Skip to main content

Selecting a Journal for the Submission of Your Manuscript: Home

Selecting a Journal for the Submission of Your Manuscript

There are many factors to consider when submitting a manuscript of your research to a scholarly journal for peer review.This guide gives a few resources that can be useful when considering where to publish your research.

Journal Costs

Scholarly journals often have very high subscription prices and many libraries find these prices prohibitive. Due to price increases at rates that have exceeded the consumer price index by a substantial margin for several decades, many academic libraries have repeatedly been forced to cancel journal subscriptions. Please be aware that libraries usually pay a higher price for journals than do individuals. This is typically known as an "institutional subscription price".

To check subscription prices and many others details about individual periodicals please try

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

http://searchit.libraries.wsu.edu/WSU:CP7194828190001451

 

 Ulrich's is a continuously updated source of information on over 271,000 periodicals and serials, including scholarly journals, conference proceedings, newsletters and trade magazines from 80,000 publishers in over 200 countries.

 

Journalprices.com

http:/www.journalprices.com/ 

 Ted Bergstrom and Preston McAfee have created a journal cost-effectiveness database that evaluates selected scholarly journals by price per article, page and citation.


Also, individual websites for electronic journals will often list subscription prices for institutions and individuals as well as submission requirements.

The eigenfactor.org website includes data about article processing charges for Open Access Journals and also graphs these charges by article influence scores. Please see http://www.eigenfactor.org/openaccess/

Accessibility

Wide accessibility of a scholarly work allows for, but does not guarantee, a correspondingly wide reading audience and as a result can possibly result in higher number of citations to that work. With the advent of electronic publication of scholarly research, a movement to provide Open-Access to scholarly literature has developed and it has been demonstrated that "open-access articles have a greater research impact than articles that are not freely available" (Antelman, 2004). There is a tremendous range of Open Access permitted by copyright agreements between the authors and publishers of research literature.

 

Sherpa: Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving

http://www.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo/

The Sherpa site will assist you in finding a summary of permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement whether they are traditional 'toll access' publications or 'open access' publications. It is often worthwhile to contact the editors of a journal directly, since permissions and copyright terms are often negotiable.

 

Also refer to Ulrich's Periodicals Directory for information about a journal's total circulation http://searchit.libraries.wsu.edu/WSU:CP7194828190001451

 

See also the Directory of Open Access Journals  http://www.doaj.org/ for open access scholarly journals. Please be aware that there are some very questionable journals/publishers that use the moniker, "Open Access" Please see Beall’s List: of Potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open-access publishers.

 

Prestige

It is assumed that scholars at Washington State University will want to submit their work to journals, etc. that have a reputation for publishing the best research in a particular field. One method of determining the research importance of a publication is to use a database named Journal Citation Reports (JCR), http://searchit.libraries.wsu.edu/WSU:CP998835240001842  The data in JCRis derived from the well know Web of Science Citation database. This annual publication contains analyzed citation data for individual journal citations.  Another database to determine the research importance of a particular journal is SJR SCImago Journal & Country Rank http://www.scimagojr.com/ Its data is dervied from the Scopus Database.

 

Antelman, K. Do Open Access Articles Have a Greater research Impact? .  College and Research Libraries v. 65 no. 5 (September 2004) p. 372-82

 

 

 

Created 11/05 JRC, Latest Revision, 2/15 JRC

            

Subject Guide

Joel Cummings's picture
Joel Cummings
Contact:
Head of Collection Development and

Collection Manager for Agriculture, Engineering and the Sciences.

Owen Science & Engineering Library 139

Washington State University

(509)335-6493
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us