Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anti-Bribery and Corruption Law in International Business

Resources

Statute     

Foreign Corrupt Practices Act as Codified - Department of Justice, Fraud Section.

Legislative History     

Legislative History - Department of Justice, Fraud Section.  Includes, among other things, House and Senate reports regarding the FCPA and amendments to it, as well as other legislative history materials.

Cases     

Nexis Uni replaced Lexis Nexis Academic. Select Advanced Search under the large Search term.  Open the "Select a specific content type" pull-down and select Cases.  Enter topic terms in appropriate search boxes and click Add; enter the name of the case in the Party Name search box; enter the case citation in the Citation search box.  Click the magnifying glass at the top right of the display or Search at the bottom left of the display.

FCPA and Related Enforcement Actions - Department of Justice, Fraud Section.

FCPA Opinions     

Foreign Corrupt Practices Act Opinion Procedure.  28 CFR Part 80. -  Legal Information Institute.  Cornell University Law School. Includes regulations providing for the procedure for obtaining an opinion from the DOJ about whether specific proposed conduct complies with the DOJ’s current enforcement policy with respect to the anti-bribery provisions of the FCPA.

Opinion Procedure Releases - Department of Justice, Fraud Section. Includes FCPA opinions issued from 1993 onward.

Review Procedure Releases - Department of Justice, Fraud Section. Includes responses by the DOJ to requests for review of proposed transactions for FCPA compliance purposes issued from 1980-1992.

DOJ and SEC Guidance     

A Resource Guide to the U.S. Foreign Corrupt Practices Act - Department of Justice, Fraud Section and Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). 2012. Contains detailed guidance from the DOJ and SEC on the FCPA, its provisions, and enforcement, setting forth applicable statutory requirements and related commentary on the FCPA’s anti-bribery and other requirements, effective compliance programs, proper and improper gifts, travel and entertainment expenses, facilitating payments, successor liability in mergers and acquisitions, and civil and criminal resolutions under the FCPA. The guide also includes hypothetical examples, examples of actual enforcement actions and situations where enforcement was not pursued, and summaries of cases and opinion releases.

Journal Articles     

Nexis Uni replaced Lexis Nexis Academic.  Select Law Reviews under "What are you interested in?"  Enter a topic or keywords in the search box, adjust the time period, if appropriate, and click Search.

Business Source Complete.Business and accounting journals, includes full text for many citations.

Academic Search Complete.Social science, science, and humanities journals, includes full text for many citations.

JSTOR. Social science, science, and humanities journals with full text from vol.1 of each journal to most recent three years.

Selected Books and Other Sources

The anti-corruption handbook: how to protect your business in the global marketplace.  Willaim P. Olsen.  2010.

Foreign Corrupt Practices Act: a practical resource for managers and executives.  Aaron G. Murphy.  2011

Foreign Corrupt Practices Act compliance handbook: protecting your organization from bribery and corruption.  Martin T. Biegelman, Daniel R. Biegelman.  2010.

Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA): Congressional interest and Executive enforcement.  Michael V. Seitzinger.  Congressional Research Service.  2016.

 

 
   

 

 

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us