LibGuides: Political Science: Datasets

Bibliographies of Data-Related Literature

Bibliography of Data-Related Literature (ICPSR)
"...a continuously-updated database of thousands of citations of works using data held in the ICPSR archive. The works include journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts, magazine and newspaper articles, and audiovisual materials."
European Social Survey Bibliography Tool
"The European Social Survey (ESS) is an academically driven cross-national survey that has been conducted across Europe since its establishment in 2001. Every two years, face-to-face interviews are conducted with newly selected, cross-sectional samples."
Bibliography of Publications Using Roper Center Data
"This is a bibliography of publications that use data from the Roper Center. Some cite information on overall responses obtained from iPOLL; some are based on individual-level analyses of datasets held by the Roper Center, and others use our Presidential approval series or other indexes constructed from Roper Center data." Research articles only.
Note: We no longer have access to the Roper Center or its iPoll database, but this bibliography is still useful.

GIS: Geographic Information Systems

Voting and Elections

Party Government Data Set - Dr. J.J. Woldendorp - Faculteit der Sociale Wetenschappen, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
"The Party Government Data Set (PGDS) files cover 39 parliamentary democracies from 1945, or the year these countries became a parliamentary democracy (again)., through 2008. This update of the PGDS is based on the 2000 edition (Woldendorp et al. 2000). "
Election Data Archive Dataverse (Harvard University)

Datasets

ICPSR (The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) is a major source of social science datasets for Washington State University faculty, students and staff. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. You can download directly from ICPSR to any computer on all of the WSU campuses; you can also download off-campus once you have created an ICPSR account (the account needs to be logged in at least once every six months from a campus location. Contact Lorena if this is an issue).

Because of licensing restrictions certain categories of data held or made available by ICPSR are only available to current WSU students, faculty, or staff. Patrons wishing to gain access to the datafiles and documentation available at WSU or needing assistance with downloading information from ICPSR should contact Lorena O'English at 509-335-2695 or oenglish@wsu.edu.

Other Political Science Datasets and Data Archives

This box, and this whole page, and this entire guide is/are works-in-progress...

Comparative Agendas Project
"The Policy Agendas Project collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War."
WorldBank Data
Over 1000 indicators
Institute for Social and Policy Studies (ISPS) Data Archive
Yale
American National Election Studies
General Social Survey
International Monetary Find eLibrary
A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns 1787 - 1825
UNdata
"...brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point."
The Global Elections Database [Dr. Dawn Brancati, WU-SL)
Election Passport | Providing election data from around the world.

About Political Science Data

Seven Deadly Sins of Contemporary Quantitative Political Analysis (Paper)
Damn Lies and Cat Statistics
Data Access and Research Transparancy (DA-RT)
"DA-RT aspires to support the efforts of a diverse array of scholars and multiple types of organizations. DA-RT encourages scholars to conduct effective and valuable research to increase scholarship's credibility and legitimacy through increased transparency and openness."
For more about this and political science, see this
For a critique, look here,/a.

Libraries

Political Science