LibGuides: Environmental Sociology: Databases and Catalogs

Sociology Databases

Complete list of WSU Libraries Subject and Research Guides

A complete list of WSU Libraries databases for all subjects and disciplines

Sociological Abstracts
A database containing abstracted citations to articles on all aspects of sociology, social work and other social sciences. Coverage from 1963-present.
GreenFile
GreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. It includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Legal Collection (EBSCO)
Containing full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals, this database is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Social Sciences Abstracts
Broad-based social science database. Covers 1984-current. See Humanities and Social Science Retrospective database for access to earlier social science and humanities literature going back to 1907.
PsycINFO
Covers psychology and related disciplines
Web of Science (Social Sciences Citation Index) [ISI/Clarivate - formerly Thomson Reuters]
Both an interdisciplinary database and a citation database (use to trace citations between articles) - for more on this, see the Measuring Research Impact Using Web of Science, Altmetrics, and Other Sources Research Guide. See also: Google Scholar
POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE)
"POPLINE®(POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues."
more...less...
POPLINE®(POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues."
Social Science Research Network
A discipline-based repository of open-access (free!) research reports in the social sciences.
JSTOR (*all* jstor journals until 6/2023)
Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines and is usually full-text. Note: In most cases, JSTOR will not provide the most recent three to five years of journal content, but it will provide access back to the start of publication.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides citations and abstracts for the literature of political science, international relations, government and public policy.
Annual Reviews
Review articles - can search in many discipline. Excellent source!
Bibliography of Data-Related Literature (ICPSR)
"a continuously-updated database of thousands of citations of works using data held in the ICPSR archive." Includes DOI, WorldCat, and Google Scholar options for access are provided for most citations; the WorldCat link will provide a Find It @ WSU option.

Elsevier/ScienceDirect
Publisher site - all the Elsevier journals WSU subscribes to. Can search fulltext. Good for those environmental topics...and more! Use advanced search, and watch out for what years you are searching!
Wiley Online Library
Search all articles available to the WSU Libraries published by Wiley
SpringerLink
Search for articles available to the WSU Libraries published by Springer
Sage Journals Online
Publisher site - all the Sage journals WSU subscribes to (which is not all the Sage journals). Lots of social science stuff here, so good for those kinds of topics. Can search fulltext.
Taylor & Francis Journals
Search for articles available to the WSU Libraries published by Taylor & Francis

General Interest Databases

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward. ## ##CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.

Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic)
Excellent source for state/regional/US newspapers (including the New York Times) as well as English-language foreign newspapers and foreign language newspapers. Not really browsable. Includes legal and business information as well.

Annual Reviews
Review articles - excellent sources of information and bibliographies if your topic is covered.

America: History and Life (U.S. and Canada)
Citations and abstracts to publications on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes journals, books, reviews, and dissertations. Covers 1964-present.
Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts to publications covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
Citations for U.S. (and some Canadian) dissertations 1861- present. Includes abstracts for dissertations published from 1980-present (some recent dissertations offer a 24-page preview). Also includes citations and abstracts for (some) master's theses from 1988-present.
The African American Experience
Online fulltext library of sources - history, image, primary sources, analysis, and more.
The American Indian Experience
Online fulltext library of sources - history, image, primary sources, analysis, and more.
The American West
Includes letters and diaries on Westward Expansion.
ArticleFirst
Multidisciplinary index of scholarly articles from over 12,000 journals going back to 1990. Great coverage, but no abstracts.
ECO: Electronic Collections Online
Multidisciplinary database that includes considerable full-text.

Related Library Guides

Economic Sciences
by Gabriella Reznowski Last Updated Aug 1, 2024 85 views this year
Environmental Sciences
by Emily Cukier Last Updated Jul 30, 2024 120 views this year
Natural Resource Sciences
by Emily Cukier Last Updated Aug 13, 2024 66 views this year

General Online Reference Resources

Sage Reference Online

Look at WSU Libraries Presearch Library Guide for additional background and presearch resources

(Because presearch comes before research...)

Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection
Gale Virtual Reference Library
CQ Press Electronic Library
Be sure to take a look at the CQ Researcher! Its an excellent backgrounder for topics in the news - our subscription goes back to 1991.
Ulrich's Periodicals
Use this to get information about a journal, including if it is peer-reviewed/refereed.