Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Entomology

WSU Extension researchers in the field
















WSU Extension. (2007). WSU Extension educators Gwen-Alyn Hoheisel and Michael Bush examine insect orchard pests. From WSU Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections.

Top Picks to Find Scholarly Research

Below are some great research databases where you will find peer reviewed research, conference proceedings, and much more. If you need any assistance using these databases contact David Luftig who is the agricultural sciences librarian at WSU. 

If you are unsure if a resource is peer reviewed, you can use Ulrich's Periodicals to see if the journal is peer-reviewed.

Other Useful Scholarly Databases

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Digital Collections & Historic Resources

Smithsonian National Museum Entomological Collection Search  - Approximately 450,000 records are currently available in this online catalog, including Genetic Samples, and the Primary Type, Specimen, and Species Inventories. Also available are the Illustration Archive records that include images and data about published scientific illustrations. See also:

Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) - Provides an extensive collection of digital materials and books, See also:

Cornell University Insect Collection - A large, searchable, resource with thousands of digital images.

New York Public Library Digital Collections: Illustrations of exotic entomology - An enormous collection of pre-1920 illustrated zoologies from Europe and the Americas. 

The WSU Manuscript & Special Collections (MASC) - MASC has an extensive collection of historic resources pertaining to WSU entomology. They also have a large digital collection

 

*To find info on the history of land use and agriculture (including photographs, maps, publications, and much more), take a look at the WSU Libraries' history of agriculture library research guide.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us