Skip to Main Content

Libraries

Search It FAQ: New Interface Overview

Frequently asked questions related to Search It.

What is Search It, and What Exactly Can I Search in Search It?

Search It is the WSU Libraries' online catalog. With a single search box, users can find resources at WSU and other libraries, databases, digital collections, and more. Starting from the WSU Libraries' home page at https://libraries.wsu.edu, use the pull down menu to the right to choose one of these searches:

Articles, Books, and More - search for a variety of full-text article resources, as well as books, print journals, Wikipedia entries, some of WSU's special collections (primary resources), and the resources available to you from the 39 academic libraries of the Orbis Cascade Alliance.
WSU Libraries + Summit - search for books, journals, DVDs, and other physical items from WSU and the 39 academic libraries of the Orbis Cascade Alliance.
Course Reserves - search for books, journals, DVDs, and other physical items on reserve.

After your initial search, use the pull down menu to the right to filter to a specific campus:

WSU Pullman, WSU Spokane, WSU Tri-Cities, WSU Vancouver - search for books, journals, DVDs, and other physical items, e-books, and e-journals, as well as some special collections materials (primary resources) available at the campus you select.

Why Should I Sign In?

Once you sign in, you can:

Order a book through Summit or Interlibrary Loan
See your current Loans
See your current Requests
See your current Blocks
Opt in or out of library emails

How Do I Sign In?

Go to the upper, right-hand corner
Click on Sign In
Choose the appropriate patron category

How Do I Access my Library Account?

Go to the upper, right-hand corner
Click on Menu
Click on My Account

How Do I Request an Item Through Interlibrary Loan?

Enter your search term
Click on item with gray "No Full-Text" link
Click on "Request Options: Request though Interlibrary Loan" button or link

How Do I Request an Item Through Summit?

Enter your search term
Click on item with orange "Check holdings" link
Click on "Request Summit Item" button or link

Do I Need to Update any Links? Yes!

WSU Search It
Link to WSU Search It
Open URL / Link Resolver
Open URL for WSU Search It

How Do I Limit to Peer-reviewed Articles?

Enter your search term
Check the two facets to limit to Peer-reviewed AND Articles
Push the Apply Filters button

How Do I Search for a Database?

Enter the name of a database (e.g., Academic Search Complete) into the Search It search bar

or

Click on the Databases link in the upper, middle of screen.

How Do I Search for an e-Journal?

Enter the name of the journal (e.g., Slavic Review) in the Search It search bar

or

Click on the EJournal Search link in the upper, middle of screen.

How Do I Browse by Call Number?

Click on the ellipsis in the upper, middle of screen
Click on the Browse Search link
Change the drop-down to "Library of Congress Call Numbers"
Enter the call number into the search bar

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us