Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly Research Databases
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation indexes, Journal Citation Reports, BIOSIS Previews, BIOSIS Citation Index, Derwent Innovations patent searching, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. Updated weekly.
AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
CAB Abstracts (CABI)
Citations with abstracts to the world literature on all aspects of agriculture including forestry and nutrition. Updated weekly. Contains all data from these individual CABI indexes: Agroforestry Abstracts, Field Crop Abstracts, Forest Products Abstracts, Forestry Abstracts, Grassland and forage Abstracts, Horticultural Abstracts, Irrigation and Drainage Abstracts, Nutrition Abstracts : Human Nutrition, Plant Breeding Abstracts, Potato Abstracts, Review of Plant Pathology, Seed Abstracts, Soils and Fertilizers, Weed Abstracts, Wheat Barley and Triticale Abstracts.
BIOSIS Citation Index. Web of Science.
The most comprehensive biological sciences research index, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. The new BIOSIS Citation Index combines the unique BIOSIS content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing.
Full text access to: Chemical Abstracts since 1907, Chemical Abstracts Registry CASREACT: since 1974, Medline since 1985, Chemcats and ChemList since 1979. First time users MUST register.
Open data from the federal to the local level
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)
GBIF s an international network and research infrastructure funded by the world’s governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
USDA: Ag Data Commons
Provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research and related domains such as agronomy, genomics, hydrology, soils, agro-ecosystems, sustainability science, and economic statistics. Data included in the Ag Data Commons is funded in whole or in part by USDA.
USDA: National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
NASS conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.
USDA: Washington Agricultural Statistics Service
Provides various data sets and statistics as part of the USDA Northwest Regional Field Office
USDA Open Data Catalog
This catalog is the authoritative source of publicly available USDA data and contains a wide range of data types and sources
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Topic Exploration
Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food and Biological Engineering
This is a comprehensive guide on raw production technology. It examines the role of engineering in delivery of quality consumer products.
Encyclopedia of Evolution
A comprehensive guide to the essentials of evolutionary biology, these entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies.
Encyclopedia of Mammals
The Encyclopedia of Mammals has been comprehensively revised and updated to reflect the most recent developments in modern zoology. It covers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world in clear, accessible language, and is superbly illustrated throughout with photographs and original artwork.
Dictionary of Animal Behaviour
This dictionary covers every aspect of animal behaviour and includes terms from the related fields of ecology, physiology and psychology. It includes specific examples where appropriate, covering all aspects of behaviour from aggression to courtship.
World Animal Health Information Database (WAHIS) Interface
The WAHID Interface provides access to all data held within OIE's new World Animal Health Information System (WAHIS). It replaces and significantly extends the former web interface named Handistatus II System.
Animal Health & Production Compendium - AHPC (CABI)
The Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) is an interactive multimedia encyclopedia covering livestock and poultry topics, focusing on animal production, diseases, breeding, nutrition, and husbandry. Includes texts, photos, diagnostic aids, graphs, maps ,etc.
Important Animal Sciences Journals