Family Search is a genealogy database that provides free accounts to users. Through this website The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints also offers access to genealogical resources, online classes and instructional videos.

The USGenWeb Project is made possible through the work of volunteers to identify free genealogy websites for research in every county and every state of the United States. Your searches will be most effective if you know the state and country where the relative you are researching settled.

Ancestry.com user-contributed site providing for sharing geneaological information. Also provides some access to census records and vital statistics.

The Ellis Island foundation oversees the American Family Immigration History Center, a resource of over 25 million arrival records from over 900 ships.

The website of the Immigrant Ships Transcriber's Guild (ISTG). You can search their database using the link at the top left of the page to locate passenger lists containing your family name.

A project sponsored by Brigham Young University's Center for Family History and Genealogy. To create the database, images of emigrant records are transmitted over the Web to volunteers who extract their contents and send them back to the project team at Brigham Young University. (BYU). BYU students are hired as part of the project team to supervise the volunteers and edit their work before adding it to the database.

Birth, marriage and death indexes for Scotland and digitized images of many of the certificates and census returns for Scotland.

Resources for genealogical research available through the National Archives.

The GeoNames geographical database covers all countries and contains over eight million placenames that are available for download free of charge.

This wiki can be browsed by country and contains excellent tips on family research by country of origin.

A blog that comments on updates and improvements to both Ancestry.com and FamilySearch.org

Links to vital statistics sites for Canadian provinces and territories where birth, marriage, and death records can be searched.