Please note: while we try to keep our guides as up-to-date as possible, the most current information on WSU Pullman Library operations and Services can be found at the links below:
Data & Statistics
ALFRED: Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data. St. Louis Fed. Retrieves vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history.
American Time Use Survey. Provides statistics and graphical data on the amount of time people in the U.S. spend on various activities.
Beige Book. Federal Reserve Board of Governors. A summary of commentary on economic conditions by Federal Reserve districts, published 8 times a year.
Bureau of Economic Analysis, United States Department of Commerce. National and international accounts statistics.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Databases & Tables. Provides access to data from the BLS including inflation and prices, employment, unemployment, pay and benefits, productivity, and more.
Business Dynamics Statistics (BDS): Includes measures of establishment openings and closings, firm startups, job creations and destruction by firm size, age, and industrial sector, and several other statistics on business dynamics; provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Business Employment Dynamics. Statistics generated from the Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages, or ES-202, program, these quarterly data series consist of gross job gains and gross job losses statistics from 1992 forward.
CASSIDI. Competitive Analysis and Structure Source Instrument for Depository Institutions - St. Louis Federal Reserve. Provides banking competitive analysis information for the United States; institution and market information and "what if" analysis.
Ceres2030 Estimating the cost of United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goal 2—Zero Hunger—by 2030
Data USA. A collaborative website and visualization engine of public US Government data developed by Deloitte, Datawheel, and MIT faculty member.
Data & Statistics. USA.gov. Provides links to federal government collected data, by topic.
Database for Institutional Comparisons in Europe (DICE). Allows users to search for cross-country comparisons of systematic information on institutions, regulatory systems, legal requirements and the mechanisms of their application. Although DICE is not a statistical database, it also contains data on the outputs (economic effects) of institutions and regulations where relevant.
DATA.gov. U.S. federal government datasets portal. Provides access to datasets in a wide range of topics.
EconData. A source of economic time series data from Inforum, at the University of Maryland.
Economagic.com. Economic Time Series Page. A comprehensive site of free, easily available economic time series data useful for economic research, particularly economic forecasting.
Economic Data Freely Available Online. The Economics Network. Provides links to UK data sites, international data sites, market data, and portal sites.
Economic Indicators. U.S. Census Bureau. Economic Indicators. Monthly publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee. Leading Economic Indicators. The Conference Board.
Employment Research Data Center. W.E. Upjohn Institute. Provides free, downloadable data from many research and evaluation projects sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Labor.
Eurostat. Official portal for statistics of the European Union.
FAOSTAT. Food and Agriculture Organization of the U.N. Provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. Provides data on specific banks and the banking industry.
Federal Reserve Board. Data Sources for Discontinued Statistical Supplement to the Federal Reserve Bulletin. Links to statistics provided by the Federal Reserve.
FedSpending.org. A project of OMB Watch, a nongovernmental agency, this site provides data on contracts, assistance, recovery, and other forms of U.S. government spending. Information is available by state, congressional district, contracting agency, product/service, or other options.
Foreign Exchange Rates - H.10. Federal Reserve. 1989 - present.
FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research. St. Louis Fed. Provides links to scanned images of historical economic statistic publications.
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data. St. Louis Fed. A database of over 13.000 U.S. economic time series.
GeoFRED. Geographical Economic Data. St. Louis Fed. Allows user to create, customize, and share geographical maps of data found in FRED.
Gini Index. CIA World Factbook. Current information. Gini Index. World Bank. Information back to 1980, when available. World Income Inequality Database. (WIID3.4). United Nations University. Reports Gini back to 1960.
Happiest Countries in the World. World Happiness Report from the Sustainable Development Solutions Network..
Human Development Index. United Nations Development Programme.
IMF Data. International Monetary Fund. Includes time series data for GDP growth, inflation, unemployment, payments balances, exports, imports, external debt, capital flows, commodity prices.
IPUMSusa. Integrated Public Microdata Series. Census microdata for social and economic research; available free.
OANDA, The Currency Site. Real-time foreign exchange rates and conversion rates.
Penn Wharton Budget Model. A "sandbox" in which different policy ideas can be tested to see how they will impact the U.S. federal budget and the economy while legislation is drafted—instead of afterwards. The model applies modern advances in economic modeling, big data science, cloud computing and visualization to inform public policy choices.
Penn World Table. Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries/territories for some or all of the years 1950-2014.
Resources for Economists on the Internet. An extensive directory, organized in general categories. Sponsored by the American Economic Association. "Data" icon provides links to a large number of data sources and data sets.
Statistical Abstracts Series. The U.S. Census Bureau provides PDF copies of the Statistical Abstract of the United States volumes from 2012 back to 1878.
Trade Analysis information System (TRAINS). United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). A comprehensive computerized information system at the HS-based tariff line level (HS 6-digit).The database provides data on trade control measures, including: tariffs, para-tariffs, non-tariff measures, imports by suppliers at HS 6-digit level. These data are reported by 150 countries. Depending on the country the data are available from 1988 onwards.
UN Comtrade. Contains more than 1.75 billion trade records starting from 1962.
UNdata: A World of Information. Provides international statistics and data sets on a broad range of topics from more than 30 United Nations databases.
U.S. Economic Indicators. Provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics from April 1995 - present.
U.S. Economy at a Glance. This site, from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, provides easy access to U.S. economic information.
U.S. National Agricultural Statistics Service. Data and Statistics. Interactive, online database of U.S. agricultural statistics at the county, state and U.S. levels. Covers crops and plants, livestock and animals, demographics, economics, and environmental aspects of U.S. agriculture.
USA Trade Online. Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, USA Trade Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. Users must create an account which is free.
World Bank Data. As a leader in transparency and accountability, the World Bank has made its data available free. The World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, and other data by country and topic is available.
World Development Indicators. World Bank. Direct link to WDI database, a compilation of relevant, high-quality, and internationally comparable statistics about global development and the fight against poverty. The database contains 1,600 time series indicators for 217 economies and more than 40 country groups, with data for many indicators going back more than 50 years.
WITS. World Integrated Trade Solution. World Bank and UNCTAD data on trade, tariffs, and non-tariff measures. Requires registration; search for free.
Economist.com. Complements The Economist in print.
DataFerrett. A data mining and extraction tool that allows the user to select variables and recode them as needed. Runs on an application icon the user installs on the desktop.
Resources for Economists on the Internet. An extensive directory, organized in general categories. Sponsored by the American Economic Association.
RePEc Genealogy. Documents, within the field of economics, who was a student of whom, when and where.
ICPSR, the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a primary source for data sets for WSU faculty and students, provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. You can download directly from ICPSR to any computer on one of the WSU campuses.
re3data.org, Registry of Research Data Repositories, is a global registry that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers,
Social Sciences Data: ICPSR and More provides links to data repositories and more information about ICPSR.
Data & Statistics, on the left of this LibGuide, under Internet Links, provides links to statistical sources.
For students, I can:
For faculty, I can: