Skip to main content

Food Science

Find Patents

Patent are a set of protocols that exist to protect intellectual property. Patents are granted via a country or a group of countries (such as the United Nations). Patents are granted to an inventor for a limited duration, To get a patent, the inventor must provide detailed information regarding their invention. 

Patents are typically granted from specific countries. Patent numbers usually have a prefix that indicates the patent granting country.

For example, the patent US5418517A was generated from within the United States. This link provides the prefixes/country codes for patents

Patent Resources

  • Google Patents - Provides many full-texts of patents in an easy to search interface. It's the first place I go to find patents.
  • United States Patent and Trademark Organization (USPTO) - Includes full text of U.S. patents and patent application information. Unfortunately, the search capabilities of the USPTO site are limited.
  • Derwent Innovation Index (Web of Science) -  Derwent provides access to more than 15,000,000 patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and (some) full-text patent data sources. 
  • Washington State University Libraries - You can search for patents in the WSU library catalog by limiting your search results to display only "patents."

Find Standards

Technical Standards are agreed upon ways to build, test, and ensure compatibility among products. Standards tend to come from either national and international organizations. 

There are a numerous national and international organizations standard organizations. Such organizations include the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), American Section of the International Association for Testing Materials (ASTM), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and many more.

For more assistance regarding finding technical standards, please refer to this library guide

Find Federal Data

Most Federal agencies provide technical reports, safety requirements, regulatory information, and various other useful resources to researchers free of charge.

Multi-Office Federal Data Repositories

  • Data.gov - The general repository for federal data. Includes lots of different data sets and information. 

Census Bureau

Department of Agriculture (DOA)

Department of Energy (DOE)

  • Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) - Collects, preserves, and disseminates scientific and technical information emanating from DOE-funded research and development activities.
  • DOE Data Explorer - The DOE Data Explorer is the Office of Scientific and Technical Information's search tool for finding DOE-funded, publicly available, scientific data submitted by data centers, repositories, and other organizations funded by the DOE. Includes dataset records.
  • Energy Information Administration (EIA) The EIA is the statistical and analytical agency within the DOE. The EIA collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote policymaking and public understanding of energy.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

  • Regulatory and Guidance Library - An index of FAA regulations including many aviation regulatory, certification, and safety information documents.
  • FAA Data & Research - Provides information regarding how FAA research is done, datasets and statistics, and information on funding and grants. 

Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

National Technical Information Service (NTIS)

  • NTIS.gov - Provides government and private industry collaborative technical data.
  • National Technical Reports Library- Provides a searchable database for bibliographic citations and full text technical reports over a wide range of subjects starting in 1990. Full text is available by creating a free account.
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us