LibGuides: Strategic Communication: Finding Company Info

Useful Databases

Please also see the Company Research LibGuide, created by Mary Gilles, WSU's Business and Economics Librarian.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Scholarly business database, including articles from business journals, financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Nexis Uni
Provides access to full text legal and abstracted information from newspapers, magazines, company annual reports, and more
IBISWorld
When doing company research, it helps to get a profile of the industry in which the company operates. IBISWorld provides reports on over 700 industries, written at the 5-digit level of NAICS. Company market share data can be found in the “Major Companies” section of each industry report.

International Directory of Company Histories
Call Number: Ref HD 2721 I63 1988
Volumes are located in the Terrell Library Reference area. This resource provides in depth and up-to-date company history information for United States owned and international companies.
LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
Call Number: Ref HG4057 .A219
Publication Date: 2008
All 8 volumes for 2008 are located in the Terrell Library Reference area.
Million Dollar Directory (Dun and Bradstreet)
Call Number: Ref HC102 .D8
Publication Date: 2010
Both volumes for 2010 are located in the Terrell Library Reference area.
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys
Call Number: HC106.6 .S74
Current volumes are located in the Terrell Library Reference area.
Ward's Business Directory of of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Call Number: Ref HG4057 .A575
All 8 volumes for 2010 are located in the Terrell Library Reference area.

Internet Links

2002 Economic Census. Look here for industry data compiled and published by the federal government. This may also be searched using American Fact Finder.
Annual Report Gallery. Online annual reports for many publicly traded companies.
Bizstats: Especially useful for research on small business topics.
Business Plan Archive. Real business plans available free, going back to the birth of the dot com era.
CogMap: The Org Chart Wiki. A Wiki that provides organization charts for companies and other organizations.
EDGAR Database of Corporate Information (SEC). Company filings online. See also 10K Wizard.
Hoover's Online: Company and industry information, financial news. A more complete version of Hoover's is available through Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
International Standad Industrial Classification (ISIC Revision 3). Source of information about industrial classifications, similar to NAICS and SIC, for international purposes. From the United Nations.
NAICS (North American Industry Classification System). Use "NAICS Search to identify official classification information about an industry. Another useful function converts NAICS classifications to SIC and vice versa.