Here is a selected list of databases frequently used for research in literature. This list is a starting point, and depending on your research, you may also want to look at history, film studies, fine arts, or other databases.
Comprehensive coverage of modern languages and literature, including folklore. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and book history. Search Tips
Gale Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing across various Gale literature products. Access points include authors and their works, literary movements and genres, with selected full-texts of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews.
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html
Scholarly projects demand reliable content. Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
LCO covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres, offering tens of thousands of hard-to-find critical essays. Database subscriptions include the following titles: Contemporary literary criticism; Nineteenth-Century literature criticism; Literature criticism from 1400-1800; and Children's literature review.
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare
An open access database that incorporates EBSCO's previously released American Doctoral Dissertations along with additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. The database provides researchers with citations to graduate research from the early 20th century to the present. Formerly called American Doctoral Dissertations.