LibGuides: Hort/Crop Sci 102: Phase I: Find Background Information

Start Your Plant Investigation

Washington State University. Extension (1969). Masao Masui and asparagus, Prosser, Washington. Retrieved from the Washington Rural Heritage Collection.

See the links below for assistance with finding recent research on your plant. There's many other places to get started too. Let me know if you need assistance.

Science Daily (sciencedaily.com) - As noted on your Phase 1 instructions, Science Daily is a great source for recent research on your plant. They provide summaries of recent research projects.

The WSU Libraries' Catalog is a great place to find primary and secondary sources. This includes popular press articles (like newspapers and trade publications), books, and peer-reviewed research.

Find Newspapers & Trade Publications

Newspapers and Trade Publications

For a full list of newspapers available to WSU affiliates, please read this WSU Newspapers and News research guide

My top pick for finding newspaper articles and trade publications is Nexis Uni (see below).

Newspaper Source Plus
This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This database Provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900. Includes titles from throughout the United States, many published in what were, at the time, only territories. Papers selected cover a broad spectrum, with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.
Daily Evergreen (WSU Student Newspaper)
Washington State University, then the Washington Agricultural College and School of Science, began classes on January 13th, 1892, and its first student-published newspaper, the College Record, was published the next month. The College Record was printed monthly throughout 1892 and the 1892-1893 school year. The next student newspaper, the Evergreen, began in Spring of 1895 and has been published regularly since. Today the newspaper is published five days a week and is known as the Daily Evergreen, although "Daily" did not become part of the title until 1979.
Seattle Times (1896-1984) (Readex)
This database provides full text coverage of the Seattle Times, a major Northwest newspaper, from 1896 to 1984. Currently contains material back to 1900, including articles and advertisements.
Nexis Uni
Provides access to full text legal and abstracted information from newspapers, magazines, company annual reports, and more
JSTOR
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html

National & WSU Extension Publications

Historically, Extension programs provided a means of reaching farmers and homemakers while avoiding the time and hazards involved in travel. Today they cover a wide range of topics from agriculture, forestry, animal science, health and nutrition, gardening, home economics, and much more. Extensions are run out of the land-grant universities across the United States.

You can find extension publications at the following sites:

United States Agricultural Information Network (USAIN) Extension & Experiment Station Publications - A large collection of links to multidisciplinary online extension resources from nearly every extension in the United States. Includes extension reports, peer-reviewed publications, newsletters, images, etc.

Washington State University Digital Extensions Collection - A wide range of topics are covered within these materials. Various Extension publications are compiled within this collection dating back to 1892. The collection is currently being constructed. You can also find Extension materials, both physical and eResources, within the library's catalog.

Washington State University Manuscripts & Special Collections (MASC) - MASC has an extensive collection of University and regional publications. Many are online.

You can find contemporary WSU Extension publications via the WSU Extensions Publications website.

Additionally, you can find Extension impact reports using this link. An impact report provides assessment and participation data from many Extension programs over the years.

Encyclopedias and Other Topic Starters

Although encyclopedias are typically not peer-reviewed or considered "scholarly resources" they can be a fantastic place to learn background information on your super-plant.

Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science
This encyclopedia covers classic and modern studies in plant biology in conjunction with research, applications, and innovations in crop science.

Libraries

Hort/Crop Sci 102

Ask a Question

Start Your Plant Investigation

Find Newspapers & Trade Publications

Newspapers and Trade Publications

National & WSU Extension Publications

Encyclopedias and Other Topic Starters

Other Helpful Websites