Skip to main content

Veterinary Medicine/Veterinary Science: Citation Tools

Evaluating Journals

1. Journal Authority

  • Web of Science Journal Citation Reports®
  • Impact factor – frequency with which the average article in a journal has been cited in a given year
  • Eigenfactor – citations from more significant journals will score higher
  • SciImago - based on Scopus
  • To evaluate open-access journals ThinkCheckSubmit.org

2. Article Authority – Times Cited

3. Author Authority

  • H index – varies by database – X articles with X citations
  • i10 Index - the number of scholarly publications an author has written with 10 or more citations

*Citation statistics can vary with self-citing, type of article, discipline, etc. See Using Journal Citation Reports Wisely

Are you looking for a journal to publish in, related articles or reviewers?

Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE) -  Enter the title and/or abstract of the paper in the box, and click on 'Find journals', 'Find authors' or 'Find articles'. Jane will then compare your document to millions of documents in Medline to find the best matching journals, authors or articles.

JournalSeek - Genamics JournalSeek is the largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet. Journal information includes the description (aims and scope), journal abbreviation, journal homepage link, subject category and ISSN. Searching this information allows the rapid identification of potential journals to publish your research in, as well as allow you to find new journals of interest to your field.

Citation Analysis

 
  • When you author a publication, be consistent in the form of your name. The standard format is: Last name, first name (or initial), and middle initial . Many databases may list  only your last name and first and middle initials, but it's best to provide the full information, if requested.
  • Register for an ORCID ID to unambiguously track your scholarly output across disciplines and institutions. more information

JAVMA Citation Style Checklist

  1. Did you cite all of the following?
    1. original ideas that are not common knowledge
    2. mentions of author names
    3. paraphrases or summaries of an authors published or unpublished ideas
    4. data/facts
    5. direct quotes
  2. Did you include all elements of each reference?
    1. Article: author(s). Article title. Journal title in NLM/PubMed format. year; volume: start page - end page.
    2. Book chapter: Chapter author(s). Chapter title. In: Book editors, eds. Book title, ed. #. Publisher location: Publisher name, year; start page – end page.
    3. Website: Author. Title. Available at: URL. Accessed month day year.
    4. Proceedings (print): Author(s). Presentation title, in Proceedings Title year; start page – end page.
  3. Did you include footnotes for abstracts, conference presentations (oral), online databases, personal communications, drug products or equipment, computer software, and theses/dissertations?
  4. For references with more than 3 authors, did you list only the first 3 followed by “et al”?
  5. Are your citations consistent?
  6. Did you include in-text citations?
  7. Did you use NLM/PubMed journal abbreviations?
  8. Did you cite images (title, author, URL, use permission) in your presentation?
  9. Did you cite references in your presentation visually and orally?

Bibliographic Management Resources and Tools

Bibliographic Management Resources:   Reference management software will be helpful for senior papers and as a lifelong tool for organizing journal articles and generating citation lists centered around a topic of personal or professional interest. Learn to use Cite-While-You-Write early in your first year and always double check your reference lists; no software is a perfect tool.

  1. EndNote  Most WSU subscribed scholarly databases will seamlessly export citations to EndNote. For Endnote Tutorials see http://endnote.com/training. Endnote is available in two versions.
    1. Endnote Basic is freely available and web-based. Click on "Create Free Account," NOT "Free EndNote Trial." You can also sign up through a Web of Science account as shown in the image below.WOK EndNote
    2. Endnote x8 desktop version is available at a discounted rate to students at http://endnote.com/buy
  2. Zotero  is free, open-source browser-based software that allows you to save both citations from scholarly databases and freely available webpages  Make sure you are running the latest version of your browser before installing Zotero, and install the Zotero connector. 
  3. Other options: Mendeley, Papers, CiteULike, Faculty1000 and more.

Evaluate bibliographic software based on ease of import/export, ability to organize pdf's and storage capacity, indexing/tagging, annotation ability, sharing features, citation formatting options and CiteWhileYouWrite plug-in options.See the EndNote Library Guide for links to a comparison chart.

Always make sure that all of the metadata from a citation has been saved, and save a permalink to the article (PMID, doi, or publisher provided) in the URL field. This is the best way to share the citation with others.

If you are using a Mac, you will need to set your CiteWhileYouWrite Preferences in Word under Tools>EndNote>CiteWhileYouWrite Preferences>Application>Chose EndNote OR EndNote online

JAVMA citation style

CVM students are expected to use the Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association citation style in Senior Papers.

Endnote Tips for JAVMA format

Journal names double checked to assure they are abbreviated exactly as they are in PubMed

Cite-While-You-Write formatting in Word

  1. If reference list shows as grey background go to EndNote tab>Convert Citations and Bibliography>Convert to Plain Text.
  2. In-text citations should be superscript for JAVMA

Hanging indent - Some helpful advice from WSU Libraries Endnote expert Chelsea Leachman on how to fix this in EndNote:

1. Go to the Endnote toolbar, select EDIT, OUTPUT STYLES, then EDIT/name of style. This will display the output style's options.

2. In the left column scroll down to "Bibliography" then select LAYOUT.

3. Check the bottom of the Layout window for the "Hanging Indent" setting - it should be set to "All paragraphs".  (This will insert a command to create a hanging indent at the beginning of each new reference.)

4. Save and close the dialogue box.

You can then change to hanging indent within Word if you have added Endnote for Cite While You Write.Click on Configure Bibliography>Layout> Select hanging indent of 0.5in

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us