Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hort 418/518

This guide will assist you with doing horticulture research for Hort 418/518

Start Your Plant Investigation

wsu_extension_asparagus_culture

Masao Masui, a visiting WSU scientist who specialized in asparagus tissue culture, holding a conical flask and examining its contents. (1969) Prosser, Washington. Washington Rural Heritage Collection.

 

Your multi-phase project requires you to do some preliminary and some scholarly research on a plant. This page is intended to assist you in finding some background information regarding the plant you've chosen.

As noted in your instruction sheet, a good place to start is https://www.sciencedaily.com

Encyclopedias and Topic Starters

Although encyclopedias are typically not peer-reviewed or considered "scholarly resources" they can be a fantastic place to learn background information on your super-plant.

Find Newspapers, Books, Trade & Extension Publications

Newspapers and Trade Publications

For a full list of newspapers available to WSU affiliates, please read this WSU research guide. 

See also:

Washington State University Digital Extensions Collection - Historically, Extension programs provided a means of reaching farmers and homemakers while avoiding the time and hazards involved in travel. A wide range of topics are covered within these materials. Various Extension publications are compiled within this collection dating back to 1892. The collection is currently being constructed. You can also find Extension materials, both physical and eResources, within the library's catalog.   

Washington State University Manuscripts $ Special Collections (MASC) - MASC has an extensive collection of University and regional publications. Many are online.  

Historical Resources

To find info on the history of land use and agriculture (including photographs, maps, publications, and much more), take a look at the history of agriculture library research guide.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us