Skip to main content

Veterinary Medicine/Veterinary Science: Find Articles, Journals, Proceedings and Books

Troubleshooting

Having trouble with access to library resources? Here are a few ideas:

  1. Try a different browser (Internet Explorer, Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, etc.)
  2. Clear your browser's cache and cookies. Instructions available at http://www.refreshyourcache.com/en/home/.
  3. Consult the WSU Libraries Fixing Common Online Access Issues page.
  4. Click "report an access issue" linked at the bottom of every SearchIT catalog record.

Locating Proceedings

Using the SearchIT Catalog

We share our library catalog with 37 institutions in the Orbis-Cascade Alliance, and the WSU library collection is dispersed throughout our campuses around the state. This means you might need to order some items through Summit Request or Interlibrary Loan. If you need something right away, limit your search in SearchIt on the WSU Libraries home page to a specific WSU campus.

To locate a print or online journal in SearchIT : Enter the title of the journal in the search box. Do NOT use abbreviations. Limit to Type Journals in the left side bar.

To locate a print or online journal article in SearchIT : ‚ÄčEnter keywords in the search box and limit to Type Articles. Many articles we have access to cannot be found by title in SearchIT. Find them in a database (PubMed, Web of Science, etc.) and click on the FindIt@WSU button.

To find journal articles via databases:  From the WSU Libraries home page Find Journal Articles>Databases A to Z. Click on the  FindIt@WSU icons in the database to open full-text or to order through interlibrary loan after logging in to SearchIT. You will be directed to ILLiad. Notices are sent to your WSU (not vetmed) email when articles arrive.

To find books:  After you search, limit to Type Print Books and eBooks. Note the library location and call number. Physical books not owned by WSU will offer you the option to Request through Interlibrary Loan or Request through Summit‚Äč after you click on the title and login to SearchIT. Ebooks cannot be interlibrary loaned from other institutions. Designate the Animal Health Library as your pick-up location for print books. Notices are sent to your WSU  (not vetmed) email when articles arrive.

Note: When you click on the hotlink for a book that is part of the Orbis-Cascade’s Demand-Driven Acquisitions (DDA) program, you will be taken to the Summit EBL screen. Select your institution and sign in with your WSU Network ID. These e-books are temporarily available but have not been purchased. If there is significant use, the consortium will purchase access. Use them or lose them!

Off-Campus Access

When you are on-campus you have access to library resources through IP authentication, but if you are doing your research from off-campus:
  1. Log in to SearchIT with your WSU network ID and password and leave it open in your browser
  2. OR, install the WSU Libraries' Proxy Bookmarklet to get right to the article you're looking for if WSU has a subscription. You must have Javascript enabled on your device. If installing the bookmarklet on an iPad or touch screen device:
    • Make sure that you have Javascript enabled (Settings> Safari>Advanced>Javascript)
    • Click Add Bookmark
    • Edit the bookmark name and URL by clicking Edit (lower right corner of bookmarks)
    • Copy/paste javascript from Proxy Bookmarklet page to URL spot under bookmark title
  3. OR, set up Washington State University Libraries as an Outside Tool preference in your My NCBI account. This will provide FindIT@WSU links when you are searching PubMed. Go to http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/.

Evaluating Journals

1. Journal Authority

  • Web of Science Journal Citation Reports®
  • Impact factor – frequency with which the average article in a journal has been cited in a given year
  • Eigenfactor – citations from more significant journals will score higher
  • SciImago - based on Scopus

2. Article Authority – Times Cited

3. Author Authority

  • H index – varies by database – X articles with X citations
  • i10 Index - the number of scholarly publications an author has written with 10 or more citations

*Citation statistics can vary with self-citing, type of article, discipline, etc.

Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE) - Looking for a journal to publish in, related articles or reviewers? Just enter the title and/or abstract of the paper in the box, and click on 'Find journals', 'Find authors' or 'Find articles'. JANE will compare your document to millions of documents in Medline to find the best matching journals, authors or articles.

GH Journal Search - database developed by Johns Hopkins K4Health and CUGH to identify global health journals to publish in

Identifying Open-Access Veterinary Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - veterinary

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - animal science

Open Access Button - Search for free open access articles or data with URL, doi, PMID, PMC ID, title, citation or request a copy from the author

Beall's List of Predatory Open-Access Publishers no longer updated, archived at Internet Archive Wayback Machine

ThinkCheckSubmit.org provides a simple checklist for evaluating open-access journals

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us