examples, and includes a discussion of similarities and differences in education research. Eight concise, accessible chapters cover conceptual framework, epistemology, paradigm, theory, theoretical framework, and methodology/method. This unique primer demystifies jargon and makes the theoretical components of research accessible, giving students the tools they need to understand existing education research literature and to produce theoretically-grounded work of their own. Each chapter begins with perspectives from both novice and experienced researchers, whose guiding questions assist researchers engaging with theory for the first time and those looking to improve their understanding of the fundamentals. Practice exercises, examples, and suggested reading lists at the end of each chapter offer students resources they can apply to their own research and thinking in concrete ways. A perfect accompaniment to standard research courses, this book is designed to help students achieve a deeper understanding of what is expected of them and ideas about how to achieve it.
Future-Focused Strategic Marketing by Babu John Mariadoss, Carson College of Business
Publication Date: 2019-11-05
The business world is changing rapidly, requiring organizations to be more competitive and customer-centric. Applied technologies have provided opportunities for nascent startups to disrupt established business models that hadn't fundamentally changed for decades. Technologies now enable work to be separated from time and space. Technologies have also made certain occupations obsolete while creating new ones. In this changing landscape marked by hyper-competition, firms are looking for new ways to operate and manage their strategies in order to remain extremely agile, nimble, and customer-centric. Inherently, strategic marketing fuses theoretical rigor with relevance to the real world. Marketing strategies informed through insights based on quality academic research help firms develop relevant organization-wide initiatives for both enhanced value creation and subsequent value capture thereby providing bottom-line impact. The goal of âFuture-Focused Strategic Marketing' is to bring together academic and practitioner audiences in order to highlight key strategic choices for firms operating in the changed landscape. So the focus is not only on the specific marketing activities performed by the firm utilizing their capabilities, but also relevant organizational adjustments and shifts that need to be performed in order to ensure success of firm strategies in a wide variety of contexts. âFuture-Focused Strategic Marketing' is positioned as an introductory use-inspired primer in Strategic Marketing for a variety of audiences. We intend this book to stimulate novel ideas in marketing strategy scholars including doctoral students to help create cutting-edge research agendas that help shape both firm strategies and public policies. Marketing practitioners will find the relevance of the book appealing as it helps firms to both execute and sustain value in the longer-term. This focus on rigorous and relevant research has inspired the themes for the various book chapters including (i) transforming the organization, (ii) examining structure, culture, and identity issues, and (iii) specifying the relationship between capabilities and performance.
More and more states are legalizing marijuana in some form. Moreover, a majority of the U.S. population is in favor of the drug for recreational use. In the Weeds looks at how our society has become more permissive in the past 150 years--even though marijuana is still considered a Schedule I drug by the American government. Sociologists Clayton Mosher and Scott Akins take a deep dive into marijuana policy reform, looking at the incremental developments and the historical, legal, social, and political implications of these changes. They investigate the effects, medicinal applications, and possible harms of marijuana. In the Weeds also considers arguments that youth will be heavy users of legalized cannabis, and shows how "weed" is demonized by exaggerations of the drug's risks and claims of its lack of medicinal value. Mosher and Akins end their timely and insightful book by tracing the distinct paths to the legalization of recreational marijuana in the United States and other countries as well as discussing what the future of marijuana law holds.
The Law of Journalism and Mass Communication by Susan Dente Ross, Department of English
Publication Date: 2019-12-04
In The Law of Journalism and Mass Communication, authors Susan Dente Ross, Amy Reynolds, and Robert Trager present a lively, up-to-date, and comprehensive introduction to media law that brings the law to life for future professional communicators. The book is grounded in the traditions and rules of law but also contains fresh facts and relevant examples that keep readers engaged. Tightly focused breakout boxes highlight contemporary examples of the law in action or emphasize central points of law as well as intersections with international law and policy. The thoroughly updatedSeventh Editioncontains a wealth of new content that is as timely as possible--from the U.S. Supreme Court, federal and state courts, Congress, executive agencies, federal and state policymakers and advisory groups, and media organizations and allies. A refreshed look, feel, and flow of chapters provide readers an understanding of fast-expanding areas of the law and legal complexities.
Let's Talk Vaccines by Gretchen LaSalle, Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine
Publication Date: 2019-10-12
Engaging, accessible, and filled with practical communication advice, Let's Talk Vaccines helps you educate patients on the importance of life-saving vaccines using a patient-centered and empathetic approach. Covering everything from the science of vaccine safety to the psychology of risk communication, this essential guide includes real-life examples and thoughtful, evidence-based techniques that will help patients understand vaccines and make informed decisions. Ideal for primary care providers, pediatricians, family physicians, nurse practitioners, and public health advocates, it provides an excellent framework for how to approach difficult discussions, with the goal of improving the health of each patient as well as the community at large. Directly addresses the increasing trend of parents choosing not to vaccinate their children, including the history and psychology of the anti-vaccine movement. Examines the issues underlying vaccine hesitancy, answering the common questions and concerns that vaccine-hesitant patients may raise during office visits. Helps you dispel myths and fears that many patients have, with particular attention paid to misinformation and skepticism on social media. Covers the anti-vaccine movement's assertions about autism, autoimmune illnesses and allergies, toxic ingredients, overwhelming the immune system, conspiracies, and more - bringing you up to date with the most common issues and effective approaches to the vaccine discussion. Provides practical tips on approaching the vaccine-hesitant parent and how anti-vaccine patients change their minds, with a focus on remaining a positive partner in your patients' care and finding greater success in your vaccination efforts. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Drawing upon a myriad of literary and political texts, Literature and Political Intellection in Early Stuart England charts how some of the Stuart period's major challenges to governance - the equivocation of recusant Catholics, the parsing of one's civil and religious obligations, thecomposition and distribution of subversive texts, and the increasing assertiveness of Parliament - evoked much greater disputes about the mental processes by which monarchs and subjects alike imagined, understood, and effected political action. Rather than emphasizing particular forms of politicalthought such as republicanism or absolutism, Todd Butler here investigates the more foundational question of political intellection, or the various ways that early modern individuals thought through the often uncertain political and religious environment they occupied, and how attention to suchthinking in oneself or others could itself constitute a political position.Focusing on this continuing immanence of cognitive processes in the literature of the Stuart era, Butler examines how writers such as Francis Bacon, John Donne, Philip Massinger, John Milton, and other less familiar figures of the seventeenth-century evidence a shared concern with theinterrelationship between mental and political behavior. These analyses are combined with similarly close readings of religious and political affairs that similarly return our attention to how early Stuart writers of all sorts understood the relationship between mental states and the forms ofpolitical engagement such as speech, oaths, debate, and letter-writing that expressed them. What results is a revised framework for early modern political subjectivity, one in which claims to liberty and sovereignty are tied not simply to what one can do but how - or even if - one can freelythink.
No-Frills Physics by Matthew D. McCluskey, Department of Physics & Astronomy
Publication Date: 2019-05-21
This textbook provides everything you need to get through a basic physics course. It guides students through all the essentials with a concise review of the concept, simple illustrations to demonstrate it, worked problems to showcase how to apply it, and a short quiz for self-testing. Whereas other standard books can be overwhelming to students, the author shares what has worked with his own students, trimming back unnecessary detail and focusing on the core basic physical concepts required to gain solid footing. The full range of topics are addressed in a manner that facilitates understanding and will encourage students to continue forward with their learning.
Pathogenic Yersinia by Viveka Vadyvaloo, Paul G Allen School of Global Animal Health
Publication Date: 2019-06-08
This volume delivers a compendium of detailed protocols to the research community in order to aid in the investigation and discovery of Yersinia virulence mechanisms using important in vivo and in vitro infection models, which have led to major advances in the field and in our understanding of Yersinia pathogen-host interactions. Beginning with a section on mouse models, the book continues with chapters covering the monitoring of bacteria during infection, invertebrate models, as well as Yersinia interaction with immune cells and immune signaling. Written for the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible protocols, and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Comprehensive and authoritative, Pathogenic Yersinia: Methods and Protocols provides a single source for researchers seeking to better understand these pathogens and the diseases they produce in humans.
Delivers the foundational and practical knowledge required for pharmacists to become an integral part of the veterinary health care team, improving therapeutic outcome while preventing serious adverse drug reactions in veterinary patients Pharmacotherapeutics for Veterinary Dispensing enables pharmacists and pharmacy students to expand the breadth of their pharmacological knowledge to include common veterinary species. The book offers a practical yet complete resource for dispensing drugs for canine and feline patients, with additional chapters on horses, birds, reptiles, small mammals, and food animals. Edited by a globally recognized expert in veterinary pharmacology, and including chapters written by veterinarians with expertise in pharmacotherapy and pharmacists with expertise in veterinary medicine, this book is designed to help pharmacists enhance the quality of veterinary patient care. This book is the first to combine the expertise of both veterinarians and pharmacists to enable pharmacists to apply their knowledge and skills to assure optimal therapeutic outcomes for patients of all species. Pharmacotherapeutics for Veterinary Dispensing: Puts the information needed to safely dispense prescription and OTC drugs for veterinary patients at the pharmacists' fingertips Focuses on crucial details of canine and feline pharmacotherapeutics Helps pharmacists avoid adverse drug reactions including pharmacogenomic and breed-related drug sensitivities Offers an authoritative resource written by leading veterinary pharmacy experts designed to integrate pharmacists into the veterinary healthcare team Includes crucial regulatory information unique to veterinary drug dispensing and compounding Pharmacotherapeutics for Veterinary Dispensing is an essential reference for all pharmacists and pharmacy students that might find themselves dispensing drugs to veterinary patients, as well as for veterinarians and others involved with dispensing veterinary drugs. "Pharmacotherapeutics for Veterinary Dispensing is a book long overdue for the pharmacy profession....Whether you have practiced veterinary pharmacy your whole career or have never practiced veterinary pharmacy, this book has much to offer. Veterinarians are encouraged to suggest this book to pharmacists with whom they work and interact." - JAVMA
Reading for Action by Ashley S. Boyd, Department of English
Publication Date: 2019-06-05
This book illustrates how teachers can draw upon young adult literature to facilitate students' social action. Each chapter centers on one novel that represents a contemporary topic including police brutality, women's rights, ecojustice, and bullying. In each, authors provide pre-, during-, and after reading strategies for teaching that connect the social issues in the texts to students' lives and to the world around them. They then offer a multitude of avenues for student action, emphasizing the need to move readers from understanding and awareness to asserting their own agency and capacities to effect change in their local, national, and global communities. In addition to methods for scaffolding students' analysis of texts and topics, authors also offer a plethora of additional resources such as documentaries, canonical companions for study, connected music, and supplementary lesson plans.
The Secret Lives of Anthropologists by Bonnie L. Hewlett, Department of Anthropology
Publication Date: 2019-12-05
This book addresses the difficult conditions researchers may face in the field and provides lessons in how to navigate the various social, political, economic, health, and environmental challenges involved in fieldwork. It also sheds important light on aspects often considered "secret" or taboo. From anthropologists just starting out to those with over forty years in the field, these researchers offer the benefit of their experience conducting research in diverse cultures around the world. The contributions combine engaging personal narrative with consideration of theory and methods. The volume emphasizes how being adaptable, and aware, of the many risks and rewards of ethnographic research can help foster success in quantitative and qualitative data collection. This is a valuable resource for students of anthropological methods and those about to embark on fieldwork for the first time.
Sleep Deprivation and Cognition by Paul Whitney, Department of Psychology; John Hinson, Department of Psychology; Kimberly Honn, Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine; Hans P.A. Van Dongen, Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine
Publication Date: 2019-05-04
Sleep Deprivation and Cognition, Volume 247, the latest release in the Progress in Brain Research series, covers the effects of sleep deprivation, with this new release featuring sections on the Impact of sleep deprivation on long-term memory, Adolescent sleep restriction effects on cognition and mood, Self- regulation and social behavior during sleep deprivation, Experiential decision-making and the effects of sleep loss, Sleep deprivation and dynamic attentional control, a Pharmacogenetic approach to understanding sleep deprivation and cognition, Neuroimaging of functional connectivity in the sleep-deprived brain: what does it tell us?, and more.
Strategy and Game Theory by Felix Munoz-Garcia, School of Economic Sciences
Publication Date: 2019-05-28
This textbook presents worked-out exercises on game theory with detailed step-by-step explanations. While most textbooks on game theory focus on theoretical results, this book focuses on providing practical examples in which students can learn to systematically apply theoretical solution concepts to different fields of economics and business. The text initially presents games that are required in most courses at the undergraduate level and gradually advances to more challenging games appropriate for graduate level courses. The first six chapters cover complete-information games, separately analyzing simultaneous-move and sequential-move games, with applications in industrial economics, law, and regulation. Subsequent chapters dedicate special attention to incomplete information games, such as signaling games, cheap talk games, and equilibrium refinements, emphasizing common steps and including graphical illustrations to focus students' attention on the most relevant payoff comparisons at each point of the analysis. In addition, exercises are ranked according to their difficulty, with a letter (A-C) next to the exercise number. This allows students to pace their studies and instructors to structure their classes accordingly. By providing detailed worked-out examples, this text gives students at various levels the tools they need to apply the tenets of game theory in many fields of business and economics. The second edition of the text has been revised to provide additional exercises at the introductory and intermediate level, expanding the scope of the book to be appropriate for upper undergraduate students looking to improve their understanding of the subject. The second edition also includes a new chapter devoted entirely to cheap talk games. Revised to appeal to a larger audience of instructors and students, this text is appropriate for introductory-to-intermediate courses in game theory at the upper undergraduate and graduate levels.
Writing Across Cultures invites both new and experienced teachers to examine the ways in which their training has--or has not--prepared them for dealing with issues of race, power, and authority in their writing classrooms. The text is packed with more than twenty activities that enable students to examine issues such as white privilege, common dialects, and the normalization of racism in a society where democracy is increasingly under attack. This book provides an innovative framework that helps teachers create safe spaces for students to write and critically engage in hard discussions. Robert Eddy and Amanda Espinosa-Aguilar offer a new framework for teaching that acknowledges the changing demographics of US college classrooms as the field of writing studies moves toward real equity and expanding diversity. Writing Across Cultures utilizes a streamlined cross-racial and interculturally tested method of introducing students to academic writing via sequenced assignments that are not confined by traditional and static approaches. They focus on helping students become engaged members of a new culture--namely, the rapidly changing collegiate discourse community. The book is based on a multi-racial rhetoric that assumes that writing is inherently a social activity. Students benefit most from seeing composing as an act of engaged communication, and this text uses student samples, not professionally authored ones, to demonstrate this framework in action. Writing Across Cultures will be a significant contribution to the field, aiding teachers, students, and administrators in navigating the real challenges and wonderful opportunities of multi-racial learning spaces.