Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biofortification Scoping Review Project

Setting Your Preferences in an EBSCO Database

Setting Your Share Preferences in an EBSCO Database (Like Agricola)

 

This tutorial will assist you in setting your preferences so as to best export bulk citations from an EBSCO database like AGRICOLA.

Note: I've been fooling around with these settings and am still getting backslashes on the dates within Zotero. Still, it might be worthwhile to mess around with some of these settings too. I've found that RIS, so far, is still working the best with regard to importing citations.

(click images to see them larger)

Step 1:On the top right corner of the database, select "Preferences."

EBSCO_Preferences

 


Step 2: Within the Preferences menu:

- Change Standard Field Format to "Detailed Citation and Abstract" I've also tried changing the Citation Format to APA 7th Edition but I am still getting those backslashes on the dates within Zotero.

- in Export settings, I have the dropdown boxes set to:

Save citations to a file format for: Direct Export in RIS format

E-mail a file with citations in: RIS Format (E.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, etc)

EBSCO_Preference_Settings

 

 

Step 3: Click Save

 

Exporting Citations from EBSCO Databases (like AGRICOLA)

Exporting All Citations from an EBSCO Database (Like Agricola) & Importing Them Into Zotero

This guide will assist you in bulk exporting citations from an EBSCO database and importing them into Zotero.

Note: I've been having some issues getting EBSCO to consistently email me the shared citations. Sometimes they come through my email and other times they just never arrive. I'm not sure what's causing this error and I'm looking into it.

 

Step 1: Conduct your search.


Step 2: When search is complete, click "Share."

Agricola Share

 


Step 3: Under the Share menu, select "Export results : Email a link to download exported results (up to XXX*)"

* This number will indicate all of the resources found in your search which can be imported into Zotero all at once.

Ebsco Email Results


 

Step 4:

- On the right side of the screen, you'll see a prompt that says:

Email a link to a file with citations in:

You will select: "RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero)"

- Enter your email address and a comment (if needed)

See Note from above regarding EBSCO's inconsistencies when sending this email 

Emailing Citations from Ebsco

 

Importing Those Citations Into Zotero

Importing the EBSCO Citations (that you emailed yourself) Into Zotero 

This tutorial will assist you with importing the citations that you just sent yourself (see tutorial above) into Zotero.

Here's a video if that's easier:

 

 

Or follow these steps:

Step 1: Open the email from EBSCO and right click the link - do a "Save Link As"

Save Links As Prompt


Step 2: Some operating systems will warn you against saving this link (e.g. "zip can't be downloaded securely"). Within Windows 10 you will need to specify that you want to "Keep" this file.

Keep zipped file prompt


Step 3:

- Save file

- Extract the file

- Rename the file (not the folder) to something helpful (the collection name in Zotero will take its name from the file name

Rename File


 

Step 4: Open Zotero (I use the desktop app for this)

- Click File -> Import from the top right menu.


Step 5: Select Next

Import File

 


Step 6: Locate your file. The file name will become your collection name within Zotero.

Select File Type


Step 7: Select "Copy files to the Zotero storage folder." This process may take a while depending upon the number of citations.

File Handling


 

After you import these citations you will have a Zotero collection/folder with the files name.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us