Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web Resources for Japanese Literature
Other Sites of Potential Interest...
JAANUS is the on-line Dictionary of Japanese Architectural and Art Historical Terminology containing approximately 8000 terms r elated to traditional Japanese architecture and gardens, painting, sculpture and art-historical iconography from approximately the 1st century A.D. to the end of the Edo period (1868
Japanese Old Photographs in the Bakumatsu-Meiji
An online collection of approximately 6,000 photographs administered through the University of Nagasaki. Search categories include manners and customs, architecture, landscapes, portraiture, religion, work life, and urban settings.
Japanese Historical Maps
Digitized database of Japanese historical maps at the Asian Library, University of California, Berkeley.
A-Z Photo Dictionary of Japanese Buddhist Statuary
A to Z Photo Dictionary of Japanese gods, goddesses, Shinto kami, Creatures and Demons.
An Organization specializing in international cultural exchange with Japan. Site includes information on Japanese language education, intellectual exchange programs, and includes links to the Foundation’s publications.
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (アジア歴史資料センター)
A digital archive hosted by The National Archives of Japan, providing modern historical records related to Asia. Provides access to official documents from the Meiji era through 1945.