Bullis, R.O. (1959). "Poultry research." WSU Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections.
You may be tasked with finding “scholarly” sources. But what does that mean?
There are different types of resources that your will typically find within research databases. Such resources can often be placed into one of two categories: popular press and scholarly sources.
The term scholarly typically means that the source has been “peer-reviewed.” The Peer-reviewed process is a lengthy editing and review process performed by scholars in the field to check the quality and validity of the research.
There are several ways to determine if an article has been peer-reviewed. Within the WSU Libraries' search it catalog a peer-reviewed article will typically have a peer-reviewed tag which looks like this:
You can also search for the journal title in UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory to evaluate if it has been peer-reviewed. Not every article published in a peer-reviewed journal has gone through the peer-review process, so you will need to look at the journal's publishing process and evaluate the article itself. This can be confusing but I am happy to assist.
Here's more info from the WSU Libraries regarding peer-reviewed research.
Want to learn more about what peer-reviewed is? Watch this 3:16 video from North Carolina State University.
Methods for Determining if a Journal Is Peer-Reviewed:
Note: Determining if an article is peer-reviewed can occasionally be confusing. Not everything within a peer-reviewed journal is necessarily peer-reviewed. For example, peer-reviewed journals might have book reviews or editorials. When in doubt, ask your instructor or a librarian.
Method #1
Check the Publisher's Website
Typically the journal website will have information regarding whether it is a peer reviewed publication. That info is generally found in an "About" section.
Method #2
Search the Ulrich's Directory
Ulrich's Directory is a directory of journals which provides information regarding if a journal is peer-reviewed, open access, its place of publication, etc. You can use Ulrich's Directory to see if the journal is peer-reviewed.
Peer-Reviewed journals in Ulrich's will have a referee icon next to the title if the journal is peer-reviewed, like in the picture below:
This video was created by the Walden Libraries and explains how to search Ulrich's to see if a journal is peer-reviewed.
Method #3
If you're still unsure, email me and I'll take a look!