Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology 490

About this guide

This guide is meant to provide help accessing the resources you need for your Annotated Bibliography assignment in Anth 490. Here you will find help accessing specific library resources needed for your project.

Here you will also find some more general information about library services and resources and on how you can leverage these services and resources as Global Campus stiudents.

Getting to Library Resources

In order to access most databases and full-text content you need to log in with your WSU network ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log into MyWSU).

From the Libraries Homepage:

If you do a search for WSU Library or WSU Libraries, you should see a link to the Libraries homepage - https.libraries.wsu.edu - in the top of your search results. From this page you can:

  • Search the Search It discovery system to find articles, books, media, government documents, etc. by searching with keywords, by author names, or by titles.
  • Access our databases to search for online journal and news publications

One benefit of starting at the homepage is that this site is set up to log you in through our proxy server so that you have full access to our online collections.

Easier Access to Online Full-Text Content

When doing research off-campus, your browser may not recognize that you are affiliated with WSU, and you may need to keep pausing to log in, which can be frustrating. Below you’ll find tools to use to help you immediate access to a resource online, without having to halt your research and track down the source on the library’s website.

Proxy Bookmarklet

One way to make it easier to get to full-text sources from Google or Google Scholar is to install and use the Proxy Bookmarklet. The bookmarklet makes it easier to log in to WSU Libraries so that, if you find a source on the open web that is in our online collections, you can access it quickly.

LibKey Nomad

If you are doing research outside of the Libraries’ website using Chrome (or a Chromium-based browser, such as Brave or Opera), try using LibKey Nomad. A browser extension for Chrome, LibKey Nomad connects you to full-text library resources with one click.

To start using LibKey Nomad, install the Chrome extension. Once installed, select Washington State University from the drop-down menu, then navigate to a site like PubMed to see how LibKey Nomad instantly notifies you of available full text and connects you in one click.

 

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us