LibGuides: Russian Literature, Language, and Culture: Home

Keeping up with Russian...

Want to practice the language in between semesters? Check out an online language learning community - many offer some free content and the opportunity to interact with native speakers.

Busuu.com
If you are trying to keep up with your language learning over the summer, Busuu may offer you some exposure to the language while getting feedback from Russian speakers.

National Library Catalogs and Collections

The Slavonic Library - National Library of Finland
"The Legal Deposit Collection that was accrued in 1828–1917 includes deposit copies of printed matters in all subjects published within the borders of the Russian Empire. From the Soviet period, the collection contains literature mainly from the fields of humanities and social sciences from the Soviet Union and other countries within the Slavic language area. The collection also includes emigrant literature."
Russian Newspapers at the Library of Congress
Newspaper collections at the Library of Congress include over 1,800 titles, with many materials (over 12,000 reels) available on microfilm and available through Inter Library Loan. This collection includes strong central Russian and St. Petersburg titles, with some regional coverage. On-site access includes the East View's Moscow News Digital Archive.
Biographical Russian Dictionary
An online publication of the National Library of Russia.
National Library of Russia
Includes links to digital collections and online manuscripts.

Russian Literature, Language and Culture

For links to online resources, reference books, and websites related to Russian literature, language and culture, please click on the appropriate tab at the top of this page.

Use Search It for a general overview of available monographs, articles, Internet resources, and AV materials to inform your research.

Photo Credit: Monument to Peter the Great, 2003, Marina Tolmacheva. Washington State University's Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections

Peter the Great statue

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-text Databases

Academic Search Complete
Includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. Includes full-text access to Russian Education and Society, Russian Life, Slavic and East European Journal, Slavonica, Slavic Review, Slavonic and East European Review, World Literature Today, Comparative Literature, Comparative Literature Studies, Contemporary Literature, and more.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to articles from The Slavic and East European Journal, Russian Review, Slavic Review, Journal of Modern Literature, Soviet Studies, and many others.
MLA International Bibliography
Includes citations for over 4,000 literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore journals, including Russian Language Review, Russian Linguistics, Russian Review, Russian Studies in Literature, Russian, Croatian and Serbian, Czech and Slovak, Polish Literature, Russkaia Literatura: Istoriko-Literaturnyĭ Zhurnal, Russkaia Rech': Nauchno-Populiarnyĭ Zhurnal, Russkiĭ Fol'klor: Materialy i Issledovaniia, Russkiĭ Iazyk v Shkole, Russkiĭ Iazyk za Rubezhom, among others.
Project Muse
Includes full text articles for over 90 full-text literature and cultural studies electronic journals. Journal titles include Journal of Slavic Linguistics, Kritika: Explorations in Russian and Eurasian History, as well as several film and folklore studies titles.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides citations and abstracts for the literature of political science, international relations, government and public policy.

Libraries

Russian Literature, Language, and Culture: Home

Keeping up with Russian...

National Library Catalogs and Collections

Russian Literature, Language and Culture

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-text Databases