Chemawa Picking Hops in Charles McNary Hop Yard, circa 1909. Yakima Community Public Access. Plateau Peoples' Web Portal.

Multi-Resource Sites

The following sites have many different types of resources (such as books, photographs, moving images, etc.)

• The U.S. National Agriculture Library (NAL) Digital Collections - The NAL provides a a wide scope of online historic materials including publications, reports, agricultural law documents, art, seed catalogs, and much more. 
• The Internet Archive (archive.org) - An extensive multidisciplinary resource that includes books, photographs, movies, ephemera, and much more. For example, here's a publication from 1901 about the flora of the Palouse.
• The Plateau Peoples' Web Portal -   A collaboration between many northwestern and plains tribes, the WSU Center for Digital Scholarship and Curation, and other organizations. This portal serves as an extensive repository of cultural materials from many different sources and across many different mediums. Includes hand written materials, photographs, audio/visual recordings, and more.
• State of Washington Library Digital Collections and Resources Guide - A guide detailing the many online collections from the State of Washington Library.  

Historically, Extension programs provided a means of reaching farmers and homemakers while avoiding the time and hazards involved in travel.  Today they cover a wide range of topics from agriculture, forestry, animal science, health and nutrition, gardening, home economics, and much more. Extensions are run out of the land-grant universities across the United States. 

You can find extension publications at the following sites:

United States Agricultural Information Network (USAIN) Extension & Experiment Station Publications -  A large collection of links to multidisciplinary online extension resources from nearly every extension in the United States. Includes extension reports, peer-reviewed publications, newsletters, images, etc.

Washington State University Digital Extensions Collection - A wide range of topics are covered within these materials. Various Extension publications are compiled within this collection dating back to 1892. The collection is currently being constructed. You can also find Extension materials, both physical and eResources, within the library's catalog.   

Washington State University Manuscripts & Special Collections (MASC) - MASC has an extensive collection of University and regional publications. Many are online.  

You can find contemporary WSU Extension publications via the WSU Extensions Publications website.

Additionally, you can find Extension impact reports using this link. An impact report provides assessment and participation data from many Extension programs over the years. 

Photographs

National Collections with Regional Content

• Library of Congress Digital Collections - A very large collection of digital materials covering many subjects including agriculture and environmental sciences. 
• United States Geological Survey (USGS)  - A searchable archive of thousands of USGS historic photos.

Regional Content

• Washington State University Libraries Digital Collections - WSU Libraries Digital Collections provide access to the academic and cultural heritage of Washington State and the Palouse Region.
• Washington State Library Photograph Collection, 1851-1990 - This collection consists of 5,274 images of various subjects related to Washington's history, people, geography, and economic development (1851-1990).
• University of Washington Online Special Collections - Digital collections covering a wide range of subjects pertaining to regional history.
• Whitman County (Washington) Rural Heritage Collection - Many historical images of agriculture around the state and on the Palouse.
• Idaho State Archives / Historical Society - Collection of Idaho historic digital collections.
• Idaho Transportation Photo Collection - 30,000+ historic pictures.
• Idaho State Archives Photographs - The photograph collection includes over 500,000 images, dating from the territorial period to present day.

First Nations and Peoples 

• The Plateau Peoples' Web Portal (Collections) -   The Plateau is a  Peoples' Web Portal collaboration between many northwestern and plains tribes and the WSU Center for Digital Scholarship and Curation. This portal serves as an extensive repository of cultural materials including many photographs. 
• University of Washington American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection - An extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.
• Washington State University Manuscripts and Special Collections (MASC) Nez Perce Photograph Collection - Nez Perce Photographs, ca. 1877-1905. Also see the U.S. Library of Congress Nez Perce photograph collection. 
  • Browse the MASC Digital Collections to see many more images of First Nations and Peoples.

Maps

• Washington State University Manuscripts and Special Collections Early Washington Maps Collections - Over 1200 historic maps of Washington in high resolution.
• Washington State Library Historical Maps - A wide range of different types of historic maps regarding Washington State. 
• USGS Map Collection - A wide range of maps ranging from topographic to land use. Maps are searchable but the website can be cumbersome.
• USGS Mineral Resources Online Spatial Data - Interactive and searchable maps regarding natural resources
• USGS National Geospatial Program - Representing searchable historical geospatial data regarding topography, natural landscape, and manmade environments of the United States.
• USGS Water Data for the Nation - These pages provide access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.9 million sites. The USGS investigates the occurrence, quantity, quality, distribution, and movement of surface and underground waters and disseminates the data to the public.
• Library of Congress Map Collection - Large searchable collection of numerous types of maps.

*You can find maps by using the WSU Search It library catalog and limiting your results to display to display just maps. View this image demonstrating how to limit your searches to display just maps. 

Satellite Images 

• Google Satellite Time Lapse - Allows users to look at time lapse satellite images going back, in some instances, thirty-five years. 
• NASA Worldview - Allows users to create time lapse imagery of geographic locations taken from satellite images. 

Land and Title Records

• Bureau of Land Management Historic Records - Land survey and mineral information records from the General Land Office going back to 1812.
• Bureau of Land Management Washington and Oregon Land Status & Survey Records - Historic documents and records pertaining to land surveys, ownership, and use. 

Soil Surveys

• United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Soil Surveys - A subject gateway to soil surveys, soil geography, major land resource areas (MLRA) and ecological regions (CER), and a soil geochemistry spatial database.
• USDA Historic Soil Surveys from the State of Washington - County by county historical soil surveys of Washington State. 
• Natural Resources Conservation Service - Modern and historic U.S. soil surveys.

Newspapers and Trade Publications

For a full list of newspapers available to WSU affiliates, please read this WSU research guide.