LibGuides: Strategic Communication: Market & Demographic Data

Useful Books and Databases

Claritas 360
Provides current estimates of consumer-oriented information at either a National, State, Metropolitan or County level that can be laid out into an Excel spreadsheet, maps or charts. You can also create a customized area of geographic concern by pulling together combinations of selected states, metro areas or individual counties.
From the SRDS home page, click on "Claritas 360" to enter the database

More information on Claritas Segmentation & Market Solutions is available on the Claritas 360 Guide.

Lifestyle Market Analyst by Standard Rate & Data Service.; National Demographics & Lifestyles.; Polk Company (Denver, Colo.); Equifax, Inc.
Call Number: HF 5415.33 U6 L54
Available from 1994-2008. The most recent print volume is kept on reserve, but for current coverage, see the Claritas 360 database (more info above).
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Call Number: Reference Desk and Online
Publication Date: 19790 -
Major Statistics covering the basics such as population, income, occupation, etc. Click the "Online Access for Everyone" link in the WSU WorldCat record for the most recent edition.
Survey of Buying Power and Media Markets
Call Number: HF 5438 S21x
WSU Libraries hold volumes from 1997-2005.

Gives retail sales, effective buying Income, and population data for both metro markets and media markets (DMAs). Includes 5-year projections.

More Resources

You may also want to look at the Marketing LibGuide, by Gabriella Reznowski, WSU's Business and Economics Librarian.

Nielsen Data

WSU does not have a subscription Nielsen's premium database but much is available free on their website, and this data can be very useful when looking at marked segmentation. Nielsen provides featured insights and reports on their website, http://www.nielsen.com/us/en.html.

Libraries

Strategic Communication

Useful Books and Databases

More Resources

Nielsen Data