Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Industry Research

Step-by-step guide for conducting industry research with links to sources of information

Statistical Sources

U.S. Census Bureau.  Beginning point to find statistics from the Census Bureau, including Economic Census statistics on industries.

U.C. Census Bureau.  Business & Industry.  Reports business and economic statistics from the Census Bureau.

Small Business. USA.gov.  Official business link to the U.S. Government.

USA.gov.  The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal.  Data and Statistics about the U.S..  Provides business statistics from several U.S. government agencies.

Chambers of Commerce.  Provide information about specific cities.  Search Google, e.g. "Spokane Chamber of Commerce", include quotes.

County Business Patterns.  Annual series includes a separate report for each State by county and a U.S. summary.  Covers agricultural services, forestry, and fisheries; mining; contract construction; manufacturing; transportation and other public utilities; wholesale trade; retail trade; finance, insurance, and real estate; and services.  Available back through 1993.

Washington State. Office of Financial Management.  Provides estimates of state and local population, monitors changes in the state economy and labor force, and conducts research on a variety of issues affecting the state budget and public policy.

Quarterly Business Review.  Washington State Department of  Revenue. Compilation of statistics on gross income, taxable retail sales by industry and accrued tax liability for cities, counties, and the State of Washington.

Employment Security Department. Washington State. Provides statistics on the labor market, industries, occupations, employment and unemployment for Washington State and regions within the state.

State of Washington Website.  Provides access to business, employment, and other state information.

Official Website of the State of Idaho.  Provides access to business, employment, and other state information.

Idaho.  Department of Commerce.  Provides access to economic and demographic statistics for the State of Idaho, its counties, and cities; provides information on the business climate and tourism.

FDIC State Profiles. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.  Provides a quarterly data sheet summation of banking and economic conditions in each state.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us