Masao Masui, a visiting scientist who specialized in asparagus tissue culture, holding a conical flask and examining its contents. (1969) Prosser, Washington. Washington Rural Heritage Collection.

There are many different agencies and resources that provide information regarding food regulations, laws, and standards. These resources range from local to international government agencies as well as independent organizations and news agencies. Below or some resources to help you understand and find such information. 

As always, if you have any questions please contact me,  

Washington State Department of Agriculture - Provides extensive localized resources regarding food safety regulations, services, and advocacy programs.

U.S. Government Information Repository - Provides an extensive, searchable, database which includes extensive reports and information of food safety, regulations, laws, etc.

          For other federal regulatory resources see

• The US. Government's Regulation Repository  - Information pertaining to the development of regulations issued by the U.S. government. 
• The Food & Drug Administration Food Code  - Information regarding the implementation of food regulatory policies among several thousand federal, state, local agencies and tribal governments. 
• Food Safety.Gov -  Serves as the gateway for current federal food safety information.
• National Center for Agricultural Law Research - Created in 1987 via an act of Congress, the NALC provides authoritative agricultural and food law research and information.

The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - An international organization that provides reports, guidance, and regulations with hopes of improving global food security and safety. 

There are many more organizations that study and/or regulate food and food services. See the Michigan State University Food Law and Regulations research guide for more links.

The following links to resources will help you examine corporate and industry profiles via trade publications, press releases, and court cases. etc.

Helpful Industry Resources

• Nexis Uni - Provides information on U.S. and international private and public companies. Info may include: Company description and history, competitors, subsidiaries, size, officers and directors, annual stock price averages, and more. This database also allows you to search state and federal court cases.
• Business Source Complete - Allows you to search company and industry information across popular press, trade journals, product reviews, and much more. Also provides information regarding company and industry profiles. 

Useful Databases & Resources

• Newspaper Source - This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources.
• Nexis Uni - An excellent source for searching for information within state/regional/US newspapers (including the New York Times) as well as English-language foreign newspapers and foreign language newspapers. 
• Washington State newspaper resources (NewsBank/Readex) - Includes many Washington State newspapers including the Seattle Times and the Moscow Pullman Daily News.

For more info, see the WSU Libraries News and Newspaper Research Guide.