Masao Masui, a visiting scientist who specialized in asparagus tissue culture, holding a conical flask and examining its contents. (1969) Prosser, Washington. Washington Rural Heritage Collection.
Your various class assignments require you to have an understanding of how functional foods may be viewed and written about within popular press like newspapers, magazines, and trade publications..
There are many places to find popular press and trade publications regarding your FS 531 research projects.
For example, you can search Academic Search Complete to find many such resources. Academic Search Complete is a large database that features newspapers, magazine, trade publications, and much more. You can filter your results to just newspapers, etc.
Additionally, Newspaper Source Plus is a database that provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources.
Another good place to start may be https://www.sciencedaily.com
Although encyclopedias are typically not peer-reviewed, or considered scholarly resources, they can be a fantastic place to learn background information on your super-plant.
This dictionary gives wide coverage on topics including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, bio-geography, earth history, and the earth sciences. There is worldwide coverage of taxonomic groups - one-third of the entries are devoted to taxa, from bacteria and fungi to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants.
This is a comprehensive guide on raw production technology. It examines the role of engineering in delivery of quality consumer products.
This encyclopedia covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. The articles treat regions, people, ingredients, companies, advertising, historical eras, holidays and festivals, and political, scientific, and economic currents pertinent to American cuisine.
